Verizon BlackBerry Bold 9650 Review

Verizon BlackBerry Bold 9650
By Adam Zeis on 11 Jun 2010 12:52 pm
0
loading...
73
loading...
5
loading...

Coming off my 8330 I was more than excited to pick up a Tour 9630 the day it was released. I was one of a dozen or so people in line at my local Verizon store, and was in and out in a few minutes. I rushed home to get up and running on my new device. I fell in love with the higher resolution screen, keyboard and all around design. Thankfully I didn't have the trackball issues like some, but my battery door did come loose at times. I was happy to finally have the latest device on Verion's network (not such a big fan of AT&T or T-Mobile here in New Jersey).

Enter the Bold 9700. The feel of the device combined with the trackpad and overall "smoothness" just left me thinking "where is my CDMA version"? Rumors started flying, and sure enough talk of the Tour 2 popped up. Wifi and a trackpad on my Tour? Yes please. As with everyone else I was asking why Verizon didn't do it right the first time with the release of the 9630, but hindsight is 20/20. Months down the road, doubled memory, a trackpad, Wifi and a bit of rebranding leaves us with the newly released Bold 9650. Read on for my review.

Straight up out of the box you just think "Tour". The trackpad is the obvious difference, and aside from the Bold branding on the back it's the same device ... on the outside. On the inside we have juiced up memory to 512MB (in preparations for BlackBerry 6) and the addition of Wifi. The Bold 9650 feels great all around. Its a bit bigger than the Bold 9700 I've been using for the past few months, but nothing I won't be able to get used to. Holding the device is a bit different as it takes up more "hand space", but again I'll get over it. I love the 9650 keyboard (as I did the Tour) and mostly that I can get back on Verizon since the service is sooooo much better than that of T-Mobile where I live. Having the Wifi on a CDMA device is kind of a first for me since I never used a Storm2 and only rocked out the 8530 for a week or so. I was never a big believer in it in the past, but after having the Bold 9700 I really can't see myself without it. The back of the device has the large battery door, and thankfully it isn't loose and wobbly like my old Tour 9630. The site buttons and convenience keys are in the same place, with the exception of the micro USB port having dropped down a bit for some unknown reason. The placement of the port still is a mystery to me since it gets in the way if you try to type with the device plugged in.

Features

  • Optical trackpad for easy and fluid navigation
  • Built-in Wi-Fi® (802.11 b/g)
  • Push to Talk feature
  • VZ Navigator® version 6
  • VZ Navigator Global capabilities
  • Mobile e-mail and messaging capabilities
  • Large (2.45") high-resolution display (480 x 360 resolution at 245 ppi)
  • 3.2 megapixel camera with flash, variable zoom, image stabilization, autofocus and video recording
  • Advanced media player for videos, pictures and music; a 3.5 mm stereo headset jack; and support for the Bluetooth® Stereo Audio Profile (A2DP/AVCRP)
  • BlackBerry® Media Sync to easily sync music as well as photos
  • Easy mobile access to Facebook®, MySpace and Flickr® as well as popular instant messaging services, including BlackBerry® Messenger
  • Support for BlackBerry App World(TM), featuring a broad and growing catalog of third-party mobile applications developed specifically for lackBerry smartphones
  • 512 MB Flash memory and an expandable memory card slot that supports up to 16 GB microSD(TM) HC cards (a 2 GB card is pre-installed)
  • Full HTML Web browser, streaming audio and video via RTSP
  • Built-in GPS with support for location-based applications and services as well as geotagging
  • Premium phone features, including voice-activated dialing, speakerphone, and Bluetooth (2.1)
  • Support for high-speed EV-DO Rev. A networks in North America as well as single band UMTS/HSPA (2100 MHz) and quad-band EDGE/GPRS/GSM networks abroad
  • Removable and rechargeable 1400 mAhr battery for up to 5 hours of CDMA
    talk time 

