Press Release: Research In Motion previews BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.0 at CES 2012

BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.0
By Kevin Michaluk on 9 Jan 2012 09:17 am EST
80
loading...
132
loading...
167
loading...

CES 2012 is just kicking off in Las Vegas, and if you've been wondering what Research In Motion will be displaying at the show we now know the answer. While the release date is still set for February, RIM will be showing off BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.0, which brings with it a TON of long-waited feature enhancements that are going to make the BlackBerry PlayBook **THAT** much better.  In addition to the expected native email and calendar, some other surprises are there, including my favorite - the ability to use your BlackBerry Smartphone as a remote control for your PlayBook. Yes, you can actually use that beautiful keyboard from the Bold 9900 to type on the PlayBook (this was one of those killer features I saw when I was down in Waterloo this past summer). Keep reading for full details and stay tuned to CrackBerry as we bring you back LOTS of hands-on content this week live from the show!

Press Release

RIM Previews BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.0 at CES

LAS VEGAS, NEVADA--(Marketwire - Jan. 9, 2012) - (CES 2012) - This week at the Consumer Electronics Show (CES), Research In Motion (RIM) (NASDAQ:RIMM)(TSX:RIM) will be previewing new features of BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.0 that will enable customers to stay even more connected and productive in their personal and professional lives.

"BlackBerry PlayBook is already recognized for delivering powerful performance, true multi-tasking, advanced web browsing and HD multimedia in an ultra-portable design," said Mike Lazaridis, President and Co-CEO at Research In Motion. "With BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.0 we are building on this strong foundation, as well as leveraging our strengths in communications, social integration and productivity, to allow people to use their BlackBerry PlayBook in new ways throughout the day."

CES 2012 attendees who visit the BlackBerry booth at CES (South Hall 3 Booth # 30326) will get a sneak peek of upcoming BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.0 functionality including:


Advanced Messaging Experience:

  • New unified inbox - a powerful unified inbox within the built-in messaging app allows users to quickly manage their personal email and work email accounts as well as the messaging capabilities of popular social networking sites like Twitter®, LinkedIn® and others - all in one place.
  • Multi-tasking within email - by extending the BlackBerry PlayBook tablet's multitasking capabilities to 'tabbed email', users are able to reference one email while they compose another.
  • Rich-text email composing and editing - new features within the Messages app enable users to benefit from full support of fonts, formatting and editing of email threads, offering a robust email experience similar to that of a PC or laptop.
  • Inbox management tools - allows for powerful inbox search across multiple email accounts, as well as the ability to set out-of-office messages and email signatures directly from their tablet.

Deep Integration of Social Relationships:

  • Innovative people-centric calendar - in addition to standard calendar features that help users plan and organize their day, the powerful built-in Calendar app provides the unique ability for users to view their calendar by who they are meeting with that day and review valuable information about that contact. Information is consolidated automatically from social networking sites about that contact and/or their company.
  • Relationship-centric contacts app - more than just an address book, the new built-in Contacts app serves as a social hub - merging and consolidating information from multiple sources (including email and social channels) into one contact file for each person in their address book. Each contact file includes information such as recent status updates, conversations, related news articles and mutual contacts that are kept up-to-date automatically.

Making Your BlackBerry Smartphone and Tablet a Powerful Pair:

  • Remote control for the BlackBerry PlayBook - new BlackBerry Bridge features allow a user's BlackBerry smartphone to act as a keyboard and mouse for their BlackBerry PlayBook - effectively providing a wireless remote control for their tablet. Perfect for pausing a movie when a BlackBerry PlayBook is plugged in to a TV with an HDMI connection, or for using the tactile QWERTY keyboard on a BlackBerry smartphone to compose a message or document on the BlackBerry PlayBook.
  • Opening content on the BlackBerry PlayBook - BlackBerry Bridge allows you to take documents, emails, multimedia files and web pages found on your smartphone and open them quickly and directly on the BlackBerry PlayBook so you can use the larger high resolution display for an optimized viewing and editing experience.

Improved Mobile Productivity:

  • Updated document editing capabilities - updated Documents To Go® functionality makes it easier for users to create and edit documents while on the go. Improvements include: enhanced support for the virtual keyboard, the ability to view and update embedded charts and chart sheets within spreadsheets, a new formula wizard with over 100 functions as well as the ability to edit presentations including text, bullets and formatting.
  • Print To Go application - this app allows users to wirelessly "print" from their laptop or PC directly to their BlackBerry PlayBook over Wi-Fi®. A digital printout is created on the BlackBerry PlayBook so that users can view, sort and manage their digital printouts as though they were physical sheets of paper. The Print To Go app is the perfect way to consolidate info from various related sources like a hotel web confirmation, an airline boarding pass email, the show event schedule or even a map of the destination city and make them available for quick access on the go.
  • Increased control and manageability of corporate data - the combination of BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.0 with BlackBerry Mobile Fusion and BlackBerry Balance will help to overcome many barriers to widespread tablet deployment, including device manageability and the ability to secure, manage and control confidential corporate information on the device. Plus BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.0 supports dedicated shelf space inside the BlackBerry App World storefront to allow IT departments to control distribution of enterprise applications and to make those approved enterprise applications easily available to the organization's end users.

New Apps and Content:

  • Your favorite apps plus thousands more - many exciting new applications built for the BlackBerry PlayBook will be made available on BlackBerry App World with the availability of BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.0. From gaming and lifestyle to business and productivity, RIM is showcasing some of the latest apps available for the BlackBerry PlayBook at CES 2012 including Angry Birds, Cut the Rope, Groupon, Thomson Reuters, Zinio and many more.
  • Video store - a catalog of thousands of movies and TV shows will be available through the integrated BlackBerry Video Storefront* with new releases to be made available for purchase or rent the same day they come out on DVD. Users will be able to begin watching media as soon as they start to download the file, so users won't have to wait for the entire file to transfer before they can enjoy great entertainment on the tablet's high resolution display, or on an HDTV via the BlackBerry PlayBook tablet's HDMI output.
  • Enhanced web browsing - the BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.0 browser also includes a new reading view, which is designed to make web sites even easier to enjoy by eliminating page clutter at the touch of a button. What's left is a cleaner format that is great for reading online news articles, blog posts, or websites that contain heavy amounts of text.

Availability

The BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.0 software update will be available as a free download for all BlackBerry PlayBook users and is expected to be available in February 2012.

