BlackBerry OS

Leaked OS 6.0.0.600 for the BlackBerry Bold 9700

BlackBerry OS

Official OS 6.0.0.461 for the BlackBerry Bold 9700 and Curve 9300 from Telus

News & Rumors

BlackBerry 6 for BlackBerry Bold 9700 video walkthrough

CrackBerry Sightings

BlackBerry Bold 9700 On 'In Plain Sight' - Can You Spot the Errors?

News & Rumors

White BlackBerry Bold 9700 Available for Pre-Order from Vodafone UK

News & Rumors

White BlackBerry Bold 9700 Available for Purchase in the Netherlands from T-Mobile; UK & Ireland Not Far Behind?

News & Rumors

Rogers Bold 9700 Getting OTA Update to OS 5.0.0.351 Today

BlackBerry OS

Leaked: OS 5.0.0.593 for the BlackBerry Bold 9700

News & Rumors

BlackBerry Bold 9700 in White Coming to Rogers?

CrackBerry Humor

Smartphone March Madness Continues: Help the BlackBerry Bold 9700 Beat the Palm Pre Plus!!

CrackBerry Humor

Some Shiny New Photos ... of a 24 Carat Gold Plated BlackBerry Bold 9700

BlackBerry OS

'Show Recent Contacts When Composing Email' Makes Its Return in the Latest Bold 9700 OS

BlackBerry Cases

Accessory Review: Seidio Innocase 360 for the BlackBerry Bold 9700

BlackBerry OS

Leaked: OS 5.0.0.536 for the BlackBerry Bold 9700

News & Rumors

Made Simple Learning Training Center for BlackBerry Bold 9700 and Curve 8500 Series Now Available

BlackBerry Cases

Video Review: OtterBox Commuter Case for the BlackBerry Bold 9700

BlackBerry Accessories

Case-Mate Barely There Case for the BlackBerry Bold 9700

Devices

The BlackBerry Bold 9700 Arrives in India

Contests

CrackBerry Colorware Bold 9700 Finds Its New Home

News & Rumors

Cincinnati Bell Launches Bold 9700; Alltel Launches Curve 8530

Full BlackBerry 6 Bold 9700 6.0.0.344 leak bugs and impressions review

By Team CrackBerry on 19 Nov 2010 10:29 am EST
0
loading...
68
loading...
115
loading...

Bold 9700 OS6

[This post comes from our forums courtesy of Alex K. The original thread can be seen here]

Of course this being a leak and especially with no official releases for the 9700 yet, it's to be expected there to be some bugs. In my opinion however, they definitely outweigh all of the functionality that comes with BlackBerry 6.

As a heads up, some of the things I mention will likely overlap with Kevin's review of BlackBerry 6. His guide is very extensive, however I'm writing here more-so about my experience with the leak on the 9700 and what's impressed me the most in comparison to OS 5.

Impressions

Battery Life

I have found the battery life to be at least twice as good as it was on OS 5 when my BlackBerry is idling. While using MeterBerry, I can see it dropping at around 1% per half an hour, where-as it used to go down no less than 2% per half an hour on idling, with the same apps installed & running.

Bold OS6 Bugs

I've heard of some people having issues where the battery level suddenly plummets at 35%. What I have read on the forums is that it would drop to 8% right after it display 35%, and sometimes the BlackBerry would die shortly. I personally have not experienced this issue.

Even when I am using my BlackBerry to listen to Podcasts throughout the day, it still lasts my the entire day without topping up, where-as lately with OS 5 I was having issues with it dying much faster than it used to. I purchased a new battery, and that didn't seem to help much.


Universal Search

When I initially started using BlackBerry 6 on my 9700, the first thing I noticed was that the Universal Search was on by default on the home screen, and it seemed like I had lost all my keyboard shortcuts that I was so used to using off of the home screen. For example, to go to Messages, I was used to pressing the "M" key which would send me there. I later found out that this is an option that is changeable by pressing the BB button on the home screen, selecting Options, and changing the "Launch by Typing" option to "Application Shortcuts."

Bold BB6 Leak Review

I found Universal Search to be very useful where unlike in BlackBerry 6, it will search all parts of your BlackBerry with one shot (I'm talking Podcasts, contacts, both local & remote messages/e-mails, music, options, 3rd party apps, YouTube, etc.). I'm really digging the search as you type that works for a good amount of the Core apps of the BlackBerry.

Bold 9700 BB6 leak review

When you want to change an option, all you do is go to options, type a part of it, and you are shown where that option is. No more having to dig through to find where the option you want to change.

Bold 9700 BB6 leak review


Manage Connections

Pulling up Manage Connections from the main screen has been a dream of mine ever since I laid my eyes on BlackBerry 6, and now that I've seen it I'm even more impressed. Aside from it being so easily accessible by clicking on the top item of the home screen, it's got added functionality in BlackBerry 6 such as setting the alarm clock and Options.

Bold 9700 Manage Connections


Social Apps

While I'm not a huge fan of social apps, I tend to be a fan of RSS. The RSS portion of the Social Apps offered with BlackBerry 6 work pretty well, however at this point when clicking on "View Full Article," the page never comes up. As well, it lacks the ability to see which RSS feeds have been read, which I'm hoping RIM is working on improving.


