The next stop on our 10 Weeks of BlackBerry 10 tour is one that every BlackBerry business user should be looking forward to - BlackBerry Balance. In case you haven't been keeping up, BlackBerry Balance is already a great part of the PlayBook OS that will come to BlackBerry 10. BlackBerry Balance lets you easily use one device for both personal and work with all the features you'd expect from using two different devices. BlackBerry Balance essentially lets you run two different spaces on your device - one for personal and one for work. Keep reading to check out why BlackBerry Balance is one of the best new features of BlackBerry 10.
If you use your BlackBerry for work, you know what a pain it can be to have all of your IT-pushed work apps, data and the like mixed in with your personal items. BlackBerry 10 changes all that by creating two separate spaces for your work and personal items. You can easily change between the two, one never interfering with the other, making your BlackBerry 10 device 2-in-1.
By swiping down on the home screen, you will see the option to change between your work and personal space on your BlackBerry 10 device. From the moment you change between them, you will see a totally different home screen right down to your wallpaper. Your work apps sit in your work space, while your personal items won't appear -- and vice versa.
BlackBerry World on your work space will show apps that are pushed down from your IT department that are enabled and/or required for your device. You will also see a public apps section that shows public applications that have been allowed for use in your work environment.
Using BlackBerry Balance you can now have two instances of applications such as Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn. If you use a work Twitter account, all the information (login, settings) will remain separate from that of your personal Twitter. Same goes for Facebook and other applications.
In your work space your BlackBerry Hub will now show your work items as well. Emails, calendar items and other messages for work will show in the Hub on your work space, however they won't carry over to your personal space. You may see that you have work emails but they will show as locked until you swap over to your work space.
Copy a URL or text from somewhere in your work space and you won't be able to then paste that back in your personal email. Balance can send warning if you try to send confidential work items to personal contacts and prevent social media apps from accessing the same data. Super secure and super awesome.
Using BlackBerry Mobile Fusion, IT managers can setup and partition devices all in once place, sending down mandatory applications and settings. While your personal space gives you the freedom to be you, your work space is still controlled by your IT department, allowing them to be able to wipe your work data at any time without touching your personal items.
BlackBerry Balance makes using one device for work and play a truly great, worry-free experience on all ends. It's definitely one of the features we're most looking forward to in BlackBerry 10.
Check out more of what we're looking forward to in our 10 Weeks of BlackBerry 10 series.