  • BlackBerry Video Store will initially be available in the United States. Support for other countries is expected to be added later this year.
262 comments

shebmiller

Off to a good start. If they can keep releasing updates and features on a bi-monthly basis, the PlayBook will keep rising in the tablet world.

ianbordas

OMG! All these cool features will make my beautiful PB even more awesome!!! Can't wait!!!!! The ball is on your side RIM, BRING IT in 2012!!!!!!

mfreedmn97

Sorry to be 'negative' but YAY...Angry Frickin Birds ? Cut the Cord ? Groupon ? How about SKYPE, NETFLIX, BLOOMBERG, SONOS ? Real apps. With real world applications. If I wanted a toy to play games with I'd buy an Ipa.....er, Xbox.

shebmiller

my thoughts exactly... no word on Netflix and silverlight, no word on a proper and offical Drop Box app, no word on skype... this is why I'm upset. Also, no word on android app support? Or did I just read over that bit?

:::: UPDATE ::::

I also noticed no notes on file format support and further bluetooth support for wireless multimedia connectivity.

Thunderbuck

A2DP is already supported in the 2.0 developer preview. No reason at all to believe it wouldn't make the release.

I've heard that .mkv files are apparently supported in the 2.0 preview; haven't confirmed that.

Do you REALLY care about an official Drop Box app? Facebook didn't have an "official" iPhone app for, what, 2 years? There are a couple of reasonably functional clients.

Agreed, Skype and Netflix would be great. There have been rumors on announcements on both, though.

SixYearBlackberryUser

Ditto! If I wanted to play games I would get a device for games. Skype and Silverlight would be nice!

ianbordas

True SKYPE is a MUST!!

But what can you do with Silverlight that so special?

adokis

why is netflix something that RIM has to ensure is part of the updates?

Clearly the hardware and software is capable of handling video etc - maybe get on netflix about the lack of support on BB Playbook.

scalemaster34

RIM needs Netflix.... Netflix doesn't really need RIM. RIM should be going to Netflix and asking (or begging) them how they could help them build an application.

drecar

why is netflix relevant or required if there will be a video store available to pb?

shebmiller

because I already pay for Netflix and I can watch it on my PC and PS3...

Blackberry_boffin

Then it's your problem that you bought a PB. Go back to your PC/PS3.

drecar

oh, me too. however ive been patiently waiting for bbvs so i can cancel netflix. im not satisfied with the content.

blue-b

How do you know that they have not, keep bugging netflix. I already cancelled my account with them and told them I'm not coming back until they have playbook support. I certainly don't need netflix, and made it clear if they want my money they have to step up.

rickkel

I too think this is the way it needs to be done. So far I cancelled AAA (Auto Club) because they decided to only make their app for iPhone and Android, skipping over BlackBerry. I was with them for 24 years so I got a call from their Client Retention Department. She got an earful and asked "what we could do to keep your business..."? I told her make a BlackBerry app, then told her to cancel my 24 year membership. She didn't know what to say.

I have sent several emails to other companies too. Netflix, Consumer Reports, Cox Communications and our local newspaper and PBS to name a few. I told them if they don't have a BlackBerry app in one year, those memberships will go too.

I believe this is the only way to get it done. It's all about $$$.

PLTM

totally agree. I dont care for apple or android and it is insulting that for me to be paying my hard earn money to these companies and cant enjoy the luxuries that apple and android user do. It is my choice of device and i use the one that is productive to me. BB is productive for me and i expect if im paying my money, i get all the same benefits apple and android users get using the device of MY choice.

williamsbh76

We all have a choice but with any choice has sacrifice. I have been a big fan of RIM from the since I got my first smartphone but the letdowns have continued to come in landslide form from them. When companies have no problem building apps for other platforms, should we really blame the company releasing the app or should we look at the hardware that cannot carry it? ie- Netflix works on almost any iOS,Droid, Wii, PS3, Xbox, PC, Mac, and just about any half a$$ blueray player on the market.... but not on any RIM device. Who is at fault? You name just about any app in existence that exists on all the other platforms but RIM devices and again, who is to blame? I am Playbook owner and I have faith that it has the best operating system and comperable hardware to any tablet out there, iPad included but without the ability to be more that an internet browser, run mobile office document, and play a few games it will never rank with Apple or Android devices. The most basic thing I need for my business is a calendar that syncs with Gmail and it is sad that I have to rely on my ipad 2 to be my workhorse in the field at my job because my PlayBook can't provide this basic function that any $100 crap Android tablet can. Oh, and it is nice to be able to watch TV when I have 30-60 minutes of downtime during the day. Yes "people" are fickle and go for bells and whistles, but "people" buy devices with their hard earned money. And those dollars spent keep the businesses in business. The only way to get those dollars spent is give users a reason to buy your product and in the tablet market that reason is apps, content, and basic functionality. Who is to blame? Where there is smoke there is fire and there is a lot of smoke coming from RIM. I want them to succeed but I refuse to buy another device from any carrier and pay the money I have to pay for the device, to my wireless provider, and home/business internet provider only to be limited on what it can do by the manufacturer of the device itself. The last I checked, no wireless carrier was offering a discount on my monthly service just because my device doesn't have the app I want and it ain't the wireless provider's fault! Why should anyone sacrifice anymore than we have to?

Kevstra

Just because RIM has had some issues, doesn't mean they are to blame for the lack of a Netflix or Skype app. RIM produced a platform that is more than capable of running Netflix or Skype software, and there are a decent number of people using the device that would utilize that software. The problem is these companies seemingly refuse to support BlackBerry hardware. Perhaps they just need to be convinced many of their customers could use that support.

williamsbh76

I understand what you mean but I still think a lot of the problem is RIM. The BB phone OS is so aged and running too much basic JAVA crap to ever have the support that most apps require. Have you ever looked at Google Voice on a Berry compared to a Droid or Apple device? It is a really sad comparison. As for Netflix, the other day I read a post where a user called Netflix to see what the issue was with the Playbook getting Netflix and was told that "Netflix is in negotiations with RIM." I decided to try this for myself and got the same answer. The customer service agent refused to elaborate. Take it as you will, and considering that RIM freely gives out the dev tools, it looks bad for Netflix. But, Netflix, despite all of its epic fail would surely not want to piss off Playbook owners, especially when the PB rolled out and was slated to be a major iPad competitor in the beginning. The problem is Silverlite compatibility which is required to run netflix so who's responsibility is it to get Silverlight on the PB, I'm thinking RIM since it has to be built into the OS. As for Skype and other apps, who can say who needs to bend to get us these apps? Maybe RIM's reputation of poor app capabilities has made developers hesitant to work on PB apps until they see what the tablet is going to do. All I am saying is there is enough blame to go around but RIM looks the worst considering all of it's fails over the last couple of years added with the fact that these developers have had no problems on the other major platforms.

steve911

You're not making much sense bud.

SixYearBlackberryUser

Silverlight allows you to watch certain live tv (like morning news shows)offered on the internet from those TV stations. Other stations allow you to watch programming without silverlight.

ianbordas

Ohh okay so it's another format that competes with Flash? Well, then I hope they also allow Silverlight, the more formats the PB can handle the better!!!

123berryaddicted

Also silverlight is used often in the corporate world, as it ties in with ms sharepoint

Thunderbuck

Silverlight support is starting to fade, though, and Microsoft isn't showing a lot of enthusiasm for supporting it.

