CrackBerry Humor

Flashback Friday: Impress your friends with a shiny new BlackBerry Storm2, only $140 at 1SaleADay!

News & Rumors

BlackBerry owner takes apart his Storm 2 blindfolded!

News & Rumors

Official OS 5.0.0.1082 for the BlackBerry Storm 2 9550 released by Appalachian Wireless

Help, How-To & Tips

Touchcuts - Using shortcuts on your touchscreen BlackBerry

News & Rumors

Leaked: OS 5.0.0.1015 For The BlackBerry Storm2 9550

News & Rumors

Official OS 5.0.0.983 for the BlackBerry Storm 2 9550 released by Inland Cellular

News & Rumors

Leaked: OS 5.0.0.895 for the BlackBerry Storm 2 9550

News & Rumors

BlackBerry Storm 9570 - Up close and personal pics

News & Rumors

BlackBerry 9570 spotted running BlackBerry 6 but what is it?

News & Rumors

Official OS 5.0.0.741 for the BlackBerry Storm 2 9520 released by Indosat

News & Rumors

SK Telecom and RIM Introduce the First Touch-Screen BlackBerry Smartphone in South Korea

News & Rumors

Did Verizon halt BlackBerry 6 testing on the BlackBerry Storm 2?!?

News & Rumors

Official OS: 5.0.0.713 For The BlackBerry Storm 2 9550 From Verizon

News & Rumors

Leaked: OS 5.0.0.643 For The BlackBerry Storm 2 9520

News & Rumors

Bell To Launch BlackBerry Storm 2 9550 On April 13th?

News & Rumors

Have You Had Your BlackBerry Storm 2 Swapped For A New One?

News & Rumors

Official OS 5.0.0.497 For The BlackBerry Storm 9520 Released

News & Rumors

BlackBerry Storm 2 9520 Arrives On T-Mobile UK Website

News & Rumors

BlackBerry Storm 2 Coming To Rogers Or Just A Marketing Mix Up?

BlackBerry OS

Leaked OS 5.0.0.451 for the BlackBerry Storm2 9550

< >

BlackBerry Storm 2 Review

Featuring Wi-Fi, more memory and an improved SurePress technology, Research in Motion's second-generation BlackBerry Storm is ready for primetime and wants to be touched!

By Kevin Michaluk on 15 Oct 2009 12:01 am EDT
2
loading...
0
loading...
7
loading...

BlackBerry Storm2 Review

It's that time again! Grab a cup of coffee or your favorite energy drink, kick back and enjoy yet another CrackBerry.com pre-release BlackBerry Smartphone review. This time around we're looking at an officially-received BlackBerry Storm2. Has RIM taken the Storm to the next level with the Storm 2, or are we looking at a minor update? Should owners of the original BlackBerry Storm upgrade? Read on to find out!

* Note:I received this review unit just after 12 noon CST today, which left me less than 11 hours to get this together before the embargo lifted. That's not much time to conduct a proper review in full out CrackBerry fashion, so we'll be following up soon with more BlackBerry Storm2 videos and walk-throughs and I'll add a few more images and screencaps to this review shortly. Stay tuned for that. Also, keep in mind I was told the handheld software (version 5.0.0.287) is not the final version, so there may be some minor operating system changes from the unit reviewed here and what you ultimately can purchase. *

The Calm Before the Second Storm...

The BlackBerry Storm2. To say it has been highly anticipated would be an understatement. Before the original BlackBerry Storm was available to customers, the first rumors of the Storm 2 began to surface. Research in Motion even acknowledged the existence of the new device much earlier than they historically would, when RIM's co-CEO Jim Balsillie said in a presentation to analysts and investors (reported by Reuters) in May 2009 that they were working on a next generation of its BlackBerry Storm as part of a continuing push into the retail market. From that point, it was less than two weeks later when the first photos of the new BlackBerry Storm were posted to the internet right here at CrackBerry.com which was followed up soon after when we brought you the first video of the BlackBerry Storm 2 in action. In the weeks following and leading up to the Storm2's "official" announcement, youtube has been full of "unofficial" BlackBerry Storm2 9550 and 9520 previews (Verizon's Storm2 is the 9550; Vodafone's is the 9520) showing off early-stage hardware and firmware. Due to this unofficial nature, most early Storm2 videos/photos disappeared from the web as quickly as they appeared, but now that we have an official review unit you can rest assured knowing Storm2 content is now here to stay.