Memory Leak

While going through the CrackBerry forums, I've heard several people mention a memory leak. I had an interesting experience recently where I was using MemoPad for an extended period of time, and my Storage Memory went down the drain. You can see the start of it on the screen capture below made from the Internals app. The device memory signified in purple is definitely dropping significantly, where-as in OS 5, I always had it sitting at the top at 32MB, close to 90%.

Bold 9700 Memory Leak

I've also heard throughout the CrackBerry community that there are specific 3rd party apps that area causing the memory leak, but I haven't come across any such apps myself. So with that in mind, I am only going to mention to watch out for it, as it does appear to be out there.


Browser

Over-all, the browser works better than in OS 5. When downloading through it, to my amazement, the downloads fly. I was under the impression that the downloads on OS 5 were slower due to data speed limitation, but boy was I ever wrong.

One thing that I initially thought was missing when I started using BlackBerry 6 was the shortcuts on the browser. With the help of the CrackBerry forums however, I realized that there was an option within the browser to enable the shortcuts.

Keep in mind that the new Webkit browser is missing emulation mode, which I am hoping they're working on, as otherwise it's likely to send users back to 3rd party browsers for those sites they want to see in full mode that aren't given the choice by the website itself to switch back & forth.


Calendar

The calendar looks different, and initially, I was led to believe that it was no longer possible to swipe the trackpad to the right for the next day in day view, and to the left to view the previous day's events. I recently realized that the swipe required for this is much more extensive than before, as you need to nearly swipe your entire numb in order to get to the next/previous day on day view.

Aside from that, I have mixed feeling about the way the coloured highlighting works for the new calendar to separate between the different calendars you have (I have Desktop, Gmail, and BB for BlackBerry.net account). In the image below, you can see how hard it is to view the green on "Gmail calendar event" without highlighting it.

Bold 9700 BB6 Leak Review


OS 5 Apps

Regardless, I've found that all apps that working for me on OS 5 are working fine for me on BlackBerry 6. The only problem is that some are not working the same. An example would be BatteryEx, which displays a battery icon with the percentage of battery left. It only seems to work on my home screen, and not on anywhere else within the OS. It's nothing I can't live without, but it just means I have to go back to my home screen to check my battery level, which I tend to do constantly.

Bold 9700 BB6 leak review


Ringtones

The new ringtones that are included with BlackBerry 6 sound very clean and all-in-all in my opinion aren't bad at all. However there were a few that I missed, especially considering I have at least one that I used on my OS 5 off of the BlackBerry 4 OS. So I noticed with the help of the CrackBerry forums that it's possible to take the old ringtone COD file, and install it on your BlackBerry on BlackBerry 6. The post I found suggested re-installing the OS, but I managed to do it using BBSAK.


Very Minor Down-Side - Scrolling through Emoticons

I noticed that when I have the emoticons menu open within BBM for example, and I scroll down to the bottom, my cursor stops after hitting the bottom. With OS 5, after hitting the bottom in the emoticons window, it would start scrolling to the right. It's more of a minor thing, but it was something I was used to that's for some reason no longer available.


No Custom Themes Available as of Yet

At this point, Theme Studio doesn't support any device other than the Torch 9800. I'm anxiously awaiting an update of it to come out, so that I can either find a theme with a weather slot or try making one myself. BerryWeather doesn't work the way I like, and I've always found it extremely convenient to take a glance at my screen to see what the temperature and current weather conditions are within my area. So this is one down side of playing around with this leak, but truth be told, the factory theme is quite more functional than most OS 5 ones I've tried, so I'm personally fine living with this limitation at this point.

The Bugs of the Leak

Keep in mind that there may be certain bugs that I haven't experienced or yet noticed that others may find, so this section is only as complete as I could make it.


No Theme Upon Initial Install

Have you tried installing the leaked version of BlackBerry 6 only to find out that you're stuck in a white screen with barely anything visible on it? The problem is that this leak seems to only have been designed for a handful of carriers, and they are the ones that a theme has been assigned to.

Here's the solution to this:
1. Press ALT + SHIFT + H, and note your "vendor ID" from that page (mine's "102" for my BB from AT&T).
2. Go to c:\Program files\common files\Research In Motion\Shared\Loader files\9700M_v6.0.0.344_P6.6.0.50 and look for a file name blackberry.axl
3. Once you've locate the file, open it with Notepad
4. Hit Clrl+f and look for the word vendorid until you see this

net_rim_theme_tmobile_BlackBerry6_480x360_b.cod

5. Now take the vendor ID you looked up in step 1. Since my vendorid is 102, I changed 100 to 102 and saved it.
6. Reload OS 6 to your phone and the theme will come up and you're in business


Browser Error With Page Too Large

The comes up with an error saying the page was too large to be displayed. When you click on the only option available "OK," the browser closes and re-opens, losing all your tabs you had open. Then if you try opening the same page again, it will load fine.


Scrolling through Messages with Space and then navigating with Trackpad

I like to scroll page-by-page using the space key. The problem I've noticed here is that when you are at the part where you're like to click on a link and you try scrolling up using the trackpad, the focus of the message jumps way down. The work-around I've found for this is scrolling back up with the trackpad up to the desired area and highlighting the link that way.