What LOOKS most likely is that HTML5 will replace both Flash and Silverlight in the long run.

captain_tinker

For me, Remote Potato. The main interface website runs off of Silverlight. It makes it much easier to navigate the page. Trying to use the old HTML mobile site that doesn't have all the options I need is very difficult to use on the playbook.

joelled

oh hush up!You act as if its only up toRIM to make these as! If both skype and netflix are taking eternity to support the playbook what do you want RIM to do? Hold back the release of their update?? You're not even sure if these are all the changes coming so freaking relax and be happy!!

diegonei

People seem to think RIM is the one to blame, saying "no, no! don't develop an app for our devices! we need you not!"...

That's a shortsighted and missinformed point of view to say the least.

If you want netflix, skype, sugarsync or any other app to come, sound off where the devs can here. Not here.

mckillio

I suggest you and anyone else that wants these apps barrage these companies with emails, showing our support for the PB. I have for a few apps but not as much as I should.

RHCE

Rim doesn't own those companies, so there is much they can do.

ajst222

I will admit it..yes. There definitely needs to be apps such as those that Android and Apple have. SKYPE AND AIM ARE BIG ONES FOR ME!!

AlETabooger

I have a Playbook and an IPad 2 and all I have to say is... RIM has disappointed me again!

Here I come IPhone!

mscooley

Am I missing the Android player in the list of features?

Rootbrian

WHY DON'T YOU CALL/E-MAIL/POSTAL MAIL AND URGE SKYPE AND NETFLIX TO MAKE AN APP FOR THE BLACKBERRY PLAYBOOK?!?! IT TAKES A MOVEMENT TO GET A COMPANY TO DO IT, SO IF YOU DON'T DO ANYTHING AT ALL, YOU WON'T BE HEARD!!! JUST CALL/MAIL THEM AND TELL THEM YOU WANT A DAMN APP!

Damn. That is all.

NickA

So they are sticking with OS 2.0 for the PB and not BB 10?? Who cares what they call it though, at least it's going to be available in February like they said (hopefully). But I'm not holding my breath.

Thunderbuck

"BB10" refers to the phone variant of QNX, not the tablet's OS.

mattBAM

Not 100% true... Alec Saunders pointed out a few months back that BBX (Now BB10) is the ONE platform, so I think a lot of people naturally are awaiting a renaming from PB OS 2.0 to BB10... Personally though, I want BB10 scrapped because technically the QNX OS (Which is basically the same from phone to tab from my understanding) is at 2.0, but it would sound funny to say "Yeah I'm running BB10 2.0" (at least in my mind).

netviper

Can't wait for this one.

vistate1

they listened...now all they need to do is deliver.

Im excited.

Malachi.2.15

woohoo!!! the blackberry remote control is going to be awesome! I can't wait!!!

morpho4444

Maaan! can u imagine... having the playbook hooked to hdmi to the TV and using the BB 9900 as the remote control for watching movies and all kind of crazy shit!!!!

imcurved

I hooked it up with my TV (http://youtu.be/m8jB0GIa7Xo) for my mom to watch online tv dramas and it's awesome. The only thing is every time the new episode loads, it minimizes the screen so she has to walk over and maximize the screen. I was thinking about getting a bluetooth mouse for that so the remote control using the BlackBerry phone feature is a big hooray.

Thunderbuck

Yes!!

This sounds fantastic! More than expected, in fact. (Yay, Zinio!!!)

falosmic

Sounds awesome !!! woohhoooo!!!!! But the most important thing is they deliver on time!!!! No delays and disappointing again

KRol

ooh hold on here! Don't be so sure... We are not in February yet... Remember in September they were still saying they were going to release after DevCon?
Nothing is certain yet.
I still cant wait and I really hope they don't drop the ball

scott.slater

Wow, that is quite a list of new features. I can see why they had to delay it, this will be like getting a whoe new tablet actually.

ippyg

It definitely is! While people have to spend $499+, each year to buy a new tablet, BlackBerry gives us a free update and BAM! Brand new! :D Score for TeamBlackBerry!

hispanola

Maybe with Android tablets, but not the iPad. iOS 5 was a free update for my first edition iPad. Not to mention that the OS 2.0 update is months late! I can only hope RIM finally delivers.

bitek

i start thinking that 16GB might not be big enough anymore. pb might become small nuclear power house with this update !

ryanlrobinson

That's why I switched up to a 64GB a month or two ago (wish I had waited for the current $300 sales). A lot of native games weigh in at ~500MB, the videostore will mean more media on there regularly, enough other features will get me using it more like a laptop so all my documents will probably end up on there...

Azeron

I concur. RIM WINS!

jaiello1986

Sounds great!! Bring it onnnnnn

Ecks

I hope this really does happen in Feb 2012.

Thunderbuck

The word is that RIM is preparing for a February 17 launch.

mrufhayes

They have a lot of catching up to do. Apps!!! They need to find a way to use the sync data plan from phone to Playbook.

Deathcommand

Dream come trueeeee. <33

koool1

I hope it's all really coming this time. My heart sank in the fall when it didn't, I was so mad I went out and bought an iPad.

I really hoped RIM had a Playbook 2 announcement also.

edwinsberry

Honestly, if they had a Playbook 2 announcement before I get my 2.0, then I would be ticked.

VishRS

All features are superb. But why won't they make OS2 available to all countries at one time? :/
Means India will get this update later. :( Ok anyways, I can wait. And I think i'll definitely buy a BB phone for full fledged fun. :D

highos

Where are you reading that? The only thing not going to be available everywhere is BlackBerry Video. The OS2 software should come out for everyone at the same time.

diegonei

But that's part of the problem buddy. I'm in Brasil, I see all the local bands and singers in the Music Store... yet... Can't buy songs there because I am not in NA.

Same goes for BB Podcasts both on handhelds and tablets. BBM is still restricted to a handful of countries. BB Traffic sings the same tune.

RIM needs to deliver... Fast... And worldwide. How do they expect to provide an ecosystem if the experience varies this badly from country to country?

lonnieo

so nice, but is there Chinese input integrated? love to see the function of remote control with BB

kenchang83

if still not supported by PB, maybe we can type on BB phones and get it transferred to PB via remote control, just like what we do with ipad and apple tv?

seemsixty7

This is Awesome!!! I was so hoping they would allow me to use my 9900 as a keyboard and mouse for my PB. SWEET!

Joe257

EXCELLENT!!! I thought RIM would again have missed the boat at CES with a no-show! This is great news, especially since there is nothing happening with the next gen devices. I refuse to call them BB10 devices as that name stinks!

They do need to hit these target dates for these big events to get free press!!! CES is a great opportunity to show their new gear or share their plans for 2012, without giving too much away.