BlackBerry Storm2 Review

So how does the BlackBerry Storm2 compared to the Storm? When all is said and done, the most accurate explanation I can think of is to draw an analogy to the automotive industry and how car manufacturers release a new car and follow up with a new model each year. It is often said that you should not buy the "first year" of a new car, as there is bound to be issues, and nobody will argue in the case of the BlackBerry Storm that the device as it went to market experienced some issues (lag, more lag, and a bit more still lag still). RIM's strength over the years lay in making non-touchscreen devices featuring a physical keyboard, so adapting the BlackBerry operating system to touchscreen hardware was a new game for them. A few recalls (aka firmware upgrades) later, however, and the BlackBerry Storm is now a much more usable device. In fact, if you haven't touched a BlackBerry Storm in a while you might be surprised at just how well it performs. And that brings us to the next part of this analogy. If you think of the Storm as the 2009 model year, the BlackBerry Storm2 really is the 2010 model year. Yes it's new, it's improved and it features some additional bells and whistles not found in the 2009 model and overall is a better performing and easier to use smartphone, but it doesn't immediately make the old model year obsolete.

Existing Storm owners who have invested the time and energy to get comfortable on their device and have upgraded to the latest firmware (OS 5.0 just around the corner!) may find after picking up and playing with the Storm2 in a store that they're able to stick it out with their Storm until they are eligible for an upgrade. Others of course, may find the addition of WiFi alone to be enough of a reason to pay the penalties and upgrade to the Storm2 immediately. Just like cars, you're always going to want the new model year, even if you got a great lease/finance rate on picking up last year's model. But enough with the analogy, let's get to what's new in the Storm2!

BlackBerry Storm2 Overview and Key Specifications

BlackBerry Storm2

Picking up the BlackBerry Storm2, it's clear that Research in Motion's thought process here was simply to build a better BlackBerry Storm. They weren't thinking about building an iPhone killer or worrying about what Palm is up to with their Web OS or what the next wave of Android phones might look like. RIM looked at the original BlackBerry Storm, assessed where it was great, where it was good, where it was bad and where it was ugly and they fixed it. I'm sure many of the BlackBerry Storm2 reviews that emerge will state the BlackBerry Storm2 is what the original BlackBerry Storm should have been, and well, they'll all be right. We don't want to dwell too much on the Storm's shaky start; after all, it was a pretty big success for RIM from a sales standpoint, but it's impossible to review the Storm2 without looking back at the original BlackBerry Storm.

BlackBerry Storm2 Key Specifications: Be sure to follow the link following for the BlackBerry Storm2's Full Specifications and Features List. Below is a summary of the key highlights:

BlackBerry Storm2 Specifications

Size (LxWxD) 112.5 mm x 62 mm x 13.9 mm
Weight (battery included) 160 g / 5.65 oz
Memory 256 MB Flash memory, 2GB eMMC
Expandable Memory MicroSD located under battery door cover (up to 16 GB)
Battery 1400 mAhr removable/rechargeable cryptographic Lithium cell
Battery Life CDMA: 11.2 days standby, 5.5 hours of talk time
GSM: 12.7 days standby, 5 hours of talk time
UMTS: 11.7 days standby, 6 hours of talk time
Display High-resolution 480 X 360 pixel color display 3.25" (diagonally measured)
Transmissive TFT LCD
Supports over 65,000 colors
Dynamic hardware brightness control
Camera 3.2 MP camera, flash, auto focus, image stabilization, 2X digital zoom
GPS Integrated GPS with A-GPS
Wi-Fi 802.11 b/g enabled
Media Player BlackBerry Media Player
Video format support: MPEG4 H.263, MPEG4 Part 2
Simple Profile, H.264, WMV
Audio format support: MP3, AAC, AAC+, eAAC+, WMA,
WMA ProPlus
Headset 3.5mm stereo headset capable
Network Quad-Band: 850/900/1800/1900MHz GSM/GPRS/
EDGE networks
Single-Band: 2100 MHz UMTS/HSPA networks
Dual-Band: 800/1900 MHz CDMA/EVDO Rev A network

Comparing the specs and features list of the BlackBerry Storm2 to the BlackBerry Storm on a line by line basis does not actually reveal that many changes, yet the changes that have been made are significant. According to Research in Motion,

 

BlackBerry Storm2 refinements include:

 

  • Enhanced SurePress Technology (SurePress is all electronic in Storm 2 - there are no mechanical moving parts)
  • Overall device performance (i.e. rotation speed, etc…) is enhanced
  • JavaScript is now On by default
  • Wi-FI 802.11 b/g
  • 256 MB Flash Memory (Storm 1 had 128MB)
  • 2GB Onboard Media Memory (Storm 1 had 1GB)
  • Sleeker Design (tinted chrome ring, etc.)
  • Integrated touch navigation keys
  • BlackBerry Handheld Software v5.0
  • Internet browsing enhancements (i.e. faster page loading)

