Editorial

I switched from BlackBerry 10 to BlackBerry 7 and survived!

Devices

The BlackBerry Bold 9900 makes a return to ShopBlackBerry in North America

Editorial

I hope the BlackBerry Classic's trackpad lights up and powers down like it does on the Bold 9900

Editorial

The real reason My Cousin Vinny downgraded from the BlackBerry Z10 to a Bold 9900 and is waiting on the Classic...

Editorial

Have you ever tried using your old BlackBerry 7 phone after upgrading to BlackBerry 10?

Devices

The best BlackBerry you can buy right now

BlackBerry OS

Bell issues software update for Curve 9360, Bold 9790 and 9900

BlackBerry OS

Official OS 7.1.0.991 for the BlackBerry Bold 9930 from Verizon Wireless

BlackBerry OS

Official OS 7.1.0.923 for the BlackBerry Bold 9900 from DoCoMo

BlackBerry OS

Official OS 7.1.0.912 for the BlackBerry Bold 9900 from Telstra

CrackBerry Polls

CrackBerry Asks: Do you use the U key shortcuts on your QWERTY BlackBerry?

BlackBerry Accessories

The OtterBox Defender Case for the BlackBerry Z10 can likely survive whatever abuse you throw at it

News & Rumors

Official OS 7.1.0.825 for the BlackBerry Bold 9900 now available from Vodafone DE

News & Rumors

Official OS 7.1.0.794 for the BlackBerry Bold 9900 from China Unicom

News & Rumors

CrackBerry was on site as Rogers and CIBC made the first mobile payment in Canada with a BlackBerry smartphone

News & Rumors

Rogers and CIBC bring first mobile credit card payments to Canada using BlackBerry smartphones

BlackBerry OS

Official OS 7.1.0.746 for the BlackBerry Bold 9900 from Rogers Wireless

News & Rumors

Official OS 7.1.0.746 for the BlackBerry Bold 9900 from UTS

BlackBerry Accessories

Keep your BlackBerry Bold 9900/9930 safe and stylish with the Incipio PREDATOR case

News & Rumors

Official OS 7.1.0.714 for the BlackBerry Bold 9900 from Vodafone UK

Review: OtterBox Commuter Series Case for the BlackBerry Bold 9930 and 9900

By John Yester on 25 Oct 2011 02:16 pm EDT
0
loading...
0
loading...
31
loading...
 

Being a first responder I encounter some of the most intense environments on a daily basis. I always expect the most elite equipment to help perform my job while keeping me as safe as possible. I expect the same for my device, as it's a vital tool in my line of work. The OtterBox Commuter Series case for the BlackBerry Bold 9930 / 9900 provides three layers of protection. The first layer is an outer polycarbonate shell to protect the Bold from drops.  The second layer is constructed of durable silicone adding bump and shock protection. Also an optional screen protector, add the third layer and the Bold is now encased in superior protection from anything it may encounter.

I have been carrying my Bold 9930 in this case for a little over a month and I must say it's awesome. I have dropped it countless times, tossed it in a gear bag for travel and it's even taken the trip inside some places where some phones should not be operational. Though the standard Commuter case does not come with a holster, (OtterBox, PLEASE make one!!!) we adapt and overcome. In the video you will see the device fits perfectly in a Bold 9000 holster -- the best combo! Now while keeping the sleekness of the Bold form factor, the Commuter adds no bulk at all, giving some of the best protection in cases out there. Though there are some minor drawbacks using the case, it should be sufficient for any consumer looking for ultimate protection. Be sure to watch the video above for a more in-depth look at this case.

Contest: To enter to win an OtterBox Commuter series case for your device, leave a single comment on this post. Contest ends this Sunday at midnight PST.

More information/Purchase of the OtterBox Commuter Case for the Bold 9900/9930

295 comments

omaralfa

Stellar case. Would appreciate one greatly.

feldmen01

never any love for the 9850/60...

djkbb

One piece Otterbox cases rock! Sadly, I had to dump the commuter case for my 9800. Plan to get back onboard once AT&T gets around to releasing the 9900.