If RIM keeps this up, this will be a fantastic year for them with lots of great announcements :)

RWD

I love what I read. (Zinio finally!) Now all I want to know, is this Feb 1, or Feb 28th? It better not be Feb 30th...

ryanlrobinson

I think what probably excites me the most is using my Bold as a remote control for typing. A much-called-for feature and they listened. It might have previously been the video store but the asterisk says it is only available in US at launch so I'll have to delay my excitement on that.

sashas

I noticed there is no mention of the Android Player...

willm

my thought exactly. I'm hoping they didn't want the word "Android" in their Press Release and that the Player is really what they were refering to in the bit about the expanded App Store offerings. We'll see I guess...

I can't help but worry that RIM is going to delay it's release because they can't get the bugs worked out.

mattBAM

I'm already running a fairly bug free Android player in the 2.0 Beta.. but I'm not running a calendar, so my guess is Android player is definitely included, but they count is as "expanded AppWorld offerings"

undone

Someone with marketing sense must have been walking the halls with a bat daring someone to mention another platform in nay press release....lol

MiataMike

yep, no mention. I am bummed. For weeks have been enjoying Android Market on rooted 4869. Running free and paid apps no problem. Suddenly stopped downloading and I lost root trying to fix it.... Guess I better learn how to convert apk to bar
Sickens me to see everyone happy about Angry Birds or using cellphone keyboard. Howabout enabling the tablet keyboard options so can use alternative keyboards like Handwriting recognition or speech to text.

TheScionicMan

Because it's built in to the OS. It's not supposed to be a standalone item and for most people, they won't really know if they are loading an AP app or a PB app from AppWorld nor will it matter.

alexkinsella

Hi @sashas,

Alex from RIM here. Just want to jump in quickly to clarify that BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.0 does include the Android runtime. We’re going to have more news and announcements coming from CES 2012 throughout the week, so make sure you keep an eye on our Inside BlackBerry Blog for the latest: http://bbry.lv/cWR2rg.

Cheers,
Alex, RIM Social Media Team

Kiddo2050

Sounds Super, now RIM get some high class ads going!!

PB is a failure in the publics eyes, If this stuff is really going to be and working then invest in a super high-quality ad campaing that EXPLAINS all this tuff is there.

Siiid

let the playbook shine

yonyon.ca

is there any news about new lang support?
Hebrew ect.... ??

si_chindo

woow thatts quite a nice list...not to be greedy but a native teleconferencing app would be great.

Delirious D

SICK! omg i cant wait!

lgmarines

Great job, RIMM! I'm exited for the new features. Can't wait!

BB_Bmore

No mention of the Android app player? Everything sounds wonderful but are they going to scrap the android app player? This all still sounds so good though. I like using my device as a keyboard and the new messagers app with social integration ooh and something about mirroring websites from the device to the playbook sounds awesome. Although we have something like that with bridge it sounds as if they improved it and I can't wait to check it out!!!  for life!!!

pfe1223

So RIM is getting a video store. It looks as though they are starting to build out a true ecosystem. This, in my opinion, is a huge key to future success. The other major platforms are all built in conjunction with a multifaceted ecosystem. This is a step in the right direction. I hope other elements of their ecosystem are rolled out this year so PlayBook users can beta test before the BB10 devices hit the market.

Detective M Downs

I wish RIM would use/tie-in the BBID for all these media stores (Kobo, Music Store, App World, Video Store, etc)for seemless intergration.

diegonei

You are absolutely right. I forgot to mention that on my comment.

Disparishun

Or at least BB Music and BBM Music (Omnifone) and 7digital! It is kind of confusing. It would be nice if you could port all of your BB Music and 7digital-cloud songs over to BBM Music, and simply pick any 20 to share to others within those. I guess it would have to be kind of like a Match service, where any songs that got matched you could pick as your share songs.

PLTM

Next Update hopefully, but they are off to a damn good start to playbook gold.

diegonei

Well they already have 7digital on the phones and tabled (Music Store). Video Store is coming. AppWorld is there for apps (for better or worse). Kobo is also on both, so books are covered (people can always use Kindle app on phones and Cloud Reader on the PB). We have BlackBerry Podcasts on both as well (PB's v1 stinks, v2 is on pair with the device's).

The problem I see is... Right. Fragmentation. None of those apps come preinstalled on the devices and they do not bear the BlackBerry sign (besides podcasts). RIM should sign a few deals and have it all routed through a revamped AppWorld: BlackBerry Store. Get your podcasts, apps, books, videos, songs... All in one place.

And cloud storage wouldn't be bad either (Maybe they should buy SugarSync.. That would force them to build an app for the PlayBook and fix the one for the devices).

diegonei

And make it all worldwide while you're at it! g'deemit. ><

Disparishun

Agree. Of all companies, RIM is one of the most obvious to roll out a corporate-friendly, secured file cloud service -- I mean, they already basically operate as a cloud service for messaging. Never mind SugarSync, how about OpenText!

diegonei

OpenText sounds great, but I was talking cloud storage, which is what 90% of the people out there will use.

But true, for the 10% that do make the most of the Internet, if RIM could provide something like OpenText, that would be truly wow-worth.

barkomatic

I feel that with this update they are finally catching up to the beginning of 2011. Hopefully, RIM is saving some additional cool features of OS2 later that will make it competitive in 2012.

diegonei

I am worried about the new Documents to Go really... Word to Go on the PB is ok, but the rest of the suit stinks. If they can make it at least on pai with the phone version, then we'd have a winner...

eabmex

You hitted the nail at the head!

That have been my biggest complaint with my PB, They need a version that is at least equal to 3.0, The current version is only a viewer and whoever tries to create a new spread sheet is in for some frustration!
My wife can not stop laughing at my PB and showing off her nice office application in the iP__

axllebeer

Ahh remote control. Here we go that's one of the main features I was looking for! February cannot come soon enough now! Also glad they will build it into the bridge feature and not leave it up to outside developers to create a separate app for this. I didn't read any sort of auto correct or spell check platform wide, so I sure hope this will be there too!

Boldly sent from my 9930

ps4rh

+1. Million.

Not having sensible autocorrect is the number one problem I have with the PlayBook.

teamfoster03

+1+2+3+4
ITS MUST HAVAE SPELL CHECK and Autocorrect. If it doesn't all the new stuff is mute.

TheScionicMan

Actually, it would be moot and neither spellcheck nor Autocorrect would have caught it... Don't get too reliant on technology ;)

Azeron

Hmmm...I passed on the 9930. I wonder if I should reconsider?

blue-b

I'm picking mine up next week.

OffTheTangent

All sounds great but...any news on USB on the go/USB host capability?

berry_addict

Great news ! Being able to use the 9900 keybord to type on the PB ! Ever since I got my PB I was hoping for that !

Blackberry is slowly but surely getting up ! The best is yet to come.

