Skype updated with a new UI - Now available in BlackBerry World

Skype Preview updated with a new UI, available in BlackBerry World
By DJ Reyes on 25 Oct 2013 03:07 pm EDT
0
loading...
0
loading...
59
loading...

BlackBerry 10 devices finally got Skype back in April 2013. Initially for the BlackBerry Q10 with OS 10.1 and the Z10 followed suit around May. It has had a few updates since then and today we see another update occur. There is no changelog but upon updating you'll see that it has a UI change. It is still an Android port but it seems to be smoother than it was.

Now that Skype has replaced Windows Live Messenger you can now login with either your Skype account or Microsoft account. It's definitely a lot nicer all around. Really liking the new UI. As a recap, here are the Skype features:

  • Skype to Skype IMs, video and voice calls are free* over 3G or WiFi.
  • Make low-cost calls and send SMS messages to mobiles or landlines from your BlackBerry® smartphone.
  • Send pictures, videos and files to any of your contacts.
  • Enjoy high-quality sound when you call anyone else who is on Skype.
  • Talk face to face or show what you're seeing with front and rear-facing cameras.
  • Talk to your Windows Live Messenger friends on Skype. Sign in to Skype with your Microsoft account and have your Messenger, Hotmail and Outlook contacts in one place.

Available for all BlackBerry 10 smartphones, you can get Skype from BlackBerry World for free. Again, it is an Android port if you were wondering.

Download Skype for BlackBerry 10

186 comments

nuff_said

Nice! Keep them coming BlackBerry

Undbiter65

Anyone know how much better it is? Honestly the sideloaded Skype works better than the one in BlackBerry world. So just wondering if it's to the point where I can get rid of my sideloaded Skype

"If you can't soar with the eagles then don't fly with the flock!" (BBM#18)

diegonei

This is the 4.50x version. And it's working quite well.

ianbordas

Is this for 10.2 only? Would be good if this was stated on the post...

Posted via CB10

seascape

Don't see the upgrade in BlackBerry World. Have 10.1.

BionicKris

Me either. Also on 10.1.

Posted via CB10

luqman24

My Playbook is making a pretty good beer coaster now. An expensive coaster at that.

cooleddie

Give it up. Seriously. The playbook can go along the lines with the apple newtons now.

Graheem

PlayBook still makes great ebook reader, video player, games for kids - my 8 year old son & 5 year old daughter love lots of games and art apps available on the PlayBook.

Posted via CB10

Daemon1

+1

Posted via an outstanding Z30

shootsscores

And it's still a flash demon. I've logged endless hours of out of market sports on it. It's also probably still the best true multitasker available. The sound is still unmatched and it's tough as nails.

mavricxx

Not to mention laggy as hell and you can't even use your front facing cam unless someone has a BB10 or PlayBook, very nice coaster indeed!

Eir

You definitely point out it strongest points. One more: cameras and screen quality. Top.

Dzyen

I laughed at this more than I should have

Posted via CB10

edriss

Much better, people are making the mistake of thinking that this is now a native app!

Yeah that good!

Posted from CB10 via Zed10.

rat_time

Its still an android port, Skype really needs to get a native application by now, it also means I can not run it because of the BB mess up10.2.0.424 update affecting some people which BlackBerry has told me that they don't have an ETA for a fix, I regret updating to 10.2, I waited for the official upgrade because I didn't want this happening :(

Posted via my  Z10.2.0.424

LP_Rigg

Hate to hear that.
The 1791 leak has been great from the get go. And even better with the10.2.1.xxxx runtime.

Posted via CB10

LuisCast

Still an Android. I also regret having installed this update. It erased all my previous contacts and added only the ones I have in my hotmail account. Probably I will delete it.

cjterminator

That is why it is recommended to take backup before upgrade.

Posted via CB10

Graheem

What is the issue you speak of?

Posted via CB10

rat_time

Android apps open with black screen and blue load bar at the bottom, load bar hits 50% and apps crash, even reinstalling from BB world does not work, it is a problem with the 4.2.2 runtime. Most people it works amazing, but I can't run any ports from BB world or anything that is side loaded http://supportforums.blackberry.com/t5/BlackBerry-Z10/Android-Runtime-Cr...

Posted via my  Z10.2.0.424

Sergeant_Im

If your sideloads don't work, ypu probably need to reinstall a fresh OS. I did mine and it fixed the android black screen blue bar problem.