Hardware

On the outside everything feels great. There is no wobbly battery door, and the side buttons/convenience keys feel solid. The keyboard is a welcome change from my 9700 and I like the feel of it a bit more, and the fact that it is a touch wider than that of my 9700. The LCD fits flush all around with no annoying gaps anywhere. The trackpad and send/end buttons flow right through to connect the keyboard and LCD. Overall nothing is loose or non-fitting and the Bold 9650 feels well constructed. At first glance the micro USB port seems to be in the same annoying place as the Tour 9630, but as we know now it was moved down a bit for some unknown reason. I still can't stand the placement, and if I had to pick the biggest downside of the device this might just be it. If you try typing at all with the device plugged in, you have to create a whole new style just to work around the poor placement of the port. It is definitely much better suited at the top of the device on either side where it is out of the way should you need to use the device while charging. 

Verizon BlackBerry Bold 9650
Verizon Bold 9650 Keyboard

Verizon BlackBerry Bold 9650 Left Side
Verizon Bold 9650 Left Side View

Verizon BlackBerry Bold 9650 Right Side
Verizon Bold 9650 Right Side View

Verizon BlackBerry Bold 9650 Back View
Verizon Bold 9650 Back View

All of the buttons feel solid. The convenience keys aren't loose at all, and the top buttons flow well into the device and don't stick out at all. I did find the trackpad a bit "clicky". Yes I know its supposed to click .. but it just feels/sounds like it clicks a bit more than it should, almost like its not a fluid motion and it catches on something. I'm sure this will be fine over time and either go away or just not bother me. Another interesting thing I found was trying to type on the keyboard. I was actually thrown off by the red keys on the number pad. They kind of messed with my head since I've been using the Bold 9700 and the keys are all the same color. Odd I know, but it was interesting and actually slowed down my typing a bit until I readjusted. I do love the large keyboard though and find it easy to type on as I did with the Tour. 

Software

On the inside the Bold 9650 is juiced up. 512MB (around 300MB free) means there is plenty of room to keep things running smooth. With the planned BlackBerry 6 right around the corner, this device will be ready to roll upon release. The Wifi is probably the best addition to the device (maybe its a tie with the optical trackpad) and I'm super excited to have it. Aside from those points things look pretty much the same. All the standard apps are here including BlackBerry Messenger, BlackBerry App World, calendar, tasks etc. The device also has icons (to download apps) for Twitter for BlackBerry, Skype, VZ Navigator, IM clients and a number of other apps.

From the start the Bold 9650 runs smooth. The boot time is quick (keep in mind its out of the box with no 3rd party apps, messages etc) and navigating around the OS is great. When first starting it feels as if the OS has to settle in before navigation is totally smooth. But overall once you get going there is no noticable lag time getting around, and it just feels like a solid OS. There is no saying what errors may pop up, and if/when Verizon will drop an OS update. Overall we can expect this OS (5.0.0.699) to hold up well for now, and hopefully won't be a problem as was the original OS on the Tour 9630.

The battery life already seems better than that of the Tour 9630 as well. I barely made it through a day using the one battery on my 9630, and using an extended battery didn't help all that much. The 9650 seems to last quite a while longer. I'm not sure yet if it fully compares to that of the Bold 9700, but it is definitely doing it's part to get me through a day with avarage usage.

Hands-On

One of the first things I noticed about the Bold 9650 is how amazing the call quality is. I honestly don't make many calls from my device, but in testing the other party sounded crisp and clear on a number of calls. The device fits well in the hand, but for some may be a bit of a stretch for one-handed use. It is a bit wide so depending on your habits it may be hard to hold for some. I do like the rubberized sides and back as they help for the grip when typing. The keyboard feels smooth and there is no snagging on the keys typing was extremely easy. The keyboard does look a bitte more "matte" than the glossy-ness (I made that up) on the Tour 9630. The trackpad feels good and there is no difference in height to the send/end buttons. The convenience keys were easy to use, although I noticed the right-side key didn't have much movement so it was almost hard to tell if it was pressed or not. I do find the rubberized battery door to be annoying at times. It feels weird when holding the device, and kind of rubs my fingers the wrong way if I move around too much. I'm sure I can adjust to it, but I actually notice it quite a bit when typing. There are no large gaps or protruding parts on the Bold 9650. I did notice a bit of the rubberized side right over the headset jack sticks out a bit. Its nothing to worry about since it can easily be forgotten, but if I remember correctly my Tour was the same exact way. Nothing else sticks out where it shouldn't, and everything feels very well put together. The device is solid and should stand up to a long life of use. 