Abrante

All I really needed to make me happy was a2dp support... Since 2.0 Beta users have reported that it is on it all this extra stuff is a plus :o)... If it pans out, most of us will be happy.

Foppa_21

I think this actually makes the waiting harder now

doxa sub750T

Very exciting news...I do hope that more languages will be added with this update. Can't wait :-)

Livadi77

Good news....
But no news for:

DLNA certification
USB mass storage
Android player
Support new languages

Kiddo2050

All the news apps are because of the Android player, they aren't written for the PB. RIM just ins't using that term. It's confusing because you won't be able to go to the Android store and download apps for PB.

avaio

really??? angry birds for the PB that costs 4.99 is for the app-player?

jonp

I also really want DLNA and USB host capability - any word on these?

vasilisiou

Great news.!!! RIM.....do something about Skype Please.....!!!!!

FranzJoseph

I`m so excited for the Print To Go feature! :D

RWWackostu

Please let this be early in Feb! My PB is crying out for this update!

sagec

Netflix? Anyone? hellooooooooo???

diegonei

If you want NetFlix, complain to NetFlix.

gadgetsMcGoo

I wish f'ing SlingMedia would wake up as well. LOLZ

4speed

I called Netflix, they said Playbook support is in the works and will available in the near future :)

Thunderbuck

No kidding... That would be amazingly cool.

There's just the outside chance that will be announced at CES. There's also the chance that RIM would hold that announcement back to coincide with a "Playbook Reboot" on the 2.0 OS release.

StikiGreenZ

An impressive list of features. Can't wait for Feb!

Kiddo2050

The BlackBerry PlayBook OS 2.0 software update will be available as a free download for all BlackBerry PlayBook users and is expected to be available in February 2012.

expected... oh no... it's the old RIM....why can't they give us a date??????????????????????

the brother

Happy Monday! These are exciting times we live in...what is the name of the 'BB as a PB remote app' called? Or is it an extention of the existing Bridge app?

lnichols

"Expected February 2012". Already wording it to give them an out if they can't deliver. Again RIM put up or shut up. You should have released these features in September, and now should be releasing these features with CES if you are showing them off there. Deliver!!!!

deadzone8

Wonder if part of the new messaging features will included SMS via Bridge since that would be extremely helpful. I know there is an App but I'll wait till OS 2.

jonp

I agree - that would be really nice. Was looking at the SMS app but was hoping it would come with OS 2.

tonyron227

I like the news about all the features being added and I am grateful for what will be introduced in February. The other features not mentioned, like Android Player, will be a plus if they ever get it perfected but I will not cry about what is not coming at that time. Go RIM! You rock!!!

coolcut

BRING ON THE VIDEOS!!! I need to see this remote control in action!!!

BBOttawa

From the press release:
"Your favorite apps plus thousands more -"

That to me sounds like Android apps, they just don't want to call them that, as they come from the BB App World, they will be branded as Playbook apps.

At least I'm hoping!

the brother

Are MSN Messenger and Yahoo Messenger coming too?

segunnatural

When cat is sick,iRat is made the king.iRat runnnn !!! Cat is getting better...

crackd11

excuse me... i must on the wrong site... i've never seen so many positive comments.

awesome!!

segunnatural

When cat was sick,the town had no option but to make iRat the king.......iRat runnnnnn !!!! Cat is getting better and returning to town....

rashad82

RIM is upto a good start in 2012. thats what i need to hear. in bar with the rest.

koool1

2012 just can't be any worse.

TommyZeeMan

TommyZeeMan
freshly cracked

things that make you go hmmmm.... lots of whoop dee doo over the remote app... if you happen to own a bb phone but no mention of android player, handling zip files, arrow keys on key board or any of the other ”gee, I wish they'd fix that” things peeps have been commenting about. Since I don't use a bb phone it doesn't sound all that impressive to me. If it will allow android apps then rim should have stated so clearly in the press release. After all isn't that what everyone's been waiting for?

Azeron

"After all isn't that what everyone's been waiting for?"

No. Not me. I DO own a Blackberry so I am VERY impressed by the Blackberry Bridge. I guess this device just isn't for you. So sad.

advil_yum

I saw a demo of that remote control feature -- it's very slick! Use your trackpad as a mouse on the playbook, and keyboard for typing. Very cool for sitting on the couch with your phone while you're connect to a projector or TV.... or in the boardroom. :)

Ali-57

Great ... but I'm waiting for the Android player and Skype! No news?
Good job though

Vee_G

Will bluetooth tethering be improved in this update?

thecsman

I recommend you upgrade your phone OS first, my BT tethering has been flawless so far after I installed the latest 7.1.0.190. =)

The_Adventist

I bought my Dad a 16GB for Christmas through SBBCA (sigh, never again lol). After reading this article and seeing the 64GB on sale, I just bought him a 64GB and my kids get the 16GB.

So looking forward to OS2!!!

johnmarki

This is going to be awesome! I cant wait to see it in action.

guerllamo7

Movies, magazines, books, full flash web, native e-mail, great size, great speakers, great cameras and screen = great tablet.

I've been picking up Playbooks for everyone in my family over the months. I just got one more for the 64GB and it was for my sister but she may have to go with a hand me down as I keep the 64GB for my wife.

299.00 for a 64GB Playbook is a steal. I don't think there is a better deal out there. I ordered this Saturday from BlackBerry and ordered my accessories from CB.

Love it!

koool1

Ya- I am considering an upgrade to a 64GB. My 16 is 3/4 full already!

DagmarSchneitz6424@yahoo.com

I'm still skeptical. This Playbook looks like it's going to make my life more complicated.
http://www.geekchoice.com

musical1806

Sounds sweet, only thing missing is bluetooth audio capabilities. Would love to be able to pair it to my system without wires. Bring it on OS2 please be my valentine.......

MiataMike

I can pair my PB with bluetooth headphones and car stereos. This became possible with beta 2.0.0.6149

stevedee

I hope that the 'tactile keyboard' comment for control means that you will in fact have a real tactile on the new phones. And mouse emulation via the trackpad would be awesome as well.
I sure hope Slideshow to go will finally show WordArt and transitions, otherwise it's off to Picsel to get Smart Office which is coming soon to Playbook!

Curve 8330 CDMA (eww, I know, u/g to Torch soon!)
Winner of EA Mobile SE Playbook - rockin' it!

RWWackostu

I just had an oh Sh*t moment....... my 16G PB isnt going to be big enough........

digdah

Loving the remote control. RIM does listen, however, where is Autocorrect? Did I miss it somewhere in the list?

Darlaten

Hmmm, well for once I woke up in the morning to actually see something good about RIM. I'm impressed. Looking forward to seeing this in action.