I also did not back up my settings, and I used 3rd party contact backup InTouchApp to backup my contacts.

Posted via CB10

rat_time

Yeah I'm going to put on the 10.2.1.575 when I get some time

Posted via my  Z10.2.0.424

timboss

Agreed!!!

Posted via CB10

amirnabilkamelsaad

Check my post on Berryreview

http://www.berryreview.com/2013/10/16/how-to-sideload-vibers-android-app...

All 3 work, viber being the buggy one honestly.

Posted via CB10

MtBkr

I know someone who had a botched 10.2 update this week. Something went wrong with the ota download. He ended up fixing by connecting to Link 1.2 and choosing to reload the device software. That downloaded and installed everything properly. Maybe give that a go.

Posted via CB10

BBRYed

DJ needs to post in his article that this update will only be pushed for those running 10.2

No update available for 10.1

Poetry in Motion

Frank McIntyre

Hmm, bot seeing it yet in appworld

Posted via CB10

itzJustMeh

I just updated, try again

SteelGreek

I had to scroll down to the menu listing that said something like "other apps by this dev". I clicked on that Skype preview icon and I was able to update from there. Weird

Posted via a Verizon Z10 running a 10.2.1.575 hybrid and CB10. My channel: C0004F9BB

damien kupuku

yeah that is the only way to quickly update Skype, Thanks for this

Bold_until_Hybrid_Comes

my app world didn't see it when I clicked check for updates either. I had to search skype then click it then click update.

Frank McIntyre

Woops not

Posted via CB10

non-vtec

sweet

Posted via CB10

ckh_bb

Nothing yet in mb

Posted by my CB10 app running on Z10STL100-3/10.2.0.1323

pvphooman

Skype betrayed us long ago. BBM is our answer!

STL3 1791 hybrid w/10.2.1 bars

iwasspartacus

But when RIM pulls the same 'announce and cancel' bullshit it's a business decision?

Ok.

Posted via CB10

papped

That doesn't really help people voip calling to phone numbers, PC clients, have existing Skype contacts and messaging, etc....

scmcc16

Maybe one day it'll be native. But until then I'm happy with this port.

deadcowboy

I think the port is kind of crap, no?

Berry-cracked-up

Glad to see an update. Downloading now. Hope it's much smoother than what it was before.

cbcastle

Not seeing on Rogers yet, hopefully soon.

tjross

Who needs Skype with BBM xplatform!? Lol

Posted Via CB10 from my BB Q10

rocker_man1

Well bbm is not fully functional across platform yet.

Posted via CB10

RubberChicken76

And not everyone is on BBM

The performance of this seems a lot slicker now for me

Posted via CB10

diegonei

Can you make voice and video calls to PC/Mac users on BBM?

Landlines?

Adva_

Ignorant statement. Can bbm do cross platform voice and video chat? Can bbm be used on PC's?

Posted via Z10

cjterminator

It is happening soon.

Posted via CB10

paranee2

Who the hel want Skype now

Posted via CB10

look_alive

Oh, about 50+ million SIMULTANEOUS, CONCURRENT users. That's who. And it will stay that way until BBM can do voice, video or communicate with a PC/Mac.

robdob123

Skype really sucks even on android, the call quality is really bad. Ephone I'd better for voip calls the Skype and free to landlines. Bbm voice has the best quality

GeoYeo Free Local Classifeds, Built for BlackBerry - http://appworld.blackberry.com/webstore/content/29691888

diggin4aliving

Just downloaded it from Rogers. Seems to work well so far.

smallbiz

Got it on rogers. Looking good! Had to go directly to the app page to see update button.

Posted via CB10

Bacon Munchers

Skype-Shmype!

Bring on BBM video for all BlackBerry!

Posted via CB10

shads77

Amen. Bring cross platform BBM Video Chat in HD. Bring the BBRY brand to all devices.with HQ BBM Video/Audio/Chat. And do it right!! There may be hope.

amg2004

Nothing here yet at Vodafone UK...

Posted via CB10

joewebb1

People still need Skype because some people communicate from their desks and don't want to install the IM infrastructure to support something internal, and this lets the mobile force IM the office and vice versa

Posted via CB10

liroteam

Very well but what happen with Viber?

Posted via CB10

KemKev

According to Viber peeps, the app is not coming to BB10.

etnt7

Nice!