Sarvey

Oh, I would be so happy to win this contest. I have never won a contest on this site yet, and I'm such an avid Blackberry user. I have a Blackberry Bold 9900, and this would be a perfect accessory for it considering I do not have any type of case or protection for it. However, I respect the process, and I wish everyone the best of luck!

Cheers,
Dave

tfp

Would def love an Otterbox for my 9900 :) have one for my 8520, 9800 and PlayBook. Tough as nails case. My 8520 survived a tonne of stone being dropped on it and being run over by a bull dozer. Convinced me to get one for my 9800 and my PlayBook.

drinka4yearz

Had my 9930 4 2 days and it fell in a puddle of water when I was getting in my car when the bb first released on sprint wish I had this then. I'm in.

bllyrdrgz

I'm in!! gotta get my baby all bundled up for the winter.

petworks97

What a great case. My wife has it for her iPhone. She dropped the phone in a puddle of water and the phone was dry and not a scratch on it. The case was fine too. I would love this case for myself

jaiello1986

Otterbox has saved my Playbook a hundred times! My 9900 needs rescue :)

yielded

Been very interested in the Otterbox, hope I win, looks like a great product!

bermont

clean and minimalist .. i love it

dee.one

Count me in, thanks!

bquinney

I would hate to drop mine without this case........when I get one.

gtamhankar

I would love one for my wife's 9800. Her's is really worn out now... PLEASE!

SPACE-AGE-INC

need it for my line of work

jonnyk333

I got 9900 problems but a case ain't one!

pbadini

Definitely want one!

georojas

OtterBox providing protection and still keep you looking sexy!

marty_davidoff

I would love to.. please!!!

Bob Webber

Need a case for my 9900!!

ssc13

Thiiiiis is JUST what I need! hit me up!

Lmoises

i would like one it looks like the perfect fit. hook me up thanks.

jperinger

I'd love to win one of these babies!

rholford

Please, please pick me!!!

npunk42

I still prefer the Otterbox Impact case

xBlackWolf90

Used Otterbox cases for years on my 9700 and 9800. Just need one now for my new 9900 :)

bigpolla04

Oh please please please Crackberry.

I really want to win this and it would be great a as Christmas present to wonderful ME ...

:) :) :)

Please please please ....

SubXO

I'd love to win one for my 9900!

Birddog2

great gift for my husbands birthday today

RushNFour

Sure would look good wrapped around my 9930

Novacrane

Big fan of Otterbox cases here!

protomaxxx

i love kevin and this case

teostar

a giveaway after i jus ordered 1... :-( but sign me up anyways... i wonder if it comes in white....

Alberta Blue

I have always been a fan of the Otterbox series!

Ronzdaname

I have always loved Otterbox's cases. It is the one I prefer and I compare all others to. Would love to have one for my 9900.

belfastdispatcher

I have the commuter but the defender would be even better :)

alunkkk

Wow wow wow...
This OtterBox Series look so nice & tough..
With this one, My Bold 9900 safe from scratch and extreme condition..:D
Wanna hold this for my Bold 9900..ha³..
Thanks CB..

asianguy80

It'd be nice to have this much protection for my 9930!

dwill400h

ive always loved Otterbox....keep em coming Otter lol

Filth.Injector

Please O Please Pick Me..

Iv had The Worst month ever. Starting with the fire at my place which made me lose everything including my BlackBerry to my motorcycle accident thats left me w a broken shoulder..

please pick me and gift me the only good thing that could hapen this month.

rcheung135

Seido: BRING IT ON BITCH!
Otterbox: Challenge accepted.

I really like this one :)

Actionjax

Time to get a free case!!! The way I kep dropping my phone this would be perfect!

dannyd86

I have this case, got it because of crackberries first review. Its the best case I've ever had. I tried 6 or so different cases on my 9700 and the commuter on my 9780. And the 9900 commuter is even better then that.