DaedalusIcarusHelios

Rich text composing/editing! That's great, and bodes well for the BB10 phones too! This list overall really makes me geeked and it's coming next month!

edwinsberry

I read this closely and Android is not mentioned for whatever reason. I'm hoping they are couching it or still in negotiation or prep for it, but after all the hype I felt this was one of the best things to look forward to. My playbook purchase was even based somewhat on this because I love my blackberry and love the playbook, but was swayed by the promise of future support on the android side which I felt would make the playbook's versatility stand out. Don't get me wrong, I love everything that is outlined and love my torch and playbook. I don't want to root my playbook, I want professional RIM support for this, and I want it soon. Ok, ok, so I want it all. Ever hopeful about this.

mnhockeycoach99

FINALLY!!! I've been asking for functionality to use my BB as a wireless keyboard/mouse since I first got my 16GB PlayBook back in July. With the announcement of the coming features and the progress RIM is making with the PlayBook (just hopefully they execute), I'm really having a hard time not buying a 64 GB PlayBook for $299.... and giving my 16GB version to my wife.

This maybe a dumb question, but can I buy a new PlayBook and install the apps I have on my existing PlayBook onto my new one? Can I still keep/use them on my old one if I do this?

DaedalusIcarusHelios

The reason why "Android" isn't mentioned is because from an end-user's perspective, it doesn't matter, and in fact is confusing. There's no Android market - it's all through App World. Android is only relevant behind-the-scenes, for developers converting their apps. All the users will see is a large increase of available apps, which the press release mentions. So the Android player functionality will definitely be there.

edwinsberry

Thanks D for explaining that. Well said and makes sense. I don't think I had that kind of clarity on this subject.

BarracudaBob

Print To Go isn't quite what I was hoping for. Printing from my PC to my Playbook seems pointless. Printing from my Playbook to my WiFi printer is what I want. Otherwise, it seems like they have a lot of good stuff coming in February.

Jake2826

I read the press release and almost shed a tear. Thank you RIM!

El Platanero

I'm excited. I know there isn't any skype or netflix support. I think Skype is probably coming. As far as netflix, I'm not too worried with their selection. My guess is that the movies coming from RIM are going to be HD ready and they said the movies would be available upon release which netfix doesn't even offer that through their offer.

I'm curious if RIM will do something similar with the movie store as BBM Music. And while on that topic, where is BBM Music for the Playbook? I know it is co dependant with BBM but at least playback and cashe should be made available.

CarBob

RIM is really rockin'......
All good things come to those who wait! What a great way to start 2012.

THE RIMPIRE STRIKES BACK !!

- CB

pelletizer

Great news for the early believers,like myself.

davidyoungmba

Should I be buying RIMM stock now?

dbw1

Any word as to ver 2.0 fixing the "error 10000" problem that will not let some of us, myself included, purchase apps? Support has been telling me since i bought my PB in November tha ver 2.0 will rectifty this.

teamfoster03

Alll good news if they can deliver in 2012. excited to finally have zinio and the remote sounds nice. I do hope spell check and autocorrect are included and just didnt mention it as its STUPID to not have it.

always3rd

Im thuroughly excited. I cant believe all the griping going on about this or that.....guess its true, you can lead a horse to water, but cant make him drink.

ElSteve9

I wonder if the "relationship-centric" contacts app is basically Gist...they bought them somewhere around 9 months-a year ago. I'd love to see (with some small changes) this become the native contact app.

BigNL

Hope this is the start of a good year for RIM.

siddhap

Any comments on the DLNA support or the Blackberry smartphone remote is considered as the alternative for it.

Siddharth
Torch 9810
pin:28CC2775

crazylegshinch

I never quite understand the people who address questions in the comments as thought they expect answers from the press release.

Looks like some cool stuff on the way. The lack of mention of spell check troubles me. Hopefully it's just such a mundane feature that it wasn't really worth mentioning on their list of really cool stuff.

I also can't say I'm not slightly worried by the wording of "expected to be available in February 2012". It's really hard for me to not feel jaded about release dates from RIM. C'mon guys it's a leap year and everything, you have the longest possible February to get this out to the users. Let's make 2012 the year where you hit deadlines and actually start to leap-frog the competition.

White9900

I thought they would come through!

Looking forward to the remote control.

Buy one while the price is low.

bb.pl

Android player.....???? I mean seriously WTF. Are we not getting the android player...Wowwwwwwwwwwwwwwww,,,That would redefine failure.

mnhockeycoach99

Hey troll... BGR is looking for your type....

Trick_Deck

ok someone already posted this but they dont need to announce the android app player for two reasons. only developers see the "android side" of this as end users will download those apps from pb app world. also because theres no need to take the shine off of the name blackberry with android. It will be there. also someone mentioned printing from a wifi printer and im almost positive thats already able to be done isnt it?

mscooley

Very good point. Thanks for the fresh perspective.

prelude_99

From that PB survey a while back, they seem to be covering much more than I thought they would. Here is the list of survey questions for quick reference.

Rate from 1 to 10:
Print FROM the PlayBook to a printer
Print TO the PlayBook from a computer (paper replacement)
BlueTooth Stereo support (play PlayBook music through other speakers)
Cloud storage provided by RIM
Support for cloud storage by other vendors
3G / 4G connectivity
DLNA server support (push media to other DLNA devices)
DLNA client support (receive and play media pushed FROM other DLNA devices)
USB Host mode (for connecting USB devices like control devices or storage devices to the PlayBook)
Connect to network storage drives or shared folders (i.e. NAS/SAMBA)
Management of a PlayBook by a BES (BlackBerry Enterprise Server)

Using BlackBerry as a remote Keyboard and Mouse for the PlayBook
Access to SMS messages using Bridge
Access to MMS messages using Bridge
Ability to launch links on the PlayBook from the BlackBerry using Bridge
Ability to Bridge to multiple BlackBerry devices at the same time
Transfer files back and forth between a Bridged BlackBerry

Browser bookmark management (folders and sorting)
On-page text search in Browser
Bezel scrolling in the browser (slide your finger in the black bezel to scroll the page)
View PDF files directly in the Browser
Password manager in the Browser (to remember passwords when enabled)

Additional smilies / emoticons
Home screen folder organization for apps
Customized panes/pages for apps
Universal search (search web, your apps, your messages, & settings, all from one place)
Global volume control in the top ribbon (by the clock)
Global spellcheck and autocorrect
Arrow keys on the virtual keyboard
On-device file management (move/copy/delete/folder organization)
'Extended Desktop' function for HDMI, to have a different app on each screen
Notifications by blinking LED light
App scheduler (launch an app at a specific time)
Additional language support for the UI

Cross-platform Video Chat (i.e. Skype or custom app for other platforms)
FLAC audio codec support
Native BBM on PlayBook
Native Email, Calendar, and Contacts applications (with IMAP/POP3/ActiveSync support)
Native fully-featured Office applications
Access to BBM Groups on PlayBook
Native Twitter integration
Fully functional Android Player (to launch Android apps on PlayBook)
Netflix application, or Browser support for Netflix streaming
BlackBerry Maps (with online maps available over Bridge or Wi-Fi)
BlackBerry Maps (with offline maps, for use anywhere)
BlackBerry Protect for locking and locating your PlayBook remotely
An application to purchase or rent movies and TV shows

4speed

Save e-mail attachments via browse folder of your choice

Slow Cowboy

I am a Playbook owner as of Christmas. Love the device so far, but I do not have a Blackberry phone. Anyone know how the updates will affect the capabilities of the Playbook for me without the phone? I am with ATT and have a Windows phone (which, to be truthful, I also love)...

mnhockeycoach99

You will get native email, calendar, etc. on your PlayBook.. glad to hear you are a non-BB device owner and still love your PlayBook.. I own a BB device but still think the PlayBook is fantastic.