Posted via CB10

craigdh1

If I sign in with my MSN account do I still see my Skype contacts?

prescott19

First people bitch that we don't have Skype. Then we get it, then it doesn't match up to BBM. Blah, blah, blah. I have no reason why some devs don't want to bring their apps over.

Straight from the Z10 in my hands.

nemo7

Aha why Microsoft take so long and not even bring a native Skype to BB10 platform? BBM goes Cross platform than they bring update??

Tzzz don't need Skype thanks

Posted via BlackBerry Z810

diegonei

This isn't native. It's another android port.

robdob123

I agree screw Skype. .. haha too little to late Microsoft. If bbm wasn't cross platform we oils never have gotten the update

GeoYeo Free Local Classifeds, Built for BlackBerry - http://appworld.blackberry.com/webstore/content/29691888

Bacon Munchers

nemo7: "Tzzz don't need Skype thanks ".

Please add this to your Avatar.

KemKev

Supposedly, Skype needed 10.2 to work properly hence the app update "coinciding" with the OS update release.

R Field

Not bad definitely smoother ui

CB10 - Z10 -10.2.0.1725

Ankit RS

This update makes it almost as good as native, not cascades but feel smooth as a native app. The UI is positively different. Like it.

Posted via CB10

Sinnaz0790

Work 10x better than the other version thanks to BlackBerry team n Skype divs I love it the Android runtime update makes BlackBerry awesome keep me coming port instagram temple run candy Crush put it in app world and i'm happy :D love my Zzzzzz

Posted via CB10

jimbrown19

To my knowledge I have never gotten an update for Skype and not seeing this one either,still running the preview.

Posted via CB10

BBRYed

Are you running 10.2 official update?

Poetry in Motion

KasukeSadiki

I didn't see any updates but when I went to the application page the option was there (where the download button woul be if you didn't have the app)

prescott19

Nice UI, and I agree the new runtime in 10.2 makes the ports run very well.

Straight from the Z10 in my hands.

ital1

Just downloaded it; wow what a difference.

Posted via my Z10

mrskycar

Time to give Windows Phone BBM?

VR6

Does it still drain battery by just being installed?

abdalla889

i feel my device getting HOT as its running in the Background.. and saw a slight battery drain

BBRYed

Yes. It does on iPhones too. I recommend a full battery and keep it plugged in during Skype session.

Poetry in Motion

dosto

Nice! I like updates.

jatb0y

Z10STL100-2/10.1.0.4633

Can't see if on BlackBerry World

BBRYed

It's only available for 10.2 users not 10.1

Poetry in Motion

Giro_UK

Still not available... :(

Hope it hurry up as my girl is in Jamaica so wanna try this out this eve!

Posted via CB10

damien kupuku

from Skype preview click on 3 dots menu ," scroll down to the menu listing that said something like "other apps by this dev". click on that Skype preview icon and you will be able to update from there.

Spawn12

Right so this no longer works since ive updated my Z10 to 10.2, in fact earlier today i downloaded flipboard and that does not work. So im beginning to think that my 10.2 update has broken the android player as no android ported app will work ie it will load up very slowly, get to the permission screen then automatically shut itself down.

WTF???!!!??? seriously i cant understand how the hell an OS update broke the android player even though we were promised a better experience. If anyone has any advice or know of a way to fix this issue please comment.

stabstabdie

That has been an issue for some users. It's all over the forums. BlackBerry has tweeted about it and is aware.

BBZ10wannabe

I don't understand why this happening to you. I never had Flipboard on 10.1 and I just downloaded it yesterday after I upgraded to 10.2 and it works for me on Rogers in Canada. I also just tested Skype and other than re-logging in, it seems to work (although no sign of any updates). Netflix that I side loaded didn't work properly as I couldn't see the video but I could hear the audio. I swiped until the player type settings option appeared on the main page, chose SW player and presto, my video returned and my side-loaded Netflix v 1.8 is working per usual so I think it's safe to say that the Android player is working. Perhaps not perfectly for everyone but it is working for me.

KasukeSadiki

Had to reinstall Skype for it to work. Same issue with instagram but haven't gotten around to reinstalling

dragon1234

Took them long enough lol.

I love my Z10 no matter what.

Berry_10

I'm on Rogers. Still not available.

Posted via CB10

andrewmcwhirter

I like the new ui. And Android apps work sooo much faster in 10.2.

Posted via CB10

zefreaky

I like this built better then previous one! It's smoother and runs faster.