Copying to Clipboard in Address Book

The copy function within the address book does not appear to place the text you're attempting to copy in the clipboard. The work-around I've found in the CrackBerry forums is doing a Universal Search for the contact, where it will allow you to do the copy of the relevant information (eg. a phone number from a contact).


"Messages" Comes up Distorted or Wrong Message Opens

I've found that when you already have Messages open and you get a new e-mail for example, when you highlight the new e-mail and try opening it, you get the previous e-mail that opens up. Closing and re-opening Messages seems to solve this.

Also sometimes when I open my Messages with a new e-mail that has arrived, I've found that the highlighted area is in between the date & the top message. Closing & re-opening Messages also solves this.


Cursor Disappears while Scrolling Within Conversation on BBM

When you're in a conversation on BBM and you want to see how long ago a message was sent above or you can to copy a part of a previous message within the conversation, you will find that when scrolling up, the cursor disappears. When you scroll back down, it only re-appears when you're back in the typing area. The only way that I've found to work around that is by slowly scrolling and seeing the difference in the "Sent @ (...)" or "Received @ (...)" label below the contact's name at the top.


Messages Don't Show Up Doing Quick Search within Messages

When you're in Messages and you want to do a quick search, you can pressed the "S" key on your keyboard, and a little search box will come up at the top. The problem is that the results search you run from there do not show up. Only the date of what seems to be the latest of the search results will show up. The work-around I've found for this is doing an Advanced Search instead.

Bold 9700 bb6 leak review

Something related is when searching using the Quick Search within Messages, numerous results are found as per the number within the brackets, yet only a few will show up (in the example below, only two show, with results of 564 messages found).

Bold 9700 BB6 leak review


Messages Cut Off After Doing Advanced Search Within Messages

Yet another issue I'm now having issue reproducing. None-the-less, I'll explain it anyways as I've experienced it more than enough times to mention it here.

After successfully doing an Advanced Search within Messages, I would press my Back key. At this point, I would also see a screen-full of messages, and no longer be able to scroll beyond that. The work-around I found for this is going to the mailbox's respective icon (for eg. "Gmail") to see beyond the view it would allow me to see. Eventually this has been clearing on its own without doing anything, so it's almost as though the BlackBerry is trying to process something within Messages during this time.


RSS Feeds Within Social Apps: Loading of Summaries Takes Really Long

So you've set up your RSS feeds within Social Apps. You go to read one of the posts that you liked, so you open it. You see nothing within the contents, and no sign of anything happening. After at a duration ranging from 10 to 30 seconds, the summary appears. I'm not sure if this is a bug or just the way the app works, but it really feels like a lot longer while you're sitting there all anxious waiting for the summary to come up so you can see if you want to read the entire story.

Bold 9700 BB6 leak review


RSS Feeds Within Social Apps: "View Full Story" Button Doesn't Work

Before describing this issue, please keep this in mind: Depending on the RSS feed source, what I'm about to describe might not be an issue as it reads the links from within it (CrackBerry's RSS feeds work rather well for instance). I've even noticed that the "View Full Story" works for the CrackBerry RSS feeds, but not for most of the other RSS feeds I've been using.

Once you're done waiting for the summary to load of an RSS feed after you've opened it, you might want to read the full story. You click on the "View Full Story" button, and all you get is the browser open with nothing within it, as if you just opened the web browser for the first time after booting your BlackBerry and are about to start working with it. The work-around I've found for this is pressing the BB button, clicking on "Send As", selecting "Email" and opening the link that shows up there.

Bold 9700 BB6 review


Manage Connections Often Loses Highlighting

While launching Manage Connections from the home screen by clicking on the top of the home screen (where the carrier, time, etc. is found), the highlighting of the item you'd like to select disappears when attempting to scroll up & down. The work-around I have found for this is by closing and re-opening Manage Connections until the highlighting re-appears (sometimes it takes several tries).


BBM Barcode Scanner Doesn't Work For URLs

I've become rather accustomed to scanning QR Code barcodes off of my computer's screen with the barcode scanner that comes with the latest versions of BBM. It still works fine for barcodes that are linked to BBM contacts & groups, however when attempting to scan ones related to URLs, it does nothing but beep. Originally it would open the respecting website. I also like to create my own barcodes, as I find it to be one of the fastest ways of opening an OTA link on my BB that I've found on my computer's web browser, which makes this that much more of a bummer for me. If I had to guess, I'd think that this is related to the Webkit Browser that hasn't been developed yet to work with this functionality. The work-around that I suggest to this is e-mailing yourself the address in question or if you're on BES, creating a note within Outlook and then opening it on your BlackBerry after giving it a minute or two to sync.

In Conclusion

Yes, there are some bugs with the leak, but all-in-all, I definitely recommend giving it a go to see if the advantages of BlackBerry 6 outweigh the bug, as they do for me.

92 comments

phinx404

where is my 7250 up for os6! lol

BiG BaLLA 923

hahahaha keep dreaming....

swamp_water

This article is so stupid and I encourage you to upgrade if your on the fence and not listen to nay sayers like him. So QR code scanning is broken... oh boy "DEAL BREAKER?" Seriously. BTW you complained about the RSS bug more than once. The quickest way I found to view the summary is to use the menu and choose the "Select" option and the summary pops up right away. Don't mess around with the "send" stuff...