I already have this case but my gf uses a shitty floppy silicone thing on her 9900, she needs a commuter! So still enter me into the contest

clee666

I need one for my BB9900!

Malachi.2.15

Count me in!!! I love otterbox and could definitely use the commuter on my 9930!

Slammers08

I will have my 9900 the first day ATT decides to release it. I'm a hge fan of the commuter series. Count me in. Thank you

rellyrellz

Does it have raised edges like the defender and does it affect typing on the sides?

toan07

Oh, I would be so happy to win this contest. I have never won a 9900 contest on this site yet, and I'm such an avid Blackberry user. I have a Blackberry Bold, and this would be a perfect accessory for it considering I do not have any type of case or protection for it.

iSkorp

Would very much like to win this case!

icwhite01

I got no bold 9900 yet but I will soon and a free case would be helpful

iJuan

I'm a cluts! Hope I get this baby!
Boldy would love it :)

redrumsilence

Getting a 9900 in a week, would kill for a case this good if it was free
Hit me up! :D

ewakil12

I'm in! :) #TeamCrackBerry

X132

Love the OtterBox for PB.

MikanX

Sweet! I would like this case =)

Kat0908

I loved the commuter case for my 9700 would love to have one for my new 9900!

the brother

OtterBox Commuter Series FTW! Please enter me in the fabulous contest!! THANK YOU :)

lcooksey

Looks like a sweet case.

tliolos

Nice looking Case!!!

oh oh Pick Me Pick Me oh oh

WillHeSurvive

OK OK, you don't have to be so pushy. I'll take it!

PiotrJot

That case for sure means 'protection' for my preciousssss 9900 :-)

wilsonryanp

Would love to have one... I dropped my 9900 on asphalt the other day and scratched the back of the case!! :(

hsumra

The Otter Box saved my iPhone 4 and my BlackBerry 9780 more times than I can count, I want it to save my wife's BlackBerry 9900.

I wanted her to get one for her iPhone 4, she dropped it a few too many times and it stopped ringing and the back glass was broken, and then she dropped it again and she couldn't hear people anymore. I think she needs a case for the 9900, I told her if she doesn't get an Otter I am going to take her phone and she gets my 9780 lol...

Please help my wife keep her 9900 safe!!!

Shekeese

HUGE Otterbox fan! I have been using one for my 9700 since April of last year! Would love a fresh one for my 9930 once AT&T gets their head out the sand...

elphie28

This is the case that my 9930 has been waiting for!

thatMikeguy

Yup need one as already broke one 9900. Pick me please.

raminuj20

would love this case...the one on my iPad works like a charm!

Foppa_21

Me likey. One please.

batrad

have an otterbox on the iPad, my wife's iPhone.. this would be a great addtion to the family for the 9900 that's coming on AT&T right on time to replace my laggy /broken 9810

Thanks

MOE BEATs

Should I win, I promise to let my new Bold 9900 (that I plan to buy on the November 6th thanx to a Crackberry post) from AT&T wear this case like a new born BlackBerry should.

That was all truth with no shameless plug.

aproudy

My man wants this case so bad and I would love to win this for him...surprise!!

patmur2010

Commuter series is the only case I will use for my blackberries!!!

[Deadly duo - Playbook/Bold]

canibus6

Me me me me! Trick or treat!

Tweedle

Wow. I hope I win!!! Today I receive 9900 in my work :)

bladerunner6821

i would love to win this for myself because i'm an otterbox freak and a crackberry

d0m

This will go great with my soon to be AT&T 9900!

blindguy

Nice case. Thanks for the contest.

dfanella

Another great contest - thanks very much!