 

and User Interface Enhancements on Storm2 include:

 

  • Inertial Scrolling w/Snap Back
  • Enhanced SurePress input
    • Probability-based entry with advanced auto-correct
    • Multi-touch for ALT and SHIFT
    • Key rollover for faster typing
    • Optimized pressure for comfortable text entry
  • Fine Cursor Control (for text editing)
    • Improved sensitivity and accuracy
  • Multi-touch text selection enhancements (for copy/paste)
  • Updated spin boxes o Clock, calendar, date/time, etc...
  • Phone enhancements o Face detection
  • Actionable touch buttons (Send in Messaging, Save in Calendar/Contacts, etc)
  • Enhanced SMS UI - notifications, emoticons, threaded chats

It's important to note that while the BlackBerry Storm at the time of this post is still running BlackBerry Handheld Software v4.7, that most of the UI refinements touted above for the Storm2 will soon be available to BlackBerry Storm users when v5.0 software is rolled out to existing devices. So while this is an "official" enhancement as of now (you can already find leaked versions of OS5.0 for the Storm - dig into our Storm forums), soon the Storm will receive many of these benefits (exception - those benefits derived from the Storm2's hardware improvements, such as clicking multiple parts of the screen at once and the face detection while on a call. More to come on that...).

* Update - October 25th, 2009 - Verizon has released OS 5.0 for the original BlackBerry Storm 9530 *

Walking Through the BlackBerry Storm2's Major Fixes / Improvements

Let's address these one at at a time:

Improved Form Factor/External Hardware

In the hand, the BlackBerry Storm2 now has the look and feel of a polished consumer product. The same can't comfortably be said for the original BlackBerry Storm, which has something of a commercialized science fair project feel about it (harsh, but true). Not all Storm owners will have the same gripes, but for me the Storm's form factor strikes were:

  • the "floating screen" - which feels sloppy as you can wiggle it back and forth within the casing.
  • the gaps/backlighting - the gaps around the screen and between the send/end/menu/escape keys allow light from within the device to shine through the cracks, making the device feel unfinished. These gaps also make it easy for dust to get behind the screen, which can cause issues.
  • the "fish hooks" - that's my nickname for the sliding clasps that hold the Storm's battery door onto the device - they remind me of barbed fish hooks. They're kind of sharp, do catch on stuff and really seemed like a last minute solution (we have the device built, now how do we get the door to stay on?).
  • the speaker "feet" - with the speaker port placed on the backside of the device, RIM placed two feet on both sides of the speaker, so that when lying on a flat surface the speaker was lifted allowing for sound to escape and not be muffled. Unfortunately, this gives the device a horrible wobble when trying to actually use it while it's lying on a flat surface - something a lot of people like to do when at a desk (solution: put a skin on your Storm).
  • Headset port design - while this gripe was very minor to me, on the original Storm the 3.5mm headset port location sort of juts out from the top right corner of the device vs. being flush to the casing sidewalls, as it is with other BlackBerry Smartphone models.

That's a long list of form factor complaints for the first generation BlackBerry Storm, but RIM must have agreed, as the BlackBerry Storm2 addresses each and every one of these form factor gripes. The BlackBerry Storm2's display has extremely tight tolerances. While there is still some vertical movement associated with the SurePress click action, there's no real wiggle or jiggle to the display. Instead of having physical buttons, RIM has implemented the core send/end/menu/escape keys to be part of the display (and as we have begun to see on other new devices, the green talk/send key now faces up vs. down). These changes combined eliminate the issue of backlighting shining through the gaps and should prevent dust from getting into the unit. On the backside of the device, RIM now has a smooth battery door that is held on by a newly designed single pressure fit clasp underneath. The speaker port has been relocated towards the bottom of the device so that even when lying flat the sound escapes cleanly without the need for original Storm's speaker feet. RIM also managed to flush mount the headset port, which cleans up the Storm2's aesthetic lines.

Storm problems solved, the BlackBerry Storm2 features some other notable form factor changes. The overall look of the device is slightly different. The top and bottom of the device feature that BlackBerry chromed-out look and have slightly different geometry. The silver plastic convenience keys and volume button have been replaced by soft-touch rubberized ones, and RIM decided to replace the hidden ‘lock' button at the top left corner of the device with a ‘power' button, which quickly powers the unit's display on and off. 