Crackberry Editors need to do some homework on user submitted articles to make sure they are accurate and inline with the site. I think you guys are getting LAZY!

Universal Search IS AWESOME
The new webkit browser IS AWESOME
The new calendar LOOKS AWESOME AND WORKS FANTASTICALLY
The new podcast app is AWESOME AND WORKS FANTASTICALLY
The updated Media apps are AWESOME
WI-FI Music Sync is AWESOME

Social Feeds ARE NEAT but a wee bit buggy
Favorites & Frequent icons on your homescreen is OK

Sashko

I made a mistake in the intro, so I understand to a point why you'd think I'm "nay saying." However, if you read some of the comments and/or the actual post on the forum, you'll see that I corrected it (as I say the opposite in the "conclusions" section, and I was actually trying to say the opposite in the intro as opposed to what I wrote).

Either way, now that that's out of the way, there are quite a few bugs, and why not inform the community instead of only focusing on what's positive? Balance things out, and like I mention in my review, try it out for yourself and see if it's right for you.

swamp_water

Did you change the intro then? I thought I read it like you thought upgrading to 6 was not worth it because of the bugs. That's why I was upset. Now it says you do think its worth it. If it said that all along then my mistake. I was only upset because I thought your were nick picking to point out that a pre-release os was buggy. I mean we all knew it wouldn't be perfect but as I have experienced pre-releases with far far worse bugs, I thought maybe you were being unfair.

Anyways the point is I agree with your intro as it stands now. I do believe it's worth it, easy to upgrade and if you got about an hour plus a weekend free to play around, you won't be disapointed.

stackberry369

Who does these leaks if they aren't official?

Alex338

Ummm... probably at least 50% of Crackberry readers who own a 9700... ;)

WillieLee

They are from RIM but they aren't released to the public. The leaks come from the beta testers.

swamp_water

RIM releases them to the public so all the Crackberry addicts can beta test and bitch in the forum for free and RIM doesn't need to do anything about it. Hence why we have NEVER heard of a beta tester getting canned from RIM for leaking an OS.

technomensch

Here's another feature that I haven't seen discussed anywhere (but might be talked about in the OS6 forums).

On the 9700, Swipe your Home Screen to the Media Tray. Highlight any of the items in there.

In the Full Menu, you'll see an option to view "Memory Use".

This can be incredibly useful to view how your memory card or internal memory is being filled up.

Personally, I wish this was available from all the trays, not just the Media one.

Marc K.
@stayinginsync
stayinginsync.info

vecharo

The applications mgmt feature is fantastic. you can see CPU usage, which apps are taking up memory and more AND you can see it for now, yesterday, this week or last week.
Options--> application management

Fnord

Your last bug, BBM barcode scanner not working, is not down to the 9700 leak - it exists for the Torch as well (and would guess the 9780 & Style).

ench18

On my Torch.. i get the same thing. when i scan a barcode it just doesn't want to work. Did several battery pulls (thinking it would fix this minor problem) But it didn't. :(

Dash

when I do a search in my messages, I get the messages that show up, not just the date.

The memory leak issue is definitely annoying. I also get that.

One of the things I like is when new messages or mail come in, I can click that quick shortcut below the clock to show a list of them. I can then scroll down and open it from this view. the only problem with doing this is that the message indicator light doesn't turn off. I have to go into the messages or sms mesages folder before the light turns off.

Sashko

Initially this happened for me all of the time, however lately it's been working on & off. Regardless considering it happened to me so often, I thought I'd included it in the review :-)

So yes, it can be considered an intermittent issue, however it happens more than often enough to have mentioned it in the review.

msweet#CB

It is articles like this why this site is the best!No need for me to post anything. It is all covered above.

I have a bad memory leak and the cursor disappearing in BBM is irritating to say the least. Have to press shift key and it reappear.

In universal search, regular google doesn't always appear which is a problem. I have had to open the browser and search there.

Finza

For me when I type something, it gives me two Google search options, either Search Google Local or just Search Google. :S This is probably a redundant questions, but have you tried a battery pull? Or even just alt+leftshift+delete? It works reallys well.

If Search Google still doesn't appear, considering restoring 6.0?

The_Adventist

With OS5 my gmail was instant to my phone. With OS6 it takes upwards from 2 to 6 hours for the email to come to my phone.

Maybe there is a setting that I haven't changed that would speed this up.

bitemark

Not 100% sure, but I think this has more to do with your carrier not having the right service books, or possible issues with BIS 3.2 and your carrier.

I'm with Rogers in Canada and I've been getting this, though I noticed it starting more when they went to 3.2; so the issue was there before I jumped to OS 6. Sometimes the emails are almost instant, sometimes they take a few hours.

Finza

Another fix for the highlighted area being above the date would be to click on the date, it asks you what you wanna compose, press back key, it has been fixed.

