Editorial

I switched from BlackBerry 10 to BlackBerry 7 and survived!

Devices

The BlackBerry Bold 9900 makes a return to ShopBlackBerry in North America

Editorial

I hope the BlackBerry Classic's trackpad lights up and powers down like it does on the Bold 9900

Editorial

The real reason My Cousin Vinny downgraded from the BlackBerry Z10 to a Bold 9900 and is waiting on the Classic...

Editorial

Have you ever tried using your old BlackBerry 7 phone after upgrading to BlackBerry 10?

Special Coverage

Seidio accessories keep your smartphone protected, and keep you going!

Devices

The best BlackBerry you can buy right now

BlackBerry OS

Bell issues software update for Curve 9360, Bold 9790 and 9900

BlackBerry OS

Official OS 7.1.0.991 for the BlackBerry Bold 9930 from Verizon Wireless

BlackBerry OS

Official OS 7.1.0.923 for the BlackBerry Bold 9900 from DoCoMo

BlackBerry OS

Official OS 7.1.0.912 for the BlackBerry Bold 9900 from Telstra

CrackBerry Polls

CrackBerry Asks: Do you use the U key shortcuts on your QWERTY BlackBerry?

BlackBerry Accessories

Rock out to your favorite tunes and get in shape with the Motorola S11-Flex HD Bluetooth Stereo Headset

News & Rumors

Official OS 7.1.0.825 for the BlackBerry Bold 9900 now available from Vodafone DE

News & Rumors

Official OS 7.1.0.794 for the BlackBerry Bold 9900 from China Unicom

News & Rumors

CrackBerry was on site as Rogers and CIBC made the first mobile payment in Canada with a BlackBerry smartphone

News & Rumors

Rogers and CIBC bring first mobile credit card payments to Canada using BlackBerry smartphones

BlackBerry OS

Official OS 7.1.0.746 for the BlackBerry Bold 9900 from Rogers Wireless

News & Rumors

Official OS 7.1.0.746 for the BlackBerry Bold 9900 from UTS

BlackBerry Accessories

Keep your BlackBerry Bold 9900/9930 safe and stylish with the Incipio PREDATOR case

< >

Review: Seidio SURFACE Extended Battery Case and Holster for BlackBerry Bold 9900/9930

By Alicia Erlich on 14 Sep 2012 12:23 pm EDT
-
loading...
-
loading...
-
loading...

When it comes to protection one of my trusted brands has always been Seidio. I admit to being rough on my devices which is why a case is a more of a given rather than an accessory. Whether it was the Innocase Active for my BlackBerry Torch 9800 or the ACTIVE for my Bold 9900, there's no question that Seidio offers the quality and durability to make sure my BlackBerry stays in one piece.

Since the release of the extended battery, the one complaint at the time was the lack of a compatible case. In my review, it was also a concern because of how hefty and bulky the device became. While the battery allowed me to go wherever I pleased without carrying around a spare charger, using a generic leather holster was a pain to use and not a long term solution. Seidio promised a case was in the works and the SURFACE Extended Battery Case and Holster is finally available.

Features

  • Sleek case that provides scratch protection without adding much bulk
  • Precision cut-outs for access to the ports, camera, and volume buttons
  • Unique snap-on design makes putting on and removing your case easy
  • Felt lining on inside protects your BlackBerry Bold 9900/9930
  • Compatible with the Innocell 3000mAh extended life battery

Installation

Unlike their other SURFACE case, this one does not come in two pieces that fit together. Instead, it is a one piece design that just snaps into place with no special ways of holding or placing required. This allows for quick removal especially if you need to perform a battery pull without breaking a nail.

Design and Protection

I prefer complete and maximum protection on all sides as I'm probably the biggest klutz there is. However, this SURFACE case provides a high level of protection and is still slim enough to fit in the holster. I was pleasantly surprised at how it safeguarded my BlackBerry with its slim profile throughout the day.

The case is made from durable plastic with their signature soft coating and offers cut-outs for all of your ports: charger, headset, and volume and convenience keys. However, what made me apprehensive was how the screen is left unprotected (if it falls face down the sides do not raise the screen slightly), and the top and bottom of the device are left exposed to scratches and falls.

While some may find the coating too smooth, it actually does a great job at preventing dust, dirt, and lint from accumulating. No matter where my device is put (i.e. purse, backpack, or jacket pocket) it still retains its original out of the box clean and smooth appearance. It also provides a firm grip so it won't slip out of your hands when removing or placing in the holster.

As I said before the case is thin and fits securely over your device. While this is perfect for normal wear and tear, dropping it in the street or on a train platform is another story. When it inadvertently fell face down on the floor there was some slight damage to the keyboard.

However, that is not to say that this case doesn't offer its own durable protection in its own right. After using for the past few weeks, it did not crack or even show a scratch during the occasional bump or bang, tumble to the floor at work at short distances, or even when it took that nasty fall on the train.

Finally, there is the companion spring-clip belt holster. While other clips wear down and become loose, this one maintains Seidio's tradition of manufacturing solid and sturdy clips that not only keep your device secure at your hip but come with the always desired sleeper magnet. It allows easy access, offers a not too tight fit, is multi-directional - swivel in 7 directions, comes with a felt liner and face-in design to protect your phone from outside elements, and has a soft rubber piece at the top of the clip for protection.

As a chronic klutz, the thought of using a barely there case never would have crossed my mind. However, the long history that Seidio has with its customer service, quality of its products, and its longevity changed my mind. If you picked up the extended battery you will not be disappointed with this case.

BUY NOW

Three more great protection options

GREAT ALTERNATIVE GREAT ALTERNATIVE CHEAPER
Otterbox Defender Series Case Seidio Charging Vault puregear Hard Shell Case & Holster Combo
OtterBox Commuter Series Case for BlackBerry Bold 9900/9930
"Full coverage all around your device, leaving easy access to your charging and headphone ports"
Incipio Feather Ultralight Hard Shell Case
"Ultra light protection with a soft touch matte finish"
puregear Hard Shell Case & Holster Combo                                "The purgear hard shell and holster combo allows you to retain the size of the Bold 9900/9930 and add a optional holster"

 

Reader comments

Review: Seidio SURFACE Extended Battery Case and Holster for BlackBerry Bold 9900/9930

3 Comments

Maybe the most compelling argument against those who say that there is no problem with the stock battery in the 9900/9930.

My SURFACE extended case and holster fits the beautiful Seidio Innocell 3000mAh Super Extended Life Battery for BlackBerry Bold 9900 perfectly. And there’s no hype in the battery's name. It is excellent for my all-day business use.

I prefer the BB 9900 with the SURFACE extended case and holster. With the case, the phone fits in my hand better and the battery provides a better one-hand grip and is well balanced. I like the texture of the SURFACE case better than the phone alone. The quality of Seidio's materials and workmanship are superior.

As a constant BB 9900 user who required the new extended battery, Alicia Erlich is correct: I am not disappointed with the extended SURFACE case and holster.

John
Florida

i like the battery but the case for the way i hold the phone digs into my pinky finger on my right hand when im holding it with 1 hand. gets a little uncomfortable so i usually end up using the extended battery with a regular clip or just bring an extra jm-1 battery with me to keep it slim. lol

great review though.