The only arguably negative change that has taken place moving from the BlackBerry Storm to BlackBerry Storm2 occurs on the scale, where the Storm2 tips in at 160 grams, a full 5 grams heavier than the Storm (the results of my Tale of the Scale: BlackBerry Weigh-In were slightly different, but not by much). I say arguably negative, because in reality the Storm2 feels better/lighter in the hand. Both Storm1 and Storm2 are heavy as far as smartphones go; the iPhone 3GS is 135 grams and the Curve 8520 is only 106 grams in comparison, but the weighty feeling of the Storm2 to me feels more like a sign of quality than of bulk. For some it will undoubtedly be a bit heavy for everyday comfort, but its ok for me.

I know this will sound lame, but I tend to think that, just like living spaces, smartphones have their own sort of feng shui about them. There was something about the original BlackBerry Storm that was a bit un-BlackBerry like. I think between all the of the little form factor gripes listed above, it just gave off a slightly negative vibe. With the BlackBerry Storm2, the feng shui is much more positive.

Enhanced SurePress Technology

In recent months leading up to the BlackBerry Storm2's announcement, this has been the topic of greatest interest to Storm2 chasers. Is it that much better to type on? How is it different? Like the BlackBerry Storm, the BlackBerry Storm2 features RIM's SurePress technology, which separates navigation from confirmation by allowing the user to touch the screen to select an item and then press down on the screen (you'll feel it move and hear the ‘click') to take action on an item.

The SurePress concept is a debatable and controversial. Some love it. Others hate it. Some wish they could turn it off or on at their choosing. For more on this, you can check out our BlackBerry Storm review where we get into the theory of SurePress and also this recent CrackBerry poll where we ask readers if they want SurePress on their touchscreen BlackBerry.

On the BlackBerry Storm2, the theory behind SurePress is unchanged, but the actual hardware and execution is much better. The photo below shows the difference of what's under the piece of display of the BlackBerry Storm and BlackBerry Storm2. Whereas the BlackBerry Storm's LCD essentially floats on a single physical button located in the middle of the display, the BlackBerry Storm2's display is attached to four buttons, spaced out evenly, and their operation is now completely electric.

BlackBerry Storm vs. BlackBerry Storm2

Looking back at the BlackBerry Storm's original SurePress design, it suffers from a few issues:

  • Inconsistent pressure - the amount of pressure required to click the screen varies as you move towards the outer corners of display. The "click" is accomplished by compressing the button in the middle no matter where on display you are pressing, so the further away from the middle you move the less direct pressure/leverage there is on the center button and the more difficult the press becomes
  • Outpacing the hardware - Because there is only one button, you are limited to the action of that single button. When typing, you have to type a letter, wait for the button/screen to rebound, then type another button. On a physical keyboard, where every letter has an individual button, you can type extremely fast as the moment you press down on a letter, your other thumb can begin clicking on the next letter (while the key to the first letter is still rebounding). The Storm's single button design forces fast typists to slow down a bit as you can click only as fast as the button can rebound, which brings us to...
  • Slow/Mushy Rebound - With just a single button under the display and a bit of flex in the chassis, the Storm's rebound tends to feel a bit mushy and slow. Following the Storm's release, there were numerous fixes popping up in the forums to try and address this (and the inconsistent pressure) problem, like stuffing folded bits of paper under the battery door to improve the stiffness and responsiveness.
  • No proximity sensor / inability to disable SurePress on a phone call - If there's one place where SurePress isn't required, it's while the phone is pressed to your ear while on a call. Though an ear isn't a thumb, the Storm's screen treats it as such. I can't even count the number of times I've ear-muted conversations or accidentally turned on speakerphone.

The BlackBerry Storm2's enhanced SurePress technology addresses the issues of the BlackBerry Storm's original SurePress design:

  • Consistent Pressure - Because the screen is now sitting on four evenly spaced ‘buttons' (for lack of a better word), the amount of pressure required to create a click is consistent regardless of where you press.
  • Multi-press capabilities - The improved SurePress hardware allows you to click on more than one part of the screen at a time. Taking advantage of this, RIM has allowed the software to now register two inputs on the keyboard. This is extremely beneficial when typing on the full qwerty keyboard in landscape. When typing letters across the keyboard from each (you are alternating between your left and right thumbs), you can now execute these letters more quickly as you can press the next letter without waiting for the screen to finish rebounding from the previous letter. It's more like typing on a physical full qwerty smartphone.
  • Smoother Rebound - Clicking in and out on the BlackBerry Storm2's display is simply much smoother now, thanks again to the four electric button design. Use it side by side with the Storm and you'll immediately feel the difference.
  • Face Detection feature! - Last, but certainly not least, the BlackBerry Storm2 features a proximity sensor that powers down the display when the phone is next to your ear on a call. Earlier hardware/software versions we have seen of the Storm2 never possessed this feature, but this review unit certainly does. Simply start talking with the BlackBerry Storm2 against your ear and the screen powers down - no more ear typing! As soon as you pull the phone away from your ear the screen powers on and you can enable calling features (mute, speakerphone, etc.). Finally!!