Slow Cowboy

Great. I look forward to the changes... The PB is limiting without that, but still a great device.

artie

Keeps getting better and better.

Syrous44

OMG! I am finally convinced to get a playbook. I knew waiting to get a tablit would be a good idea. Hopfully RIM is finally back an track and they will hit some grand slams this year. Now don't go and f anything up to take away from this like not releasing it in Fabuary, that would screw RIM bad.

Elyssa_38

All these new updates seriously make me want to buy a 64gig Playbook damm.. We will wait and see how good the update is LOL or hoping the sales continue

mmcpher

From the day Amazon released the first Kindle, which I immediately bought, I wished for this "remote control" intergration between a tablet and a smartphone. I am nut enough to have actually emailed both RIM and Amazon wayback when asking them to partner up to make a tablet that would work like that with my Blackberry handheld. It hasn't exactly been smooth sailing since then, but its nice to see the idea has arrived. I had a choice between a 9810 slider phone (which I really loved) and a 9900 with its sublime physical keyboard. I gave up the slider and the bigger screen in the 9810 for the 9900 in no small measure based on my hope/guess that the Playbook OS 2.0 would finally allow this. Of course there just has to be spell check/autocorrect, and there either needs to be a lot more file customization or universal searching. But so far as android, I don't read the release as precluding it, but its hardly the measuring stick by which I will judge 2.0. I've been through the beta 2.0's and have successfully installed and launched Android apps, but eventually downgraded back to 1.08. The true Playbook Apps have been steadily improving to the point where I don't have a morbid interest in accessing the bazillion android apps, the majority of which are of dubious utility and quality. IMHO.

morpho4444

I dont wanna read all that.. my opinion is clear, Kindle is not better than Playbook, you got better stuff on Hardware and Software than kindle fire in case you were talking about the kindle fire

hispanola

Hardware wise the Playbook is better (more advanced) then the Kindle. Software wise it's the opposite. The Kind has the rich media content of Amazon and the Android OS and it's many more apps. While this OS update may improve the Playbook, it does not bring it on par with the Kindle yet.

morpho4444

the only software advantage you are mentioning is multimedia. I disagree.. there are advantages tied to the hardware that kindle will never have... such as videochat... 1080p recording and mandy moore.

r0v3rT3N

The force is strong within this release!

molson0

Twas the night before CES
and Jimmy was heard

killing 2 pigs for mikey
with 1 angry bird

"its BBX micheal" I'll say it again
"Jimmy, we're getting sued, so It's BBX(10)

Updates in summer ,with email & pin
The longest damn August , that there's ever been

share prices dropping, but plenty of loot
our playbooks are secure, but here is the root

"we'll sell lots for that cheap", "at least with some luck"
and if THAT won't fix RIM, "we'll work for a buck"

OS5, OS6, Theme Building's fun,
"but no building themes for our 7.1"

We'll blame liquid graphics, our new little trick,
the new TB7,to Theme all your Bricks

From CES this year, from a RIM fan boi
Id like native email, and Theme Building joy.

Id like hulu,netflix, and 5 more of them
But today I will settle,

for a new BBM.

mfreypga

Any word on the Bluetooth keyboard/ case combo???

npunk42

"updated Documents To Go® functionality"
I hope that translates to " Documents To Go® updated to be functional"

Azeron

Wow! Just in time to take advantage of my 64GB Playbook! I was somewhat concerned that the $299 price tag might mean an end to RIM supporting the device and delivering on its promises. This Blackberry Bridge just gets better and better.

anthogag

Any new features for the camera?

zoban

Would love to see another Beta release with a few more features..(Who of us wouldn't I guess)

But seriously a beta along the lines of an Advanced User Target compared to the current Developer target.

jaspergrizzly

Great news. I'm hoping that the print-to-go app will expand in future to allow wifi or BT printing to a host of popular printers in the market, rather than just converting and transferring docs and such for use on the PB. Can't wait till Feb :)

lexisnight

Holy *bleep*! This is more like it. I'm still with my PB to the very end but I seriously needed this pick me up.

mypearl1

Would it be that hard to develop a nice free VOIP app like skype or Google voice?

jairomoreira

Screw RIM if they can't deliver on Netflix and Skype!

ezrunner

Aspiring BlackBerry Expert
PIN: 23D39B3C
Netflix and Skype must develop the apps RIM has no control contact those two and show support for PB and if enough of us do they may develop them

diegonei

Jairo, amigão... It's not up to RIM. You don't expect MicroSoft to go and build FaceTime for Windows do you?

Can't expect RIM to do much there either with those two...

MichealBerry

It is RIM's fault for releasing a half ready PB that nobody bought. No incentive for outfits like Skype or Netflix to build apps for it. You all keep saying Netflix is not relevant or ols school, however, it has been referenced here a lot. As crappy as it may be, people do want it.

mnhockeycoach99

Really? Screw Toyota if Shell can't deliver gas to fill it up?

Justice 005

Finally, I've jumped in the pool too! Just purchased a 64GB Playbook on Saturday, and I'm waitling for it to come in. I'm a berry family in that 4 out of my 5 immediate family members have BBs. I am so looking forward to using the Playbook's updated Doc to Go features and the presentation features with my BB for a remote. I'm glad that RIM is finally realizing that their current customer base should be important to them. I am currently enjoying using my Old 9650 with the latest version of 6, for I am not much for hype. I enjoy being able to recieve a call and being able to switch applications while on the call (calendar, memo pad, etc.), so for me multitasking is a must. It is my hope that I can still do this with the 2.0 update. Also, for many of us that keep their devices for longer than two years, I hope RIM understands that it is more about your devices being really functional and useful than something to hype about. I'm hoping that I will be able to use Citrix Receiver1.0 and enter my alpha-numeric passcode with my RSA token to access my corporate gateway.

Tules

I don't want RIM to rush this... Just that they are showing progress is amazing!

AggreX

We should be thankful there is an upgrade of this magnitude coming OTA for all PB owners. Some have been very quiet and patient while others have been very vocal and possibly lost some faith...be humble and get ready to rumble with the power of PB OS2!!