Verizon BlackBerry Bold 9650 & Tour 9630 Side by Side
Verion Bold 9650 & Tour 9630 Side by Side

Verizon BlackBerry Bold 9650 & Tour 9630 Right Sides
Verizon Bold 9650 & Tour 9630 Right Side View

Verizon BlackBerry Bold 9650 & Tour 9630 Left Side Views
Verizon Bold 9650 & Tour 9630 Left Side View

Verizon BlackBerry Bold 9650 & Bold 9700
Verizon Bold 9650 & T-Mobile Bold 9700

Final Thoughts

Overall I feel that the Bold 9650 is a great device for CDMA users. We always seems to get left in the dust when it comes to the "latest and greatest" devices, so this device is a welcome relief (at least for now). Having Wifi, the optical trackpad, 512MB of memory and global options make this one of the best devices yet. Its a matter of opinion if it beats out the Bold 9700, but for CDMA users I think its the best offering thus far. I'll play around a bit more and hopefully crank out a comparison between the two. As far as CDMA goes I think this guy will win out for sure.  If you're a touchscreen fan you will most likely want to hold out and see what lays down the line, but Curve 8300, 8830 and Tour users (pending upgrade) should definitely consider the Bold 9650. If you're jumping from another device or a new BlakcBerry user, this will be a much welcomed upgrade and you will no doubt love it. I'm still not totally sold on switching back from my Bold 9700 however. The 9650 is a good bit larger and heavier than the 9700, so I think I'll have to weigh out the pros and cons on both to see who ends up the final winner and "full-time" champ. 


65 comments

robj75

Great review. Thanks!

cenloe

I agree, this is an excellent review, although I have to disagree with you on one point Adam. I love the size of the device, I can't imagine it being any smaller than it is. I in fact wish that RIM would make another Berry in the size of the original Bold 9000. The weight also feels nice, makes it feel like it's build quality is what a higher end device should be. I find that typing on these smaller BB's isnt exactly easy on my man hands.

dd214

This is definitely not just a 9630 with a track pad and Wifi.

Much faster, solid hardware, nice phone.

Ive got them all and i am loving this phone so far.

McKinnles

I agree completely. Upon purchasing this phone, i thought it was going to be exactly like the tour but, i was mistaken. My dad has the tour and the bold seems to run so much more smoothly.

McKinnles

I agree completely. Upon purchasing this phone, i thought it was going to be exactly like the tour but, i was mistaken. My dad has the tour and the bold seems to run so much more smoothly.

mer830

Hey, I am relatively new to BB and now have a BB Bold 8650, but I need help with FB... less than a week ago, I was able to get in to facebook without going through login (i HATE logins!) but now have to go through an FB message or another workaround. Am I crazy (entirely possible) or has FB changed? or am I just doing something wrong (again, entirely possible). Appreciate any advice soooooo much! Thanks! Totally LOVE this site.

mer830

I can't type either... I have a Bold 9650. AND i meant that I have to go through FB login page, not "message". oops.

HTC_Droid_EvO

Solid review...I said it before but i think Verizon had me over Sprint with that lovely charcoal bezel...I mean wow, with it laying down its was amazing.

Of course you can buy those so not loss there

thoughthalo

I am moving to the Blackberry platform after a brief hiatus after using the Pearl 8100. I want to use a phone with a physical keyboard so not depserate for touchscreens. I am not sure whether i should go in for a Bold 9650 (as it should be OS 6 compatible) or wait more for Blackbery 6 devices to be released.

Bodero

Get this one. You will be able to upgrade it to OS 6. If you play the waiting game, you'll always be waiting, because something cooler is always in the pipeline.

Thus, if you pick it up now, you are that much closer to being able to get next year's latest and greatest model.

jetman1287

Wait around. BB is releasing way too many new devices right now, and the improvements to the bold 9650 are marginal at best. I'd wait for a slider with OS 6 out of the box. If you're going to commit for two years make sure you get far and away the best - this is not it though.