A unique feature about the BlackBerry Storm2's SurePress technology, which we first pointed out here on CrackBerry.com, is that when powered off the screen locks into a fixed position. In other words, when the display is powered down (it's off/black), there's no click. This happens when you use the power off button located on the top left side of the phone and also happens when on a call (not only does the display turn off while you're speaking, but it also disables SurePress).

With all of the improvements RIM has made to SurePress in the BlackBerry Storm2, you can't help but ponder the question Where does SurePress go from here? The move to electric powered SurePress has obviously given RIM the ability to exert much more control over its actions - for example, powering it down while on a call. Maybe with time we'll see RIM code in even more control, such as allowing users to set the firmness of the "click" or potentially disabling it in specific applications (say you want to use the keyboard without SurePress but use it for web browsing) or even disable it altogether should one wish to do so. You never know. I wouldn't be surprised to see it happen in later revisions of Storm2 hardware, or if not on Storm2 for some additional SurePress options to show up in Storm3?!

Now with Wi-Fi

BlackBerry Storm2 WiFi

The BlackBerry Storm didn't have WiFi. The BlackBerry Storm2 does. It's as simple as that. AMEN. Leading up to the release of the BlackBerry Storm 9530/9500, we had heard of units floating around that actually had WiFi onboard. So whether it was a carrier mandate to not put WiFi on the original BlackBerry Storm or a technical limitation at the time, it is clearly apparent now that the carriers want it and that RIM can deliver it.

More Memory

The BlackBerry Storm2 doubles, across the board, the amount of memory on the device compared to the BlackBerry Storm:

  • Application (Flash) Memory has doubled from 128MB to 256MB. This is the active memory where the firmware resides, applications are installed and use resources, messages sit, browser cache piles up, etc. Devices like the BlackBerry Storm and Bold with only 128MB of flash memory tend to bog down as there's simply not enough memory. While 256MB is still not a big number and hardcore BlackBerry users would like to see that number increase 4 fold or more, it puts it on par with other new BlackBerry Smartphones like the Tour and Curve 8900 and so far during my time using the device the 256MB appears to allow the Storm2 to run smoothly.
  • Device Memory has doubled from 1GB to 2GB. This built-in memory is used for storage - pictures, videos, downloads, apps installed from App world (get backed up here, but when installed utilizes application memory).
  • Expandable Memory that ships with the device has also doubled. Whereas the BlackBerry Storm shipped with an 8GB MicroSD card, the BlackBerry Storm2 ships with a 16GB card, which can be removed.

Refined OS

As mentioned above, the BlackBerry Storm will be receiving the same v5.0 Handheld Software that the Storm2 ships with, which should run much quite smooth on the original Storm. But comparing the Storm at launch to Storm2 at launch is a complete night and day difference. When the BlackBerry Storm hit the market, owners were staying up all hours of the night waiting in hopes of a firmware update to leak in the forums, with the aim of improving the usability of the device. With the BlackBerry Storm2, this won't be necessary. Out of the gate the version 5 software runs very fast and smooth, quick screen orientation changes included. I'm sure CrackBerry readers who are Storm2 owners will still be online 24/7 looking for the latest firmware, but in the case of the Storm2 it won't be nearly as necessary.

That covers the major improvements of the BlackBerry Storm2 that address the lingering issues of the BlackBerry Storm. Basically, the above are items / features we wished the original Storm would have done better / possessed, but simply didn't. We're glad to see that RIM learned from their first touchscreen BlackBerry experience to make the second one that much better.

Putting the BlackBerry Storm2 to Use

While the BlackBerry Storm2 fixes a lot of the issues owners had with the BlackBerry Storm, it doesn't just stop there, but packs additional performance into many areas of the device.