Posted via my awesome Z10 !

somerandombbusername

I got it. I'm really liking the updated Android 4.2.2 runtime on BlackBerry OS 10.2. My Z10 runs Android programs better than most Android devices. I have no complaints on native vs Android. Options are good people, be happy with what you have, a secure device with the flexibility to run android programs.

JimCanuck

Yes, that is one reason the new Skype needs 10.2.

danielrivers

Still can't logon because I have special chars in my password and it doesn't accept them when typed in the password on my Q10

Posted via CB10

nutellapr

Whoa way faster loading time

Posted via CB10

ERFrizki

Not native, even either sideloaded or bbworld version drains my battery quicker (aren't all android ports are like that?), won't try to install skype on my q10 for now...

Posted via CB10

KemKev

Sorry to hear about the battery drain. I am using the sideload and have not noticed any unusual battery drain. With or without Skype, my battery discharges at approximately 5% per hour with moderate phone use.

mnc76

No unusual drain for me, and I keep track with battery guru.

Maybe try reinstalling your OS?

I support BB10, NOT BB Management. Fire Frank Boulben NOW!

janos2808

Big improvement. Like the back arrow and the menu button. Much easier to use.

MatthewMk2

Very nice update, it could almost be a native app from how well it runs on 10.2.

JimCanuck

There are some native features in it such as Notifications and integration into Contacts.

Bacon Munchers

Cliffy Clavin quote of the day:

"BBM is the legs that Microsoft can't kick out from under BlackBerry."

Ok, he didn't say that, but that does not mean it is not true.

andrew2362

New update is great and Android ports on 10.2 overall run so much bettee

Posted via CB10

TheRealFixxxer

This article piqued my interest in Skype once again and sucked me in to downloading it. Then I saw the permissions. Then I realized why I never actually had it installed in the first place.

/me goes back to BBM

cronico

Good!

Posted via CB10

tcee-

Can't login with Microsoft account. Anyone else encountering this?

Posted via CB10

sukwon0709

Seems pretty slick!!

Posted via CB10

RyanGermann

Ok, that is a lot better. You can FINALLY make a telephone call OR a Skype call from within the "Contact" record... they were separate before which was mind-bogglingly idiotic. A step in the right direction for sure. I'll have to change my terribly critical Skype "status" message to reflect the improvement.

Dirkmyer

I love the new feel. I actually don't mind the fact that it is and android app anymore!

I really do hope that this facilitates othr android apps to create BB10 apps! So simple!

MarsanP01

Not working after update.....chips chips

Post by Z10

medacomix15

Does anyone know how to disable the "Skype Online" notification?

Thanks!

medacomix15

BBRYed

You need to sign out of Skype.

Poetry in Motion

JimCanuck

In the Recents screen tap the menu button on the lower right (three dots), Select Settings, select Notifications - it gets quite granular from there in terms of selecting what you want Notifications for. You can also turn off all Notifications at the top of the Notifications screen.

mnc76

Looks like it's for 10.2 only. Link just takes me to old version

I support BB10, NOT BB Management. Fire Frank Boulben NOW!

mabbasr

Contrary to what was said about sharing photos & videos via the update Skype, it seems. After trying, I couldn't find any way to send photos or videos through Skype. Can anyone guide me? Thank you.

Posted 2 CB via Z 10

JimCanuck

In a chat session with an individual (does not work for group chats), touch the "+" icon (plus icon) to the left of the text entry window. You should then see three options to Send: File, Take Photo or Video Message.

BBRYed

Update is only for 10.2 users, not for 10.1.

Poetry in Motion

viklax

Hola a todos! Veo q hablan acerca de la última actualización de Skype a través de BlackBerry Mundial, pero no consigo q se actualice a la versión 4.4.507.33580. Alguna recomendación?? Gracias

Posted via CB10

agesparza

Flat out awesome.. love BBM but a high performing Skype is something that I have needed..

Posted via CB10

hyde49314

Is this headless app? Does it run in the background even when it drops out of 8th place??
If it drops out, it is useless...

Korepab

Skype screws up my contacts by adding the Skype list.

Posted via CB10

kye2000

I dont think we will ever get a native unless BB climbs into high 3rd spot but anyways glad to see its almost up to date with the android version

mamalimt1

Not available on 10.1 z10 bbworld

.........

Posted via CB10

BBRYed

Been mentioned.

Poetry in Motion

JimCanuck

It only works on 10.2. Needs the Jelly Bean Android player.