Smokeless Joe

An excellent case for the 9930

phone-a-holic

i need more protection on my phone. otterbox would be nice

Halifax Guy

It would serve my purposes well, given the area of my work takes me daily.

jc_halifax

I've had an Otterbox before and they're great. This will be perfect for my soon-to-be-acquired Bold 9900. ;-)

kawandawoods

I drop my phone 2 much especially since Halloween is comin up n goin 2 many party w/ lots of drinks I'm a BB n hand type of girl

otateossian

Ohhh I would love one for my 9900!!!!!! I hope i get it

4872.

Please enter me into the drawing to win this OtterBox case.

JSB544

This has to be my favorite Otterbox. It's durable and kinda trendy. Love them.

dzegers

Would love one for my new White 9810.

brettyamo

I don't even have the phone YET but will need it when ATT finally releases the phone

mikebi66

Excellent! Brilliant design! Love it!

oliverlock

Could really do with one of these!

quattrojames

I'd love one of these to keep it looking like new.

litig8or98

Having missed the Defender deal from yeaterday, I could sure use this for my new 9900.

sir.dangerfield

I love my 9930 and the design, but since my phone is an important tool in me making a living, I always stress myself out just thinking I might drop and break my phone in the middle of the day. Having this case would be a huge peace of mind for me. I have been debating between a thicker rock solid case or staying naked and hoping the Bold will hold up to a fall as well as it feels it will. The Commuter appears to be rock solid, but still sleek. I would rock this case for sure if it was gifted to me and this will be my case of choice if I have to purchase one.

Heres hoping for a little luck on a Tuesday afternoon...

T3Jlewis

LOVE OTTERBOX SO MUCH! have the commuter on my 9650 right now and just got my 9930 today! help me protect this perfect BEAST!

the_stig#WN

Had a Commuter on my Storm2 and my Bold 9650 - great cases - hope I win one.

fragabas1

otterbox is wicked, saved my old 9800 quite a few times

NickA

I'm not a big case person but I'd use this one.

breakmedown

Ooh, sign me up. I have one for my 9700 and just love it! This would keep my 9900 nice and shiny through my abuse!

droggy66

would love this for the new bold i win

paulomalley

Oh please choose me... I can't find one of theses ANYWHERE in Australia....

K3nichiro

i wanna stick my bb in the otter(box). bow chika woww woww~~

FRodrigues#CB

i really need this case to my BB!

Olcoot

Had one on my old 9650 and it worked great! Now I need one for my 9930! Thanks!

beasties

this looks like a good case. hope I win one!

Pout29

Need a case for my new Bold 9900 hope i win :D

North-Face

An OtterBox would be a great addition to my 9900!

beasties

Looks like a good case. Hope I win one!

psziel

i love the commuter cases. perfect for my use. have used them on every phone i have owned. just ordered a 9900 and should have it this week. this would be perfect! :)

Katlashell

I have had an otter for every blackberry I have ever owned... They rock!!
Would love to win one

ryshhh

I'd love one! It looks really nice!

ivan238

Would def love an Otterbox for my 9900..

lklim

I would like one please!

agreffen72

I would love to win this case since I'm always dropping my blackberry and I'm really afraid now with the touchscreen.

BuskerWages

I like how it protects as well as being asthetically pleasing. I could definately use one of these on the site.

vondat

Nice case! Would love to win one!

Alpha Omega

would love to have one of these, so when AT&T final release the 9900 i will have it.

mantiz

Woule love one on these!

Fingerpicker

Just what I need for my new BB

TheCROW163

Wow this is so awesome! These are not available in my part of the world and it would be so great for me to win it!
Thanks CB you're the best!

nthui

Otterbox always is the best choice to protect our smartphone.. I hope I can get 1.

Vectors

I want one of these before AT&T releases the phone so I can pamper it straight from the box.

danGDSGDES

I need a case for my new 9930 <3

jojo212

Love the commuter series!

netnative

I wish that Otterbox made a Commuter case for the BlackBerry PlayBook.