General Performance / Use

The BlackBerry Storm2's performance is snappy. From what I can tell (don't shoot me if I'm wrong), the Storm2 is using the same processor as the Storm, though it seems to be turbocharged or on steroids in comparison. Some of this could be attributed to the additional flash memory, but while putting the BlackBerry Storm2 to work beside two BlackBerry Storms (one on OS4.7 and one on 5.0) and tapping away, everything is just a little bit quicker on the Storm2- apps open faster, photos load quicker, transitions are snappier, video controls are smoother, etc.. During my trials, the Storm with 5.0 proved to be quicker than the Storm with 4.7, though the Storm with 5.0 still isn't quite as snappy as the BlackBerry Storm2.

As stated earlier, the BlackBerry Storm2 feels great in the hand - the improved feng shui is noticeable. Between the integrated keys and tighter design it feels more object-like than gadget-like, which is cool. I have noticed one issue with my review unit though - when sitting it flat on a desk, the integrated end key doesn't want to press down smoothly all of the time (it sort of hangs up a bit and doesn't want to press down, though the rest of the keys - send/menu/escape - remain easy to press whether on desk or in hand ). When held in the hand the end key works flawless though. I'm not sure what the exact issue is here, but hopefully that's a one-off and not something we'll be hearing about often.

Display

Though the BlackBerry Storm and BlackBerry Storm2's displays have the same specifications listed on their spec sheets, to my eyes the BlackBerry Storm2's display seems to be improved. Putting the BlackBerry Storm2 beside a BlackBerry Storm, you can see that when powered off the Storm2's display is much darker. Still side by side but now powered on watching the same music videos, the Storm2's display is brighter, with darker blacks and whiter whites. It really is impressive. The only improvement I'm longing for here is to reduce the amount of black border surrounding the edge of the display which would create a noticeable jump in screen real estate.

While there has been plenty of debate in the forums about whether or not the BlackBerry Storm2 will support OpenGL (3D graphics support), to date there has been no official mention of it yet. At last year's BlackBerry Developer Conference, this was one of the most sought after features developers wanted to see in the BlackBerry platform. With the 2nd Annual BlackBerry Developer Conference just around the corner, I can't help but think maybe there is more to the Storm2 than meets the eye in this department, and that RIM will announce upcoming OpenGL support at the event and at a later date will be able to flick the OpenGL switch on the Storm2. I know I'd be pretty stoked to find later that the Storm2 has the support built-in. I guess time will tell...

Sound

While on the topic of watching music videos, it makes sense to comment on the Storm2's speakers, which sound solid. The original BlackBerry Storm can get pretty loud, but it really tends to distort/get tinny as you crank the tunes up on the external speaker. The Storm2 gets loud, but has less distortion at the louder volumes. The sound coming out of the speakerphone on calls also seems to be a little clearer/louder from my initial testing on this review unit.

Keyboard / Typing

We spent a lot of time above explaining the improvements RIM has made to SureType on the BlackBerry Storm2, but what really matters is how the hardware and software translate into a user-friendly typing experience. So is it better? Yes, the Storm2's keyboard is better. How much better is going to be up to your skills, previous device history, and time spent on the device. But unlike the BlackBerry Storm which to me seemed to take a while to get used to, I think new Storm2 owners (first time BlackBerry owners included) should be able to pick up the device and get up to speed quite quickly. Honestly, reading about the keyboard in a review or even seeing it in a video can't convey how it performs. You're going to have to head down to your Verizon or Vodafone store and try one out to decide for yourself just how good it is.

Compared to the BlackBerry Storm, the improvements to the Storm2's keyboard are most noticeable in landscape mode. This is where the new SurePress design really makes an impact, as you can use both thumbs more effectively now thanks to the multi-press input and improved screen responsiveness. Two thumb/finger typists on SurePress or the Portrait Full Qwerty keyboard will also enjoy these benefits. Those who type with only one thumb/finger on the current Storm's keyboard (common to type on SurePress with one thumb if you're holding the device only in one hand) will still appreciate the feel of the new SurePress, though I'm not sure there is as big of a speed gain to be had here (switch to two thumbs to go faster!).

The RIM specs on the BlackBerry Storm2 list three other notable enhancements:

  • Probability-based entry with advanced auto-correct - As part of handheld software v5.0, RIM has introduced an improved predictive word system. I find the probability-based entry is too distracting for my liking (causes you to lose your train of thought/typing with it popping up all the time and taking up so much of the screen) so I tend to prefer disabling it (Options > Language and Text Input > Input Style → change from Word Complete to Auto Correction) but you may find yourself liking it.
  • Multi-touch for ALT and SHIFT - This was one of the first things I noticed on the BlackBerry Storm2 that it is pretty cool. On the BlackBerry Storm, if you want to bang out multiple alternate characters or capital letters, you need to either keep tapping the Alt and Shift keys after each alternate press, or lock the Alt / Shift keys by holding down on them for an extra moment, typing out your alternate text or caps, then tapping the Alt / Shift keys again to release the lock. On the BlackBerry Storm2 you can actually use the Alt and Shift keys on as you would on a physical keyboard - hold down on the Alt /Shift key, bang out all of the alternate letters/capital letters you want, then let go and keep on typing. This new system works pretty well - especially if the alternate you're typing out is across the keyboard, but when next to the alt key itself is a bit cumbersome (example - it's impossible to hold down on the alt key and multi-tap out a bunch of 7's as you're trying to compress the already compressed button). All in all, I really like this improvement - it gives me much more of that "traditional" BlackBerry feeling on a touch screen.
  • Key rollover for faster typing - We've seen some OS 5.0 leaks for the BlackBerry Storm that showed a new setting under Options > Screen/Keyboard for Popup Keys (similar to how the iPhone pops up keys as you type). I assume this is what RIM means by "Key rollover for faster typing" but the firmware on this review unit does not show that option. I'll be curious to see if this makes the final OS5.0 version that rolls out on the Storm2 and Storm when it gets the update.

Personally, I'm one of those BlackBerry users who never felt quite at home on the BlackBerry Storm no matter how much I used it. I'm comfortable in saying though that I could make the BlackBerry Storm2 my daily driver and be pretty happy with it. I'm definitely going to try and do that over the weeks and months ahead and see how it goes.

I sort of think no matter how much I use the Storm2 I'll still be able to type faster, with more accuracy and comfort on a physical BlackBerry keyboard simply because that's what I've been using for so long. But practice makes perfect, so you never know. I sure hope I can get as comfortable though, as I love the Storm2's big display. It'll be a happy day for many BlackBerry users out there when RIM releases a slider with a physical keyboard and a big touch screen -- no trade-off required.

How does the keyboard stack up against other touch screen smartphones on the market? That too is going to depend on your past device history, your dexterity and personal preference. As we've seen debated time and time again since the launch of the BlackBerry Storm, there are those who love the SurePress concept, those who hate it, and those who just wish they could control when to use it. For me, I can type pretty fast on a standard touch screen keyboard (like the iPhone's for example) with minimal errors and I enjoy the fact this typing is effortless - tapping on a flat piece of glass may not provide tactile feedback, but it requires no effort so you can tap all day without ever getting tired. In contrast, the Storm2's SurePress gives your thumbs more of a workout, but also provides more feedback (a more natural typing experience perhaps?) and allows you to hone in on what you want to select before you take action (extremely helpful in the web browser, or when typing in bumpy environments). I'm sure it's a debate that will continue on through the release of the BlackBerry Storm3, 4 and 5!

Web Browser

BlackBerry Storm2 Web Browser

It's getting better, but a few speed tests later show it's still not where it needs to be in terms of speed, rendering and ease of use compared to the competitive benchmark, the iPhone's Safari browser. Tabbed browsing hasn't made an appearance yet, nor has multi-touch for zooming in/out (though you would think the hardware/OS should be capable of it based on the fact you can now light up two keyboard keys at a time). Javascript support is now enabled by default, which is a step forward, but it's not yet the leap so many BlackBerry users are waiting for.

Thankfully, if you're not satisfied with the native browser, third party browser support is here and on the way via Bolt Browser, Opera Mini and SkyFire. Likewise, RIM knows their browser is a weak spot and is working to improve it as demonstrated by their recent acquisition of Torch Mobile. It's coming. We have faith in you RIM.

Other Stuff: GPS, WiFi, Phone, Camera, etc.

With not much time between getting my BlackBerry Storm2 unit and getting this review written up, I haven't had a full chance to grind through every feature and function of the Storm2 to the extent I would like to. A few phone calls later shows that the Storm2 should be solid as a phone, and the GPS located me on the map in a matter of seconds. I took a few pictures on the camera as well and they look good, but haven't had the chance yet to pit them head to against photos taken from the Storm or competition. Oh, and the Storm2's vibration function is seriously powerful (though kind of loud). I'll come back and add to this section later as I have a chance to spend more time putting the Storm2 through its paces.

BlackBerry OS 5.0

BlackBerry Storm2 SMS

I often take for granted that if you're reading CrackBerry.com you're likely a BlackBerry user and are familiar with the BlackBerry operating system experience. If you're completely new to BlackBerry you'll want to hit our BlackBerry 101 section and Smartphone Round Robin articles to learn the basics about the platform and what it can do for you (everything!). As for Handheld Software version 5.0, we'll have a full walk through of all the improvements coming soon in a future article. The BlackBerry Storm2 and Bold 9700 will be the first new devices to launch with it, but it will be rolled out to existing devices on the market so we'll want to do an in-depth job covering it for everyone.