Bold_until_Hybrid_Comes

They should have named it Skype (Lite) or something like this. The word "preview" implies more is coming later. There has not been anymore that has come. In this case, preview implies a full version is coming, and it has not. Preview is not an appropriate word for the status and performance of the Skype app.

JimCanuck

This is a full port of the recently released Skype 4.4 for Android. It's no longer Preview and is a full release with all the Skype features, including the recently released video messaging.

raxamillion

I was just thinking in the same. Obviously never gonna get a full native version. But at least we have Skype, just drop the preview part and the pre tense that comes with it.

Posted via my sexy white Z10 STL100-2/10.2.0.1791

bjohnston7

Great. The old Skype was sooo slow! This seems to be a big improvement!

Posted via CB10

ttgapers

My side load is still performing better than this :(

Posted via CB10

Giro_UK

Now downloaded!

Posted via CB10

Kobe Barksdale

Yet it's still not Native

Posted via CB10

JimCanuck

It takes advantage of the Android Jelly Bean player on 10.2; also it has incorporated some Native features such as Notifications, adding a Skype ID to your contacts and the background processing.

JimCanuck

I see that on BlackBerry World it's still called Preview; it should just be called Skype. On the BB World Details page it is version 4.4.507.33580; that is the Skype for Android version that is ported.

Bikram Kochar

Mine is 3.... no new update is showing..

Posted via CB10

Mack Gans

It runs without crashing my Q now!

lcohen999

Anyone notice the Android bar is permanently gone from this app, regardless of if you want it or not

Posted via CB10

pjs312

It shows up if you have it set to show before you update, but once you set it to hide the show/hide bar doesn't come up again.

hennesseystealth

The last version kept dropping calls to cell phones. I just finished a 10 minute Skype to cell call and the other person said it sounded like a normal call. Definitely an improvement but waiting to see if keeping Skype running in the background (i.e., not signing out) will kill my battery life.

JimCanuck

Skype 4.4 for Android incorporates features for battery life conservation; this came across to Skype 4.4 for BlackBerry. Skype has been working on this issue for iOS, Android and BlackBerry 10.

jukas99@gmail.com

I have installed 10.2 and Skype and do not work any more. Any one knows what I should do?

JimCanuck

This version was designed for use with BlackBerry 10.2 OS which has the Jelly Bean Android player. Best to uninstall and re-install.

JimCanuck

Re low cost calls to mobiles and landlines. For mobile beware; it depends on the destination country and whether that country has the wireless user pay for inbound calls. Basically they remain low cost for mobile calls to U.S., Canada, China, Singapore, Thailand, Puerto Rico, Guam and Hong Kong SAR. For other countries you will pay between $0.08 and ~$0.30 per minute for calls to mobile phones. More details on the Skype site under Prices.

The video resolution on Skype-to-Skype calls is significantly improved; with sufficient upload bandwidth you can get up to 512 x 288 (~ half of 1080p) resolution (depends also on the other party's connection).

And it includes Skype's new video messaging feature where you can leave video messages of up to 3 minutes in length.|

Skype has also been working on the backend to improve both audio and video performance, especially in terms of consistency. But calls are still over the un-managed public Internet and can be subject to ISP issues.

Somebody says: "Keep them coming BlackBerry"; Skype developers played a huge role in making this happen.

My post will come out tomorrow with more details.

robdob123

Don't you think it's a sad coincidence that Skype releases just after bbm? It makes me think it's another ploy to try and hurt bbry

GeoYeo Free Local Classifeds, Built for BlackBerry - http://appworld.blackberry.com/webstore/content/29691888

JimCanuck

Rest assured it's not a coincidence. The new version needs 10.2 and its new Android player as a contributor to the overall improved performance; there was lots of co-operation between Skype and BlackBerry to get this done. Note that includes a couple of native features such as Notifications and integration into BlackBerry Contacts.

Skype is well aware of what's happening with BBM. I expect we'll have a world where people use more than one IP communications service, Skype, BBM and Google Hangouts. It really depends on the Contacts you have for each and the features you are looking for. Personally I use both Skype and BBM for different reasons.

rogeryen

I can't enter the underscore into the username box when logging in....

Posted via CB10

umarjavaid

Wow... really kool interface :-) keep updating Skype :-)

BlackBerry Z10 Posted via CB 10

Rez91

Why doesn't it work on my 10.2 OS?

Posted via CB10

DFloresT

Only for 10.2?