The RSS thing I find is a bug. I installed .284 on my Torch and it wouldn't stop bugging me so I downgraded, but, with the .337, it's fine. However, I really don't like Social Feeds just because with T4BB, I can't catch up on old tweets, only read new ones and that's just frustrating for me since I only check my tweets once or twice a day. :(

The theme thing however, either create one if you really want it or wait for someone to create one. I doubt there will be an official 6.0 leak for the 9700, carriers will be trying way too hard to get people to upgrade to the Torch (I would suggest it, however, because I cannot imagine life without a touchscreen anymore). I was playing with my friends' 9700's and 9000's, and often got laughed at because I kept touching the screen to go somewhere :$

Alex_59

you spoke about an app which correct the problem of the device memory, could anyone say me what this applic is please ?

XWolf

Does a fine job of this.

jeffreii

Be sure to check this out before install:
http://forums.crackberry.com/f95/leaked-9700-os-6
-0-0-344-upgrade-tips-t-mobile-users-read-545478/

Ringtones:
http://forums.crackberry.com/f209/
how-get-standard-5-0-ringtones-9800-a-512846/
(9800 but applies to all devices)

auctioneero

I have the huge icons. Could somebody please help me on how to reduce the size of them or let me know what files I need to delete? Thanks. Great article.

El Nigrel

I love the new os, so fresh.
Issues i've encountered......

I don't have a You Tube app or RSS Social app

Sometimes i look on youtube through the browser and a pop up says that the wesite isnt recognised. Issue goes away with patience. Randomly happens.

Sometimes spends a few seconds loading in BBM, possibly because its loading up the chat histories, not too sure.

Hate the way you cant see the cursor when you scroll up a BBM message, although if you press aA / Shift it will show and you can scroll around with it.

PROS

Browser so much better with tabs

General look of it

Universal Search

The messages tab thing under the clock is superb

duplobot

I ran into the same absent RSS problem myself. There's an option to load it when you're installing the OS, I had clicked No. You can add it very easily with Desktop Manager 6. In the Applications list, click the plus next to 'Social Feeds' to add. The app shows up about 2/3 down the list, at least on mine. You'll have to connect with USB as the apps list isn't accessible over Bluetooth.

amirnabilkamelsaad

I'm sorry to say that all these problems are a real deal breaker and I had to go back to OS 5 which worked much faster, smoother and more consistent.
Oh one more thing, have you ever tried to put 20,000 pictures on your memory card? I did...and guess what? the phone will spend close to an hour just scanning through the whole thing and, will go nuts eventually after 7K-10K
Not a solid release.

El Nigrel

Why would you put that many on your phone anyway? Your asking for trouble!! What do you expect!

Artwerks

I've encountered a battery bug. My 9700 falls from 50% to 8% instantly, then I charge it for 10 seconds and it goes back to 50%. As my battery, after a full day of use, is at around 80-85% left, I assume the reading is just wrong. Also, when charging, I don't see the lightning bolt on the battery showing that it's actually charging, it just charges.

Also, when I'm trying to scroll right in a message, to select some text or to click a link, if I go too fast, it just exits the message and return to the inbox. I don't know if it's a bug but it's annoying.

meske

I installed BatteryWatch from App World, and ever since that, the batter issues has gone down considerably. It's back to what my OS5 battery life was. It seems when I open Google Maps, things go haywire for a few minutes, unless I hook up a USB cable for a second or two, and then it's all back to normal. Still a few bugs... but it seems once the phone settled in, the battery issue went away.

Guatiao

I have seen posts regarding sites that log users out after a restart, like CrackBerry and Facebook.

I did not know about the search shortcut in the Messages app, cool!!!!

Now, RIM and carriers, WE the users have done OUR part in making a real-world test of OS6 for the Bold... fix the dang bugs, and give us a REAL, FULL, NON-BUGGY release!

whateveryousayisok

Hey there, great article. I'm basically with you and can live with a few bugs, altough it feels like battery life drops quicker than with OS5.

One thing though, in the beginning you say "[the bugs] definitely outweigh all of the functionality that comes with BlackBerry 6", but you're conclusion says something else. ;)

Sashko

Good call, I meant that the functionality outweighs the bugs :-S The conclusion is what I meant ;-)

whateveryousayisok

that's what I figured. :)
Thanks for the ringtones hint, that was the most annoying thing about OS6 for me.

Sashko

...it bugged me a bit as well, glad I could help :-)

abcdd

I eventually wend back to 5.0 because I just could not handle it. It is very slow compared to the old version. Also, somehow it is much harder to get to a needed icon due to a bar above, I wish it would be removed. Also, I don't like all those screens with favorities, all, media and so on. Not useful. It definitely looks good but harder to navigate.

StormJH1

How did the "bugs" list leave off the white screen "Application Errors" that crash your phone every hour or so? I know from the forums that I was not the only one who had that. I basically deleted every third-party app and still never figured out the cause. Within a day, I had "downgraded" back to 5.0.0.979 b/c I need this phone for work and to use as a PHONE, which I can't do if it turns itself off all the time.

Even if the crashing weren't happening, I'm not sure I would've kept it. Virtually everything people point to as a "plus" of OS6 could be done the same or better with a theme or utility app for OS5. The stock OS6 theme just does not translate well to a Bold-sized screen, and you get so many more options (and much better stability) on OS5. Sometimes newer isn't better.

abcdd

I appreciate 5.0 so much more after spending several days with 6.0. It work so much better and more reliable.