Jake Storm

Would love to try out this case.

ippyg

I've dropped my phone 3x already, the case would be fantastic to win! :D

Nojo73

I would love to have a commuter for my 9930! I had both the commuter and defender for my 9650 as well as a defender for my PB and love the protection provided by all of them. Given my line of work I NEED rugged protection that doesn't compromise the use of the device. Thanks for the great review CB!

envynevy25

i would love to have this case for my bold 9930 !!!!!!!!! i would be soooooo greatful!! i am a blackberry fanatic!!!!!

Xacradin

In case not winning the other, this one should work ;)

dac035

Nice case for a cool phone. Crackberry rocks. I would love to have one for my 9930.

crazyouija#CB

It's my work berry, so it needs the treatment

aallison05

Loved the commuter for my 9700, would love to have another in preparation of the 9900 on AT&T!

omaralfa

Stellar case. Would appreciate one greatly.

Kris Gent

Great case for a great phone. Thanks Crackberry!

Alexmam

I used Otterbox with Bold 9000, 9780, ipod. Now I want one for my new 9900. This is the best case, but very pricey. They have Otterbox 9900 copies in China for 3 USD. Not bad at all. If I won't get Otterbox 9900 here, I will get a replica. The idea of 2 layers is great!

PandorazBox80

Nice! I've seen a few reviews of OtterBox cases and I really want one. They're amazing!

cbfan123

Hmm...the Commuter series for the 99xx is slightly different than the 97xx. On the 97xx, the case covers the area around ear speaker and stops at the top of screen. This one for the 99xx only seems to wrap just above the ear speaker. I wonder why the reason for the change.

Anyway, I don't have the 9900 yet as I am waiting for AT&T to release it and my renewal.

CLuebkin

John, I dig your reviews, and as a fellow public safety personnel I appreciate your insight. I'm a team leader on a major US city SWAT team, and I take my 9930 into harm's way daily to help me get the job done. I could definitely use an OtterBox Commuter Case to keep my device in one piece when on the job. Thanks for the review.

tekware

Would love a way to make my 9900 virtually indestructible.

what

I'm ready to cover up!

Bodini

I've had a commuter Otterbox for my Bold 9780 and loved it. So I know it will be better on the 9900.

blacknouvo

I'm looking for It. Thanks for the review.

ohyeah-

this would be a great gift for my friend, i love otterboxs

hns_555

Best case protector ever.
Have used it before (also the commuter series) on my onyx (9700).
Now i'm looking for my dakota

Toxic

I would love a case for my 9900!

wattnovvv

Got one on my previous bold 9780 and absolutely love it, only quirk I got is the fact that it prevent me from using the default holster so i had to purchase the holster for BB9000. other than that, one of the few cases that I would absolutely love to have on a cellphone in general. I once tossed my bold to the concrete after a heated debate but instead of seeing the phone in piece, it still function without a scratch thanks to its otterbox. Highly recommended for any high-end cellphone user

KiraSaint

Can't go wrong with an OtterBox!

Anatomy

The case looks awesome and useful! Right now I flip my sim into my backup blackberry for precarious situations (that I can plan for) but with this case I think I could take my precious anywhere! Love to win it!

jborfeo

I have always wanted to try an OtterBox!

bgriff25

I had a Defender for my Tour, and this looks really nice!

MrsD.

I use nothing but Otterbox on our phones. With it rumored that AT&T will be dropping the 9900 soon, I better get my commuter case now. I would love to wrap my new baby in a free one. I just wish there could be color choices.

jonckr

I would really love to win a case for my 9900!!! Wanna keep it safe

wh01sl1k360d

I have used the OtterBox Defender Series for BlackBerry Bold 9900 and because the silicon is on the outside it tends to want to let go around the edge on the left side of the case. The protection is unmatched. I would love this case as the silicon is on the inside and the plastic outer shell will keep it in place and help protect the phone. Hope I can score this baby for free :)

datta72

I just wanted to thank all the great people at Crackberry for giving us the chance to win some amazing prizes, i don't even want to think about how life/my blackberry would look without you. Thanks for everything

dakid72

This would be a very nice addition to an already gorgeous phone, and since I have dropped it a few times--no damage, thank God--it may be time to ante up and get a case, if I don't win it first!
Thanks in advance CrackBerry and Otterbox!