Bodero

Verizon doesn't make you commit to 2 years of the same phone. You can resign your contract after 12 months if you have a high enough plan, which all voice+data plans should qualify.

djnick

Obviously since this is a BB site you are going to give is a favorable review. But honestly if any other company came out with this phone today we would all be laughing because the technology is so outdated. However since its RIM we can always excuse. Them. Good phone a year ago but not worth the price unless you can get it for freee

318sugarhill

Spent a year waiting for this phone, and now that it is out, I already got a droid incredible. What is to get excited about? It's a tour with wifi, a trackpad, and more memory. Big deal. Browser still sucks, terrible apps from a terrible app store. I'd get excited if it was truly new, but it's 2 year old tech they've had since they made the bold 9000. They are a good 2 years behind the curve on anything "new". Good luck trying to sell that clamshell thing. FUGLY!

jdmheidi

I agree. The 9650 is hideous. Not to mention the camera and battery life suck. Verizon BlackBerries are all hideous. I can't wait to go to AT&T.

Mystic205

yes the charging port is in an awkward place but "top of the device is better"?... kidding me?.. ever had the phone plugged in and tried to call someone?..

note to ALL cellphone manufacturers... charging port on bottom, audio jack on top... is ergonomics really really that hard?

jkpitcher

The charging port is in the completely incorrect spot. Adam is correct and it need to be near the top end of the phone. My fiaces curve has it near the top and is very easy to have plugged in and talk on. Typing is easy on it that way too. My biggest complaint on the Tour and now the bold is the position of the charging port. Makes it very hard to type on when plugged in.

jerseyred

Great review, and thanks. I agree that it’s one of the top BlackBerry’s out there. Just wondering though, in the history of this site, has there ever been a negative review of a BlackBerry phone? I understand the reviewers love BlackBerry’s on a whole, and their knowledge reflects that, but I (and I’m sure others on the fence about which phone to buy) would definitely appreciate some objectivity…like “Hey, the camera is OK, but if you’re looking to take photos, you might consider an Incredible.” Or “If you're a touchscreen fan you will most likely want to hold out and see what lays down the line…or try out an iPhone 4G. They might be a competitor, but their touchscreen capabilities are extremely good.” Just my two cents…keep up the good work.

glinc

It's cuz they've never tried an Android or iPhone. It cost me to move from my 9630 because of the bbm but it was well worth it.

skyboxer

Look at the smartphone round robin posts. Obviously each platform's editors prefer their own devices, but try to step outside their comfort zones and give the other devices a fair shake. Of course that is done once a year I think, and Android seems to be moving so fast now that's probably not often enough.

MR.GRANDBERRY

Well..if you're on a fan site of a certain device of kourse it will get far more nods of approval rather than any konstructive kriticism (waiting for kriticism) I, too wish people would speak more of not only the pros but the kons as well..we now have 4 cents.

MR.GRANDBERRY

Great review but let's be honest, BlackBerrys don't really need to be reviewed anymore because they all pretty much look alike and do the same thing the last one does. Not much innovation. For the most part, if you've seen one BB, you've seen them all lol that's fine and dandy with me because BB works for me but that's just the honesty in it..

skyboxer

At least for this device, the OS is same tried and true (read, tired) as what was before. The breaking newsflash here is yes, RIM can still make a sturdy, reliable device for the CDMA networks. Back-to-back failures of the storm and tour I think had people wondering (verizon, inc. included) if CDMA Blackberries were being made from extra cast off parts from GSM devices.

miller7796

I was just thinking that...Here we have the messaging app, SMS app, etc. Looks just the same as every other BB we have reviewed. About the only difference is the name, model number, model housing, internal ram, etc...