Posted via CB10

spidave

is it only for 10.2? i'm on 10.1 and i've tried to update it but it's not showing the update button anywhere, i uninstalled and reinstalled it same thing

STV0726

I don't have too much of an issue with it remaining an Android Port...

...I DO have a MASSIVE issue with it if it is still labeled as a "Preview".

-STV on Z10STL100-3/10.1.0.4780 TMO US

JimCanuck

Somebody missed out when it was put into BlackBerry World; Preview should have been removed. Rest assured it's based on the recently released Skype 4.4 for Android.

Zahi Ali

A great update I must say! All new UI smoother app! Some people needs to get a life maybe? :P android Port but dirty Bar has been disappeared after the update

C0001799F sub to my channel! Posted via CB10

mICRoMaTe

We need BBM desktop! Help us throw Skype in the bin!

Posted via CB10

Kurt Fathul

Which one is better guys?
I got my Skype ver 4.0.0.22082 sideloaded via debug token method or is the new updated one from BB World is better?

Posted via CB10

JimCanuck

The new one is a later build.

hmachado

Someone help me please, why I can't download Skype onto my z10 it says that Skype is not available for this device, is this phone different than everyone else's?

Posted via CB10

JimCanuck

You need 10.2 for this version.

DaSchwantz

Funny how the updates seem to happen right after the successful launch of Cross-platform BBM

Posted via CB10

meherzad87

Now Bbm should never go to Lumia.... screw u biatch you can keep your 41mp cam to yourselves :P

Posted via CB10

Kobe Barksdale

This update must only be for 10.2 as I don't see it on my Z10

Posted via CB10

Douken

Hope it fixes the random crashes, the freezes ending in missed calls, overlap calls, notifications in the hub that you already saw repeating themselves. More integration with the hub would be a plus.

You are now in my Bingo Book

acopernic

for me... it's quite simple. none android port application works at all since I updated to 10.2
So I use all good applications from BlackBerry World. :-)

Posted via CB10

feyeuh

Yes! Gj!

Posted via CB10

olisg

Works very well with the unlocked android runtime without wifi issue for Z30

Posted via CB10

DementedDevil

New version feels the need to tell me it's available every so often - I could turn this notification off in the last version but can't in this version.

Bugger.

Z10 + 10.2.0.1767 + DTAC = BBtastic!

JimCanuck

On the Recents screen tap on the three dot menu on the lower right. Settings | Notifications and you can turn them all off or only selected ones.

rav bhullar

It's not working in 10.2 and some other apps as well not working

Posted via CB10

davehong

Works fine for me, running on 10.2.

Posted via CB10

Plutonic Dmoc

DJ Pluton1c Grown Up Hip Hop Edition Mix #DMOC sorry for the inconvenience #BumpTheGenius

https://vimeo.com/77852478 #DMOC

RedRangerReid

How can I reset BlackBerry world it won't show up for me

Posted via CB10

DirkManuel

10.2 only. FFS! When are the US carriers going to sort their shit out and release updates in a timely manner?

10.1 at&t, US.

Posted via CB10

rob65r

Looks like the update is for 10.2. I have 10.1 and all that shows up for me is the Skype version released June 13, 2013.

Shyene88

Same here! It still shows me the version dated July 13, 2013.
I am running 10.1.0.4181.

tekors

Don't know if anyone else has experienced this, but in the settings, there's the option of whether to sync or not the skype contacts with the address book contacts.
Well, by default is set to not to sync the contacts. But, for my surprise the skype contacts were there in the address book.
Any thoughts?

Posted via CB10

Akash Patel

Microsoft gave you native Skype app.
does blackberry is coming up with a native bbm for microsoft windowsphone??

Shyene88

I updated my AT&T BB Z10 (STL-3) to the OS version 10.1.0.4181 (through Sachesi) last week; but sadly, haven't got the Skype update pushed to my through the BlackBerry World (tried checking many times).
Is it because of the leak I updated to? Or is it some other issue? Or does it need BB OS 10.2?
Please help.

Edit: On the official BB World link (http://appworld.blackberry.com/webstore/content/26382880/?countrycode=US...); it shows the new version of October 25, 2013 (Skyper version - 4.4.507.33580) is for devices running OS 10.1.0 and up.

tonyrenier

I really thought my battery was dying, but I read a few comments on the forum re: Skype and uninstalled it, sure enough my battery is just fine. I tried to turn it off but no luck so if I need it I can always reistall. I think I'll just talk everyone into using BBM.