Google Maps Logo

When Google Maps was initially released in 2004, it was only available in English. Since then, Google has gradually rolled out new language support and today, they have announced support for 39 new languages spoken by an estimated 1.25 billion people.

Today, we're making Google Maps even more useful by adding 39 new languages—spoken by an estimated 1.25 billion people worldwide: Afrikaans, Albanian, Amharic, Armenian, Azerbaijani, Bosnian, Burmese, Croatian, Czech, Danish, Estonian, Filipino, Finnish, Georgian, Hebrew, Icelandic, Indonesian, Kazakh, Khmer, Kyrgyz, Lao, Latvian, Lithuanian, Macedonian, Malay, Mongolian, Norwegian, Persian, Romanian, Serbian, Slovak, Slovenian, Swahili, Swedish, Turkish, Ukrainian, Uzbek, Vietnamese, and Zulu.

The new language support will be rolled out through the desktop and mobile versions of Google Maps starting today. For the longtime CrackBerry readers, you'll note Lithuanian is included. Sadly, still no Kilngon.

Download Google Maps for Android