PSA: Read this before you click on that BlackBerry ID email
As BlackBerry users it's not often we need to be on the lookout for a virus or malware (although you should always be careful) but according to Net-Security.org there is a fake email circulating regarding BlackBerry ID. The email is a dead-on copy of a legit one from RIM starting out "To enjoy the full benefits of your BlackBerry ID, please follow the instructions in the attached file." but carries an attachment that you don't want to mess with. If you get an email like this anytime soon, your best bet is to delete it unless you know for sure it's legit. Yeah, just delete it :-)
We're not sure just how many users are getting the email, but if you do be sure to drop a comment letting us know!
Source: Net-Security Via: N4BB
NamelessStar Aug 23, 2012 at 11:56 am
never seen one of these yet but ive never accepted attachments from anyone lol got a super high junk filter list
exwindchaser Aug 23, 2012 at 12:01 pm
Love how the email from Crackberry is being reported as spam
febo2175 Aug 23, 2012 at 12:08 pm
I havent gotten the email and yesterday there was an BlackBerry Proctect update from the App World. Maybe RIM is on top of this already.
xenrobia Aug 23, 2012 at 12:15 pm
Thanks for the "Heads Up."
DagmarSchneitz6424@yahoo.com Aug 23, 2012 at 12:22 pm
Thanks for the warning!
iRonin Aug 23, 2012 at 12:26 pm
Purchased my 2nd PB back in April. Something is amiss for sure cause I just got the following email:
"Congratulations on the purchase of your BlackBerry® PlayBook™ Tablet. In order to be eligible to receive ninety (90) days of complimentary technical support, you are required to complete the registration process. Please click on the link below and read and agree to the terms and conditions for support.
https://consumersupport.webapps.blackberry.com/bber/
crumbonthefloor Aug 23, 2012 at 12:32 pm
That's a valid website and email! You should register the PlayBook to get that free support
iRonin Aug 23, 2012 at 12:52 pm
Registered it the day I bought it. Now the micro USB charging port is damaged so it only charges using the desktop cradle. Called RIM - Oops! "We're sorry, you are outside your 90 day window".
Thachoc1 Aug 23, 2012 at 1:43 pm
You should still have a 1 yr warranty. I'd keep callin!
sk8er_tor Aug 23, 2012 at 12:38 pm
I haven't received it.
all3n7 Aug 23, 2012 at 1:11 pm
if its suspicious, DON'T BOTHER and DELETE.. BLACKBERRY PROTECT is the most awesome SECURITY known to MEN.
infinus Aug 23, 2012 at 1:21 pm
no problems here.
didn't got this email....
lonedog Aug 23, 2012 at 1:25 pm
Curious, I've had an 8310, a 9700, a 9800, and a 9810, but I've never seen the "Report Spam" in the dropdown list for Messages. Is that something you have to enable and where do you set it?
BB_Bmore Aug 23, 2012 at 2:25 pm
Gmail account. Don't think yahoo has this on BB
linuxbbm Aug 23, 2012 at 1:34 pm
I've seen one of that mail in junk mails i believe, thanks for always updating
Marc_Paradise Aug 23, 2012 at 1:37 pm
To clarify, this won't do anything to your BB if you open it on your BB. You have to open it on your Windows desktop.
Revord Aug 23, 2012 at 3:59 pm
So is that from personal experience :)
Revord Aug 23, 2012 at 3:59 pm
So is that from personal experience :)
Thachoc1 Aug 23, 2012 at 1:42 pm
I wonder which account is coming in on.
lev874 Aug 23, 2012 at 1:43 pm
Is it necessary for every blackberry owner to comment on this post that they "didnt" get that email? Just saying.....
FYI... I DIDN'T get the email (lol)
lev874 Aug 23, 2012 at 1:44 pm
Yep... still no email like that!!!
southlander Aug 23, 2012 at 3:37 pm
So the important question -- what does it DO to one's phone?
Heavens1 Aug 23, 2012 at 7:30 pm
+1
edyb Aug 23, 2012 at 10:11 pm
Yes, just wondering if the attachment is loaded with some kind of "executable code" or "Script" that BB devices somehow recognize and run automatically? I know that sometimes you can get your BB to automatically open AppWorld to a specific app, if it opens a website that has a properly formed appworld link.
Or is the attachment simply a "social-engineering" type of exploit, or "phishing" attack where it asks you to enter password and user information?
Any clue on the nature of the attachment and what it will do on your BB phone?
kozmo68 Aug 24, 2012 at 9:05 am
And what should one do if you think you've downloaded a corrupt ID?!?!? Any suggestions I think my wife has had this happen on her torch.
Rootbrian Aug 25, 2012 at 8:10 pm
You cannot "download" BlackBerry ID, only the .cod file is corrupt. Reload the OS to replace it.