Yandar

Quote "BlackBerry Video Store will initially be available in the United States. Support for other countries is expected to be added later this year."

So bloody typical!

Andrew4life

Where is USB ON THE GO!!!???

ajst222

Sweet! This is great news...the fact its up and running and is basically complete is great. Just wish they could get it to phones faster :/

Chadissocool

I am so excited for this new update!
I wish it would come out now.

However, I do not understand why people are bashing and blaming RIM.
They are trying their best to satisfy customers but are encounters problems, so why are you complaining about the lack of features this time around, its better to have a little then get the rest or get the everything at the very end.

r0v3rT3N

Well said, and Thank You for saying it. You guys are blaming RIM for now having Skype and Netflix. It's not RIM's fault, I guess this is what they get trying to please the consumers?

Bret61081

Wasn't all this ment to come in Summer 2011? then fall 2011?...I'm not holding my breath!!

sage rat

It really does sound like the best PB news yet, but they have got to deliver this on time! I am sure RIM realizes the importance of this.

It seems like quite some time back there was news, that the word was that android apps would be marketed through App World to "assure" that only apps which would function properly and be free or malware. I think I would be OK with that. I am hoping that this IS what Lazaridis is hinting at and he is just trying to avoid using the "Android" word.

IMHO, if RIM were to give out a few free apps to the PB faithful who held on through this incredibly long wait, I think the good will would go a long way toward getting people to once again sing their praise for the PB and BB products. Just sayin'...

PLTM

Is it only me or did everyone notice that iBGR never made mention of this fantastic news from RIM. I guess if RIM didn't announce anything they would have been quick to jump down RIM throat. Oh but they made sure to let their readers know that iOS5 beta was released. LOL

These new advancement must have them shaking and wondering how to spin this to be negative.

They also reported from reliable sources that email will not be part of Playbook OS 2.0, how funny was that.

mnhockeycoach99

It is iBGR... they swing from Apple's nuts. However, it if was something blatantly negative about RIM (or relatively negative that they could easily "spin"), it would have made front page. Funny how they mysteriously got an "exclusive" months ago that RIM was discontinuing the PlayBook. Seems like RIM is putting an awful lot of time in a product they are discontinuing.. wouldn't you agree? iBGR is the National Enquirer of tech... a total joke.

sage rat

Oh by the way Kevin, thanks so much for bringing us all the info from CES. We REALLY appreciate it!

esqlaw

Is the beta finally over? We seeing the actual product!

dalek

The biggest waste of time and energy is to have Netflix as something that is needed. I am more interested in business applications and Skype.

PLTM

i agree. dont care for netflix. skype to me is more a business oriented to me. Plus netflix sucks anyway.

Did people miss the news where the movie industry is going to make netflix and redbox wait 56 days after movies come to DVD before they get access to those movies? BB Video Store will have the new movies same day they come out on DVD.

hispanola

Totally disagree. While Skype and other 'business' apps are important, RIM can't forget the entertainment aspect that is soo important to consumers. One of the biggest players in that market is Netflix. It's available on iOS devices and Android as well as Wii, XBox, and PS3. RIM, can't be the only player to not have it.

thecsman

And to celebrate I sold my almost sealed 16GB PB #2 and ordered a 64GB PB, that'd be my PB #4.

Brianflys

$349 for 64GB PlayBook on Amazon. No tax and free 2-day shipping with Prime. Sweet!

mnhockeycoach99

I purchased a 64 GB model directly from RIM for $299 today.. no shipping charge and no taxes. I could have upgraded to 2 day shipping for $20-25.. but it would still have been less than the Amazon price.. With the news, I'm replacing my 16 GB PlayBook with a bigger model (I just hope they don't come out with a bigger, better version in 6 months).

treali

skype and netflix? why does everyone want these two apps? skype is old school and netflix is yesterdays cool. bb is coming with some legit ui with 2.0 hope fully they not only release on time, but keep up with the latest tech trends to make sure the pb doesnt fizzle all the way out.

tim_w_ak

I for one am very happy with what has been presented so far, and if these are all the changes they have, it would be enough. wow. the bridge improvements are awesome.
i use the pb primarily for work, for leisure some. i think the only way RIM could make some people happy is to release a magic genie app that would grant their every wish, and allow them to do anything they want.
it is a great device, and a good company, and the whole upgrade is going to be free. as soon as the os2 is out, don't be suprised when the apps start really flowing in from the developers, and since i am not a developer, i will wait until they do, and learn to use the device for what it is, just like i have with my phone. i am still getting more proficient in all its abilities and functions.
learn to do without, or learn to work with what you got.

matrixsuperstar

Can someone please explain "Opening content on the BlackBerry PlayBook"..does this mean we have access to music and videos from the memory card through bridge, much like streaming it from a blackberry. or is it just for email attachment?

bmw328i

RIMPIRE will strike back!!!!!!!!! I beleive in the power,this will be a good year.

PostMortem

I suppose they only wanted to announce that in order to have more to announce later. Not that what was announced isn't cool.

Looking forward to Feb.

Cantime77

This is all very exiting and at the same time very very sad...many of the major programs that everyone wants are still not there. The timing is just plain horrible, the V2.0 could have given to them a huge boost if released at CES, there are still some major shortcomings in the OS if a decision was made to avoid such big marketing opportunity.
February?... most likely just another vapor date, watch it being pushed into second half of March or April... and oh how I want to be wrong about this.

auditman

netflix, teamviewer, usb to serial support so we can program cisco router or switches. if i get those im a happy dude

arutemauepon

Nice to see a lot of new features for playbook...I wonder if BlackBerry Messenger remains exclusive to their smartphones only

kwhengce

How about ability to run Android Apps? Is it also included in 2.0 updates?

steve911

I'm gonna love this update but I wasn't impressed with the apps mentioned. Hope there are some really good surprises there. Did they mention Android at all?

jonno_atamaniuk

i think some people ought to double-check comments before asking questions... anything in the current build of os 2.0 beta most likely made it to the gold build, and android player is guaranteed pretty much. but it won't be through android market, the apps will be re-packaged and distributed through App World. This will let RIM take some time to help filter out malicious and/or junk apps (i hope).

the big app i am hoping comes is Skype. this is solely for use with the full-HD front-facing camera when talking with friends and family elsewhere in the country or abroad. With that and better (read: native) apps for Windows Live Messenger and Yahoo Messenger, i may only touch my macbook when i need to edit my photography, offload videos, or access a java applet online (some don't work in the playbook browser). i could care less about Netflix because people are right the content isn't all that good. Maybe rdio so i can offload some of my music from my 16 GB playbook to make space for this update. That said, i still have 6 gigs of space... maybe movie content won't be that heavy (or they give us better compression through their movie app).

nastyboy2

i want to be able to send txt/mms msgs in bridge mode

Pages