B U Y R

I'm pretty sure that's the weirdest looking blog post title ever to appear here on CrackBerry.com, but bare with me and I'll explain... As we were winding down Podcast Episode 041, we got a last-minute email from Lisa (who by the way has listened to every single episode - totally hardcore!) that posed the following question:

About 6 months ago, I bought a BlackBerry Curve 8330 through Verizon's New Every Two program for 49.99 and let me tell you I totally love it. My question is when you go into Options and Status and type the letters b-u-y-r, 2 hidden rows show up: Data Usage and Voice Usage. What do they mean? Should I be worried that I've exceeded these amounts? I've looked all over the web for an answer and can't seem to find it.

For users who may be on a BES, typing buyr on the options > status screen will let you know if an IT Policy is enabled on your device. If you're a BIS customer, you'll get the Data Usage and Voice Usage stats. Lisa's question had us stumped on the podcast, and to be honest, we're still not totally sure what the verdict is here. If you don't have the exceeded 250k data / exceeded 60 minutes voice message, what you'll see are actual figures of data used and minutes of voice used. Some googling around found that **maybe** this exceeded message (which can't be reset as far I know) is related to an old warranty/return type thing from RIM - once you've used over 60minutes voice/250k data the device is yours to keep whether you like it or not. But not all devices seem to show this message even when going over the limits. Below you'll see some screencaps sent in by Dave snapped from his Curve 8520, Curve 8900 and Storm. All of them are running on unlimited plans and the messages displayed are all different - on his Storm he gets the exceeded limits message, and on his 8520 he has exceeded the limits but the usage stats keep rolling. Does whether or not the exceeded message appears depend on the device, OS version, carrier, plan, BIS vs. BES, etc.? Maybe if you unlock your device the exceeded message goes away? As pointed out in the comments, does BUYR = buyer's remorse??

I'm an addict (never claim to be an expert just in case things like this pop up and I don't know the answer!), so on this one we'll throw it out to the community and hopefully somebody reading this can explain exactly what these messages refer to and why they are there. I bet it's something simple like the max usage allowed before a return, but I just don't know for sure! Type BUYR into your Status screen and see what you get. Any ideas here? 

B U Y R
Curve 8520
B U Y R
Curve 8900
B U Y R
Storm