As we navigate the web, whether it be on our device or on our computer, the browser stores certain information for you. For example, logins and passwords, history, and cached files are all items that the BlackBerry browser keeps track of as you browse the web. If, on the other hand, you do not wish others to have access to this information or you would like to view websites without saving this information, sort of like incognito mode in Google Chrome, this is accomplished by turning on Private Browsing.
Now we touched upon this option in our Top Ten Browsing Tips but for those of you unfamiliar with the feature you can find the full rundown and limitations below.
Once enabled, this option prevents your smartphone from keeping this data and only keeps the information while you have the browser. When you close the browser or turn the feature off, the data is automatically wiped. All you need to do is complete these steps to turn on Private Browsing on BlackBerry 10:
Keep in mind that when using this option Adobe Flash is automatically disabled, any tabs you had open will be saved and re-established once it is disabled, and those using BlackBerry Balance will not be able to enable this feature from the workspace browser.
In addition, any saved passwords and usernames will not be accessible so you will have to re-enter your login information when Private Browsing is turned on. However, please note this option does not stay on permanently. If you close your browser it is automatically turned off and you will have to re-enable upon launching the application again.
Private Browsing helps people avoid leaving tracks behind by erasing your browsing and search histories and any cookies you may come across during your browsing session.
For more tips and tricks, check out our BlackBerry 10 help page.