This is a bit of an odd one, but Facebook is beginning to try out some new tools that it believes may help improve your experience following a break up. That's right, Facebook is testing ways to show you less of an ex-partners information and updates without you needing to unfriend them. Once you change your relationship status, Facebook will prompt you with the new set of tools.
With these, you'll be able to limit how much of the ex you see in just a few taps. You'll be able to select to see them anywhere on Facebook, like you normally would, or limit how much you see them. With the limited option, you'll only see something if you visit their profile. You won't see status updates, profile changes, etc unless you visit specifically. In addition, you'll be able to limit how much they can see, by allowing full access or hiding all your posts.
Finally, you'll be able to limit who can change and edit previous posts and tags. You'll be able to keep things as they are, edit them individually, or edit everything that you are tagged in. These tools are being tested now in the US on mobile, and based upon feedback, Facebook plans to continue the expansion in the future.