MusicMtl

T-moible! Is that how it's pronounced in New Joisey? :)

shlee

However I had no idea you were in Jersey. Lol Hit me up sometime man, Im local. really like to get together with you guys.

joebeans

I came off the Curve 8330 as well. It feels like I went from driving a VW Beetle (no offense to VW or the Beetle) to a Porsche. Ability to connect to Wifi makes the phone so much quicker and I don't miss the track ball at all...myu thumb is happier :-)

318sugarhill

The funny thing is, you really went from a model T to a Beetle. If you had switched to an android phone, you'd really be feeling the porsche! I switched to a tour when it came out and thought the same thing as you. The problem is the curve is really 4 year old technology, and the tour(mostly coming from the old Bold 9000) is already 2 year old technology for RIM. Slapping some extra memory does not make it up to date. RIM has been relying on BB loyalty instead of actually building better products. They take for granted your love of BBM and their email capabilities that they don't have to improve the rest of their products shortcomings. Have fun with your 5 minute or so reboots. I don't know any porsches that need time to reboot!

TechGuy

I have no incentive to shell out more dough for a smartphone that basically gives me 256mb more on memory and oh yeah...ready for OS 6. So show us 9550 owners some love here and release something other that that last CF .607 software...pleeeaaazzzeee:(

Captain, the engines can't take much more...

Dragondima

I know a lot of people are complaining that this isn't much of a step from RIM, but the Tour 9630 really sold well, and frankly is a great phone. The improvements made aren't drastic, but do a good job adjusting the phone to what users have asked. It would be hard to review the 9650 negatively because it's a solid phone, and really just perfects upon the success of the Tour 9630. A majority of us are really looking forward to the revamped OS6 and the fleet of phones that will come from that. I'm not sure if it's wise to say that older phones will get OS6, but out of all the phones that are most likely, the 9650 would be first. Great review Adam! Keep up the great work!

RoxyGr52884

Thanks for the great review! I am also debating on whether to get the Bold (because I have the Tour now and love it) or to wait until a new bb comes out with 6.0 already pre-loaded on it. Thanks again for your review and YEAH JERSEY!!!! I'm a Jersey Girl :)

Raistlin1

I hope you are not like the Jersey girls on TV, like Jersey Shore or Jerseylicious. I am from NJ as well and used to frequent Seaside and Belmar in my younger days, the guidos back then (10-15 years ago) were not as bad as they are on these shows now. The girls were also much better than the ones on TV now. And also, most Jersey Girls do NOT look like the ones on TV right now, TV is really giving Jersey a bad name.

Back on topic, I have a Tour also (Sprint, Verizon is the Devil, El Diablo!) and not sure about upgrading yet or wating for a new device. I would love the new slider if it comes to CDMA, I really need a large screen device as these small screened Blackberry's are just not cutting it any longer. I may even switch to the Evo! **gasping**

Rob220

I switched from tour to an Evo. To be honest it takes a little getting used to but I could never go back to my tour now!

laxr24

Did you pay full retail for this phone?

yourlife

Yeah Adam I rarely check my twitter... but didn't I see you post something about wanting an early VZW upgrade.. how'd you do it? lol

RoxyGr52884

I am NOT like the Jersey Girls on TV and I hate the Jersey Shore show and all the rest of them. They make our state look like it's trash, when we the people who actually live in it know it isn't. Also, those Jersey Shore cast members are from NY, CT, RI, etc.; none of them are even from NJ. Anyway, I completely agree that TV is giving us Jersey people a bad name!

Also, don't get an Evo; you should wait for that slider berry...it looks pretty cool. :)

McNibbler

Thanks for a great review. This will be my second bb (have the tour) and my hubby's first. We have gone in and looked at and played with the 9650. We order next week and get them on Wednesday-and it can't come soon enough. I was hoping that you wouldn't find a much wrong with it. We both like it and are anxious for 6.0 to be released. Neither of us are interested in a touch screen, and we both like my tour. Luckily I haven't had issues with it, but buy one-get one. Can't pass that up!

roguerebellions

Just received the phone today and have to say it is a step up from what I had previously (Storm 01). Perfect for texting and can't wait to test out the 3G network / WIFI.

elistick

This phone is like using AOL for internet service. I currently have a Tour and am counting down the days until I am out. Blackberry has fallen so far behind android and apple that I have no desire to even wait for "6"...the interface is yesteryear and I am moving on...(after 3 berries) take care and yawn for me....Its all yours!