XWolf

...Is that BeeJiveIM suffers buffering issues on the os6 leak. Basically when a conversations hit the point you have to scroll it freezes.
Other then that the other bugs never got me.
MemoryBooster sorts the mem leak issue nicely.
Facebook app is a little too fast on scrolling.
Battery life awesome.

sf49ers

have you tried the beejive beta version that was released a week ago? I don't see issues in their latest version

XWolf

Tried that, same issue...

martinrrrr

SMS stops working if you connect to a WiFi spot and then leave that spot. The solution is to scroll to the top of the home screen, click the track pad button to to bring up the Manage Connection screen. Then turn your mobile network off and then on and the SMS starts working again. You have to do this every time you connect to a WiFi spot. (Using a 9700 on ATT)

Jaredius

I like OS6 over OS5 for the most part. The only issues I have will hopefully be resolved once an official release is available.

My issues are:

1. No themes
2. NotifySync acts flakey at times and won't sync or allow me to send email.

The other buggy apps like FB and QL were fixed when they were updated recently.

OS6 is much more snappy and refined in appearance. It took some getting used to how the browser behaves and when I encounter a site that just won't do me right I open it using Bolt.

Any other complaints I blame on horrible AT&T coverage in the NYC area. It was horrible upstate also. I would jump ship to another carrier but my job pays the bill so I need to STFU and deal with crappy data and voice service or carry two phones.

dhave

Your article seems to contradict your thesis.

Thesis: "Of course this being a leak and especially with no official releases for the 9700 yet, it's to be expected there to be some bugs. In my opinion however, they definitely outweigh all of the functionality that comes with BlackBerry 6."

Conclusion: "Yes, there are some bugs with the leak, but all-in-all, I definitely recommend giving it a go to see if the advantages of BlackBerry 6 outweigh the bug, as they do for me."

thisisforthecontests

Since the leak I get java.lang.nullpointerexception when I try to open Google Talk. Ive battery pulled and reinstalled the app but still get this error. Any suggestions?

Jaredius

I see no need to upgrade to a 9780 since OS6 works so well on my 9700. I am sure they are not going to release an official OS6 for the 9700 until they allow more time for the sale of the new models (Torch, 9780 and Style).

I would love to see the upgrade from the 9780 be a step up in hardware specs and include a touch screen. Make the unit slightly larger to allow for a larger, higher res screen and call it "The Sh!t".

XWolf

A better camera, double applications memory, regular updates to it's version of os6...

Jaredius

Those miniscule upgrades that I don't even need are not worth spending $499. This OS6 works so well on my 9700 that I would be a sucker and a damn fool to buy a 9780. In fact. I would be a fool to spend $50 for a 9780.

onbberry

...tells me that after such a review we wont be getting a better "leak" for a while!

strods

BBM doesn't give you the option to send what ever size you want to send the pic, by default it sends it small and the person has to request for it to be sent on a higher resolution... something that OS5 let you choose.

Also it doesn't give you the option to save a persons bbm pic profile.

If anyone knows how to fix this please let me know.

AmaurieRaz

Is defenetly a bug on the long wait for the RSS preview, I manage to find a solution ,when you're on the white screen press the lock button and then press it again is going to show you the words right away , I hope that helps a little at least works for me

Sashko

Hmm, that work-around doesn't seem to work for me, however another one that someone posted on the forums in response to this article does work for me: pressing ALT + trackpad. That seems to load it right away for me, yet it sometimes disables part of the functionality of the post opened.

mkye86

Works Like a charm..

Thanks..

Both Suggestions worked for me..

Graheem

The RSS feeds for me a cured simply by reading this article!

I too was having the long preview wait, my work around was to just click on view full art then jump right back and the prev would show, but I was reading the comments here today, and was just going to try the above, went to the Social Feeds RSS and the preview are working fine, without me doing anything!!

The Viigo app also had this long preview wait, and it too is now working nice and quick.

Wacky, but not complaining. :)

Graheem

The RSS preview, in Social Feeds, and Viigo, has slowed down again. Guess it was a temporary glitch when it was loading the previews the fastest I had yet seen (and enjoyed).

Waah.

riv

I don't know wether this is the main cause, or just a coincidence

Previously, my 9100/6.0.0.344 drains approximately 10 Mb per hour

I try removing all 3rd party apps, but it still doesn't help, till I notice that BB groups often giving me hourglass

Then I try to leave all my groups, and voila !!! The average drain rate has dropped from 10 Mb per hour, to 10 Mb per day

I managed to keep my device running for 7 days without doing a battery pull, and when I decided to do the battery pull, I still got about 20 Mb free application memory

enotar

Great review!
Thank you for the summary and I love OS6 even with few issues is a lot better than OS5.
I wont go back.

mkye86

I'm surprised you didnt mention anything about this issue..
(I had posted a temp work-around for this in the forums)
Or the various issues that 3rd party apps have with this build..

Dont know if its an OS issue or the apps themselves (not being compatible with the OS)..

A few I can think of are:

1. Quicklaunch - I have set to quickly SMS various people. When oppening quick launch and typing short cut key it brings me to the SMS screen it lets me type my message but when I push the enter key it does not send. I press the BB menu key it does nothing. So I have to close the screen and do it the old fashioned way..