HTATE2

I need one for my 9930 before i drop it!
thanks

BioHazard31

Loved This Case on my 9700, bet its just as good on the 9900!!!

Rudeaz

This is absolutely the best case for the 9900 and my 9900 needs a case... pretty please!!!

Dr.Deebs

OtterBox is the best! I would love this case.

BreakerBB

I'd like to have one please ! :) Nice cases!

mike Steele

Entered as a loyal BB fan.

absoluthal

Let me win please ... !!!

vzimbardo

Great Case!!!! Sure would look good wrapped around my 9930

1CrackBerriz

Please please please please please? I really need a good sturdy case for my 9900 :(

thebat380

Had been using Otterbox Defender on my former Bold 9000 for 3 years. With Bold 9900 being the thin phone would like to have a thin but at the same time robust case. It turns out that the Otterbox Commute case is the best candidate.

west65

This kid needs to win this otterbox because i have demoed 3 of my phones and i need to have a case that will protect it and allow it to be funtional. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE let me win this.

Since i need to win this i figured these fine lyrics would be convenient:

I'm Big Bank, I am the Chief
I got a lot of raps but I'll be real
I never need a horse I like to chill
so I, drive up in my new Seville

krisnicjohn

Thanks so much for the consideration!

xiLLeNtz

For once an OtterBox case I really like. Would be perfect for my day-to-day busy life.

red2wu

I love otterboxes!!! They are the best protection for my phone.

zhyrul

Cool case! I actually don't like the one included with my BB9900 and this would be a great replacement!

jyt199

definetly need a case like this.

kaotik_187

I guess asking to win something many times.. over and over again doesn't work! I have entered certain contests here at Crackberry.com and have not won yet! I've entered Otterbox contests before, and win the case you choose contests as well. I've also asked for an Otterbox case in those instances. The only other things i have entered as much are a win certain kind of battery for your device, and a Bluetooth speakerphone device. I'm tired of losing and wont be saying PICK ME PLEASE on this post! I want to win but u know what maybe saying... DON'T PICK ME might change my luck! If i win it great, if i don't then at least my hopes aren't up as always! I love Otterbox cases and would like one for my new device (i entered a couple Crackberry new device giveaways but no hope lol). So Crackberry team, pick whoever to win this case! Good luck to everyone! I am not expecting anything anymore.No hopes up, might just be a next contest lost!

taime

OtterBox have the best cases in my mind. I recently just upgraded to a 9930 and unfortunately didnt have enough cash to get a case. This would come in oh so handy.

junon

Usually have to put my phone in my pocket to keep it safe. I can definitely use one of these and it looks great too. crackberry ftw :D

ang_h

Can i please win this! This case will prevent my phone from many unfortunate events that could happen to it! I want my phone to last i love it :(

Vallius

<3 Otterbox! I hope I win!

rk0319

Would love to have one....So my kids can stop scratching mine...

tropicalkel

love to get one of these.

ezBlackBerry

GIMME GIMME!! I wanna win! And the winner of the brand new OtterBox Commuter Series Case for the BlackBerry 9930 and 9900 is our CrackBerry member ezBlackBerry! Oh yes crackbery.. it can happen, you can make it happen! Love it

amosque57

I want one for my brand new 9930 :)

Blackfeet

I want to get a 9930, perhaps if I get the case first, IT will get me the device!

pstarrobbie

these cases are just right daddy-O

jordan559

This would be a gr8 case for my 9930!! I hope I win. Thanks so much for the chance.

Turbaru

i would love this case for my 9930!

Pages