Paulie630

This is a must a have unit. Can't wait to have one.

Paulie630

R1cE

Im actually not a fan of the keyboard. I played with one today along with a 9630 side by side. I think the keys are more rounded or something, but it did not have the same feel.

Dr. VanNostren

Looks nice, especially compared my 8330. Got an upgrade in a couple months, tough decision.

emscapt47

how did you get the berry weather staus up in the main status bar? I always have to get a speacial app for me to have it seperate...Is this something only on the new bold or?

cuzv78

Unless you're upgrading from an ancient BB, this phone comes off as another disappointment to me. It's well documented that the phone is a Tour with more memory, WiFi, and a trackpad....ALL WHICH SHOULD HAVE BEEN ON THE PHONE IN MY POCKET 11 MONTHS AGO!!! Solution: Question our customers collective intelligence by changing the name from Tour to Bold so we don't have to offer any early upgrades to the rubes (i.e. ME) who bought this phone 11 months ago.

The Bold 9650 is just another example of RIM making incredibly small incremental upgrades to existing phones and pushing them as new (like the new Curves, Pearl, Storm), while other smartphone builders are lapping RIM with processors twice as fast and phones much more capable of performing the social/multi media functions that are driving the majority of smartphone sales today and in the future.

If we're going to go down the road of security, which is the tired response to any criticism, great. My work BB Tour is a very functional QWERTY email machine and a decent phone, but nothing else - which serves it's purpose from my IT department's standpoint.

Adam, I understand this is BB fan site and will take a friendly tone towards RIM. Almost all the time, I really love everything it has to offer from the enthusiasm of your associates, all the people who contribute to the boards on a daily basis, the great app store, and access to the hybrid OS that are far superior to the inconsistent crap that the OEM OS's usually are. But this review would be the perfect opportunity to voice the well warranted criticisms that this phone inevitably produces from the millions of people who have been dealing with faulty trackballs and slow hardware for the past year, and I feel that you took the easy road. Please show some love for the hardcore CB peeps out there by not wallpapering over what should be a total embarrassment for BB and VZW and covering both the good and truly bad.

joestedman

I've gone through 6 phones with trackball problems and my Son has gone through
7! yes 7!!!!!

I really don't care how people feel on the board. I've owned the Pearl and the old Curve
and the Tour. The Bold falls short with a lousy built keyboard....

Your not alone in your feelings!!!

Joe

bdawg41785

Your statement... "Unless you're upgrading from an ancient BB, this phone comes off as another disappointment to me"
thats how i feel exactly! 3 changes to this phone of a lil more memory, trackpad, and wifi do not warrant a switch. way overrated.

beerman1950

if you don't like blackberry and all of it's drawbacks why would you login to a blackberry lovers site and bitch, go on down the road we don't need ya. it is what it is and we like it, it is a workhorse beyond compare so go on leave it alone fancy is as fancy does, work is the factor with most of us and quite alot of play we are what we are and we don't give a s**t what you think bye bye.
the beerman

emurph1

You tell all these fools who already own BBs and can look at things objectively what's really going on! Thanks for stopping by you retarded fanboy bitch.

318sugarhill

Most of us WERE loyal BB fanboys like you that were loyal BB customers. We stay around here because we still carry a bb for work or have a spouse who is tethered to a bb because of their work. Some of us have actually peaked into the outside world and gotten a taste of smartphones that have no memory problems, processor speeds that run laps around BB, all while NEVER needing a battery pull! It is us that feel slapped in the face when tiny incremental advances are pawned off on us as major upgrades. We feel our loyalty has gotten us nowhere, and we have moved on to experience the world of MORE.

joestedman

After feeling like I got screwed with the Tour. The screwing continues....I have gone through 6 Tour with trackball problems.
So I couldn't wait for the Tour 2 to come out. But to save face RIM changed the name to the Bold.

With money in my hand to buy the phone I was excited to finally retire the TOUR just like RIM did. But once I started
typing on it the keys felt horrible. The keys were very squishy!!!! I compare the difference between the Tour and the Bold.
The Tour has resistance and a little spring. The Bold's were flat, squishy and you could push the keys sideways. The feeling was weird.