2. Meter-Berry or other apps that require a license key - It will not let you open the BB Menu to paste. Using the keyboard is the only way it will let you paste..

3. Berryweather - When I tried to set enable berry weather homescreen wallpaper. When I go to select Image, It lets me browse my pictures but it will not allow me to select them. And the BB Menu doesnt work here either..

Basically various apps I have encountered have a similar issue with the BB Menu and not functioning properly. It's like anytime the app requires to interact a function or files on your BB it won't work..

A few other issues I have encountered

1. I have only had 1 browser issue. When attempting to log in to Bank of America It kicks me back to the homescreen. I have not been able fo find a solution for this and its annoying.. All other sites I visit work very well..

2. I have read that the universal search is the biggest cause of the memory leak. I happen to beleive this to be true. Because after deselecting all options except Homescreen and Contacts. I have virtually no memoryleak. However,the Memory leak will return. Sure enough I go back to search options and Google Local Search has been selected again. It seems like everytime I search google, open google talk or any google app, the option linked to that app in universal search will get selected again.. and hence restart the memory leak..

3. Facebook - Due to the memory leak I do a battery pull nightly to regain it all back.. After a couple of times of doing this Facebook will no longer send me messages.. Perhaps this is an issue with the new FB app and not the OS..

Overall I LOVE OS6. But I hate this version of it.. I'm ready for the next leak..

p_the_capo

I have found the copy/paste and missing BB menu in 3rd party apps, especally if you get a couple of levels deep into an app, say you want to post a tweet after reviewing your feed, that's when it occorrs most often.

I also have an issue in my Whatsapp where I can never scroll down to the end of a message so the last sentence is often missing, but I'm not sure if this is a Whatsapp issue.

JayBachatero

My biggest issue was the memory leak due to the Universal Search. I had lost of files on my media card and indexing everything was taxing the phone.

After that I've been able to use the phone with no problem but I have another memory leak. In BBM is you view images that are sent or a contacts icon, after viewing a few of them the phone will run out of memory and lag. End up having to do a battery pull.

emirozmen

great review! i only have few issues which i really don' t care. i might stay with this leak until the official one(couple of months probably). i really love the experience im having with os 6. im not thinking to upgrade to 9780 and i dont like a touch screen like the torch, i think ı am okay with my 9700 till the next bold which ı hope includes more changes than the 9780. more battery life, faster processor, at least 5mp camera(9780), better screen/display and of course at least 512 mb ram!

aay347

Everyone on this site, makes life with a blackberry device wonderful. Thanks for the forums, downloads,apps , etc......
I just had to say it.

kevintv

I just plugged my Blackberry into my computer and opened up Desktop manager. I got a prompt to update to OS 6.0.0.344 (I believe that is the correct version). I'm on a Blackberry 9700 from T-Mo. That means an official RIM release for the 9700 is out there???

mkye86

Did you install the OS onto your computer?

Pint007

Interesting. I have installed the leak, and kept if for a week.
WEB: Does not work, keeps asking for data plan - probably it's for US, not for EUROPE ( My operator is TELENOR HUNGARY ), so that one is only WI - FI possible.

GOOGLE MAPS won't work - missing data plan.

BB APP WORLD - same, not even WIFI

So, there is no chance until we don't see official OS from RIM until works, not to mention BB APP WORLD IS NOT EVEN ACCESSIBLE IN EASTERN EUROPEAN COUNTRIES ( yeah, we are the 3rd world... )

benjobaggins

I found deleting blackberry internet browsing service2 browserconfig in service book helps! It should make ur browser and youtube work!

sivan

I'm waiting for someone to finally say if when choosing to use shortcuts from the homesecreen, universal search can be launched with 's' as search is launched in OS5. That would do exactly what I need. I'd be disappointed if I have to highlight the field with the trackpad before starting to type.

Sashko

Yes, that is one of the shortcuts when changing the "launch by typing" setting to "application shortcuts."

sivan

I'd love to disable silly zooming in and out of apps and sliding screens. Is there an option for it?

DJLILM

When I read the title I thought it was another leak

DustBow

The "conclusion" is totally opposite what is written in the first paragraph of the review.
I think I'm going to wait for them to patch things up a bit....

Sashko

I've corrected the intro on the forum post, since I'm unable to make changes on this blog post here.

Sleeping Beastly

#1: Not a big deal, but in the Facebook app, I run into a lot of problems scrolling. Sometimes the cursor gets lost, and I can't highlight anything, although I can still scroll the page up and down. Sometimes, when I am reading a long status update, the darn thing won't let me scroll partway through, and will only jump to the top or bottom of the post, meaning I can't read the middle segment. And finally, sometimes when I'm scrolling through status updates, the cursor loses its place, and jumps up and down the list, so that if I am scrolling down, it will jump me back up to an update higher up, and then scroll down from there. Annoying.

#2: The web browser issue seems to have gone away, but I noticed that even when it was happening, I could make it stop by disabling java and embedded media in the browser options.

#3: I have a voicemail service that forwards my voicemails to me as .wav files, and when I try to open them from the email, the phone tells me it's an unsupported file type. If I forward the email to myself, I can play it from the forwarded email, no problem.