So again another let down.

When I bought my Tour lots of customers were in line to get one. At my mall corp. store they had one display and no
excitement.

RIM can't seem to get it right. You have the makings of a perfect phone but year after year and model and model you
seem to fall short.

If Verizon doesn't get the iPhone by the end of my contract (March 2011) All 5 of us are out of here!

Joe

beerman1950

YOU ARE GONE, GOODBYE, T MOBILE IS JUST THE PLACE YOU NEED TO BE OR THAT OTHER LOST CALL PLACE, SEE YOU WHEN YOU COME BACK

BEERMAN

kevin620627

i notice the temp and weather condition was on top of the screen. what app does that

p8ntball8

I wish RIM would have came out with this for AT&T instead of the 9700 a year ago. I would have taken this instead, nice phone though.

kingzee

I have had my Tour since they first came out. Sure, the "Bold" (really a juiced up Tour) has more memory, wifi and a trackpad, but why would anyone jump from a Tour to this? My trackball doesn't give me any problems, and if it does I have a fix for it (my paper strip method). I've had no need for wifi at all, honestly. And as far as memory, I still have plenty of it.

Like some have said, if you've seen one BlackBerry you've pretty much have seen them all. There is nothing really new or innovative hardware or software wise. And what advancements they do make are very small, and pail in comparison to iPhone and Android devices.

I don't mean to sound like a hater. I LOVE my BlackBerry, but at the same time I think we need more objective reviews, outlooks and realism.

Is there REALLY anything to be excited about from RIM anymore?

In my opinion, not really... :-/

juiceupkidd128

great review! i have the 9650 and i cant put it down! probably one of the best blackberrys yet! add the pin - 321e521b

jps239

I dont have any problems with the 9630, unless you need wi-fi and a ton more memory, i dont see the point in upgrading. Cant you just put another Micro SD card in the phone anyways? I would only upgrade if BB made a MAJOR leap above what is out now...Cellphones get out dated soo fast these days, its not worth wasting money every time something "new" comes out...

jezreel

I will be brief!
If you are no longer happy with RIM or any blackberries then that is fine. This forum right now is about evaluating the 9650 old or new device as you may wish to call it. If you do not feel happy about blackberries any more that is fine too.
I would say for you to go another place and complain! you are not going to change any one here who knows what they want or are impressed as you were, yes! as you were about blackberry at one time so let it go! be happy! i have tried other devices and iphones and droids and so on. I have friends with the moment and incredible and eris and you name it. They are magnificent phones indeed and I am happy that you guys finally found what you were looking for! But have you also read how many people who thought could not stand RIM or BLACKBERRY any more are coming back in droves after 3,6,12 months or more to so called Rim after so much so called discontent and hatred for a so far behind out dated device? It is real what I am saying and you know it!
Then what? I love my blackberry! The day I grow tire or hate the device is the day I move on, say bye to my crackberry friends and move to android central or iphone central and make new friends and then if I want to bash Rim, then that is the time to do it with all my might!!!
So do not disrupt the chat with furtive and forceful comments now because this is out of topic here! Everything has its time and place and you are wrong on both so be modest and leave and be respectful of us who still knowing what is out there still love our berries with all its flaws!
If it sounds crazy to you then that is fine! i love blackberry and I love what it does for me as well as the others who are silent right now but share my view or shall I say opinion!
thank you for your focus attention,
leave now once before blackberry users! We wish you the best with your devices.

jezreel

I will be brief!
If you are no longer happy with RIM or any blackberries then that is fine. This forum right now is about evaluating the 9650 old or new device as you may wish to call it. If you do not feel happy about blackberries any more that is fine too.
I would say for you to go another place and complain! you are not going to change any one here who knows what they want or are impressed as you were, yes! as you were about blackberry at one time so let it go! be happy! i have tried other devices and iphones and droids and so on. I have friends with the moment and incredible and eris and you name it. They are magnificent phones indeed and I am happy that you guys finally found what you were looking for! But have you also read how many people who thought could not stand RIM or BLACKBERRY any more are coming back in droves after 3,6,12 months or more to so called Rim after so much so called discontent and hatred for a so far behind out dated device? It is real what I am saying and you know it!
Then what? I love my blackberry! The day I grow tire or hate the device is the day I move on, say bye to my crackberry friends and move to android central or iphone central and make new friends and then if I want to bash Rim, then that is the time to do it with all my might!!!
So do not disrupt the chat with furtive and forceful comments now because this is out of topic here! Everything has its time and place and you are wrong on both so be modest and leave and be respectful of us who still knowing what is out there still love our berries with all its flaws!
If it sounds crazy to you then that is fine! i love blackberry and I love what it does for me as well as the others who are silent right now but share my view or shall I say opinion!
thank you for your focus attention,
leave now once before blackberry users! We wish you the best with your devices.

Jude526

I got the Bold 9650 from Verizon. I don't like how most people are bashing this device. I have been a BB user for a number of years and this one rocks. I don't find the keyboard squishy at all. It is very easy to type on. The device is solid, well built. Smooth running. Exceptional call clarity. It does everything I need and then some! I am pleased with it and I know others are fine with it too.
If you are going to bash BB then go try another platform and many do return to BB.
I may be one of few who also doesn't have an issue of the location of the port. I have talked and typed on it while charging. It doesn't bother me a bit. I am also left handed and there are plenty of other things out there that are geared for right handed people that I do have issues with.
But I don't complain because I know that is just how it is.
Stop griping. If you really can't tolerate the device then you don't have to get it. No one is twisting your arm and telling you to get this device.
But I love my Bold and am so glad I have it.

bb_craze

Thank you so much for this review! It has answered many of questions as I am in the process of dumping the Tour for the Bold 9650. I was glad to read the phone quality is crisp and clear. My Tour is quite the opposite, often times grainy. I have had 2 brand new Tours and on going problems with both. Very anxious to get my new phone! (delivery tomorrow)
Again thank you for taking the time to give such an excellant comparison review!

luther86

I just bought the 9650 about a week ago and it is my first 3g phone as well as first bb. I LOVE IT. I did a lot of homework to pick out the phone I would get for my verizon family plan and I am not disappointed with the 9650 at all. Call quality is great and I am having no problem mastering all other aspects of this phone. In addition to other brands offered through verizon, I also had the curve 9330 and storm to pick from the blackberry offerings. I definitely feel I made the correct choice. I look forward to the time I will spend with my 9650 and I am already hooked on blackberry for life.

spn002006

I hate this phone. I'm a new Verizon customer, and have had 4 of these phones before my first bill was due! I have had numerous speaker issues. I have had several phone calls to where that all of a sudden the person I'm talking to cannot hear me but I can hear them. ALL of the phones had this issue. In addition, the last trade out the entire speaker system went out. In addition, there are periods to where I will just sound garbled, customers and friends complain about this frequently

I'm so disgusted with Verizon. Thus far, I have spent about 6 hours in their store going through the issues of trying to solve the problem. ( Also, I've learned that not all "Verizon" stores are belong to corporate, meaning they may not be able to service you or nor do they work together) Yesterday, I hit the store for to change out the phone for a 5th phone and at that time I was informed that they really couldn't help me, and that I would have to get into another one of the 9650's, I didn't want it. They couldnt help me because they were basing everything off of the first 30 days, despite the fact that the phone continued to have issues!!!!!

This phone can be thrown into the dumpster....BAD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I had a blackberry several years ago, don't recall it being so horrible.........

SHAME ON YOU VERIZON, I REALLY DIDN'T EXPECT THIS TREATMENT. SHAME ON YOU BLACKBERRY FOR PUTTING THIS JUNK OUT ON THE MARKET

slavs06

I have a storm 2 from verizon and my wife has a curve 8330 would the bold be an upgrade from both devices?

jdmheidi

I hate this phone. Verizon's BlackBerries are hideous. The Bold 9650 is garbage compared to the Bold 9780. Live on T-Mobile and AT&T BlackBerries!