#4: BeZombied is an awesome game, but after opening it, my whole phone starts to get the dreaded clock icon, even while using other applications. The only cure I've found is a battery pull.

#5: Battery life is downright unfair. No smartphone should last this long without a charge. Someone must have sold their soul to the devil to make this possible. 12+ hours of streaming Pandora over 3G and talking on the phone, and I *still* have plenty of juice???

#6: The memory leak seems to be caused by apps loaded onto the phone while the phone still had OS 5 on it. After uninstalling a couple of them and redownloading them from the app world, the memory leak has ceased.

paspals

... cause i think it has been pumped up to 640x480, with better frame-count... or maybe its just late here- need sleepz....

NOKJAA

Master Kevin,

Me thinks it"s time to hold a Poll of sort?!? Somewhere along the lines of:

BlackBerry 9700 Users | OS6

A: I'm Staying Definitely! No way I'm going Back!!!!

B: It's Back to 5.0 for me...:D

C: What is OS6? Is it a Star Wars Character that didn't make the cut..?

And with the results I'm expecting, we can Petition / Force-Feed RIM to get us ALL a proper / Updated Leak! Hehehehehe. If you agree just Type AGREE" all weekend long. Of course don't forget to post Ur everyday comments & experiences.

Cheers,

NokJAA!

NightShade00013

I have come across the problem with WIFI on and moving from spot to spot and sms messages not coming through or going out. If you move back in range of a different wifi spot or turn wifi off messages work fine.

The other thing that I have noticed is that MMS Messages do not show up the same now as they previously did on 5.0. If you have a .gif and .mp3 come in they do not play unless you view the attachment and then that is only one at a time. My wifes 8520 with 5.0 shows the same message just fine. Gif and mp3 playing at the same time. Even though the way that os 6 handles the mms and sms messages through the same window it would be nice to have the ability to view the message in a new screen and have the old view back. Forwarding the message also breaks the functionality for the next person.

Battery life and web browsing is great, mms functionality so far has been my only caveat. The sms wifi bug is no biggy.

Pre da Vinci

I have yet to install os6 but I'm hearing that it will perform universal search across many standard OS apps, mail, messages etc...

I'm wondering if it will find a searched for text string in a file on your SD card. Like windows will search all documents in a folder or drive for a text string and display a list of find results...or am I dreaming.

Has anyone found it to be able to do this?

Thanks

salvsgo

no option for hotspot browsing inly

nyc_rock

The "page too large" error exists in BB6? Or just the leaked version? If that error still exists that would be pathetic.

punisher85

I installed the os6 2 days ago and i must say its very easy,faster. one of the best thing is the browser, i think its 2x faster than os5 + tabs is very great. wifi auto detect and login is also great
on os 5 i had 112mb free space ,on os6 i have 104mb but it use more buffer i think it shrinks sometimes to 85mb, i have no apps,no games no social network.
-negative is sometimes(had 2times) i have white screen like crashing,

greatings ahmet from belguim

ichbingeil1

Here it is folks this features so far is not mentioned in any of the forums or blogs about OS 6 9700. Flip messages, SMS, BBMs, RSS FEED, CONTACTS, APPS ETC..... when you are reading one of your emails lets say Gmail box if one message is open and you want to go the next message what everybody has been doing since ages closing the message and going to the next one but on this OS 6 you just need to swipe your thumb rapidly (advisable to increase the track sensitivity to 90) and then swipe your thumb and whoooopi next message flips and its in front of you and same is for SMS/txt, and BBM message keep swiping from left to right or right to left and messages will keep scrolling automatically as you keep reading one after the other... Join my BBM group for more action where my team is exploring this OS6 9700 more in depth.. many thanks for posting this post and i think its a wonderful effort by the author... all the best.... join me at kaimera5@yahoo.com..

alunkkk

One of OS6 features that not appear in this leaked is: 'Face Detection Mode' in the Camera Option

kevin620627

But I wish by now we wouldn't need a leak review when were almost four months in. Come on Verizon!!!

officialmrbritneyspears

i really cant wait till T-Mobile releases an official OTA Update :( i really hate leaks..

ma3loom

No problems so far, only been running it for an hour or so but so far loving it...

Where is the social network thing? can't seem to find it for whatever reason. Not sure if i'm just not looking in the right area though.

shona67

This unofficial software is a piece of sh*t! Even I wiped my BB before installing OS 6. I vow myself that I would never install any unofficial OS on my BB. I learn a hard lesson!

tfrankson

today and updated to this OS. No issues so far.

JakeL645

I'm not sure if this is just my device, but when my battery reaches below the 50% mark or something around that I can't send SMS messages, the symbol comes up as if it doesn't have reception and it's going to try again later (the little clock thing). Really annoying, considering I use it mainly for texting it's like I have have the battery capacity and have to charge it all the time :\ I hope the next leak fixes it

Yell0w

Can you please update this in light of the new 6.0 leak for the bold 9700? Thanks, great review btw, will be waiting for the update.

shunanzi

Ive downloaded and tried both the .344 and .358 OS6 leaks and they've both killed my battery. I guess I'll wait for the official release :(

Its taking too long!