A noticeable BIG improvement to OS 5.0 for the BlackBerry Storms is the inclusion of inertial scrolling with snap back. It provides a much more intuitive and friendly user experience. Other good news on the BlackBerry Storm2 is that it features the new and improved threaded SMS chat client (w00t!). Combine this with the recently released BlackBerry Messenger 5.0 and the native IM clients are at a whole new level of addictiveness.

BlackBerry Storm2 Apps

BlackBerry Storm Review

The BlackBerry Storm2 comes preloaded with BlackBerry App World. The review unit I received also comes with the Application Center pre-loaded, which seems a bit redundant since App Center contains App World and all the other apps (IM clients, Facebook, Flickr) can be found in App World itself. If and when you take delivery of your BlackBerry Storm2, you'll also want to check out our CrackBerry App Store. There are a lot of compelling reasons to load up CrackBerry App Store Client on your phone (themes, better pricing in many cases, sales and promotions, etc.). Check out this article for Getting Apps on your BlackBerry which goes through the process. As the Storm2 hits the market we'll be sure to put out a Top Apps for your BlackBerry Storm2 article.

BlackBerry Storm2 Accessories

If you're a BlackBerry Storm owner planning on purchasing the BlackBerry Storm2, you'll need to do your due diligence on which accessories will still work and which won't (visit this page on BlackBerry Storm2 Accessory key points). You shouldn't have much of an issue with loose fitting accessories, like BlackBerry Storm2 cases (top pouches and leather holsters should be fine, skins should be close) and BlackBerry Storm2 batteries (1400mah, like the Storm, 8900 and Tour), but the differences between the Storm2 form factor and original Storm are big enough that accessories like the always popular BlackBerry Charging Pod may not quite work. To see compatible Storm2 accessories, you'll want to keep it locked to our BlackBerry Storm2 Accessories page at ShopCrackBerry.com. And as we did for apps, we'll also put together a Top Accessories for the BlackBerry Storm 2 article once the device hits the market.

Pricing and Availability

(updated - October 26th, 2009)

While Research in Motion and Vodafone announced the BlackBerry Storm2 the same day as this release wen up, Verizon waiting until October 26th, two days before the device is scheduled to be available for purchase (October 28th) to make the Verizon BlackBerry Storm official. Initial pricing is $179 after a mail-in rebate on a 2yr contract. View press release.

Closing Thoughts for Now...

BlackBerry Storm2

With a new device like the BlackBerry Storm2, it's going to take some time to work through every feature and improvement to see how they play out with extended use. That is exactly what we'll do, but as you just read my initial impressions are very positive.

The Storm2 fixes many of the BlackBerry Storm's outstanding issues and makes a ton of incremental improvements, all of which add up to something that feels noticeably better. In a way that never quite applied to the original Storm, the Storm2 could legitimately be called the flagship BlackBerry.

If you're a Verizon or Vodafone customer jonesing for a new touchscreen smartphone, you'll want to line up the day the BlackBerry Storm2 goes on sale and get one. Period.

Related BlackBerry Storm2 Content:

Reader comments

BlackBerry Storm 2 Review

272 Comments

I had an ATT Iphone from my company that would not work in my office or at home or provide 3G much less Edge in most places in west Kentucky so I changed to Verizon which does have great 3G coverage. I was addicted to Iphone's user-friendly easy-to-learn smooth operation. I got a HTC Imagio first and found MS Mobile does some weird stuff and on the HTC Imagio does not do things it should, like rotate to horizontal for ease of typing in Word, PPT or Excel (it does have great cut and paste). I wasn't willing to wait for fixes that might not happen. I decided after the Android reviews were not good to go with dependable Blackberry but I was addicted to large view touch screen and WIFI. My wife's Storm was difficult to learn and had to be replaced immediately for a faulty touch screen, but she loves her Storm and I now like my Storm 2. If I could get faster managing the cursor and it would sync Itunes U video it would be fantastic and I would have no reservations regarding my decision to pay dearly for it when we could have gotten 2 Storms for 1/3 the Storm 2 price. Gripe: Documents to Go for Storm 2 is pricey.

I went from a curve to the storm 2 only because I wanted a larger screen and couldn't get an iPhone from Verizon. I also hated the way Verizon blocked the GPS on my curve. I have had the Storm for almost a month and am slowly getting used to it. I do like it better than my curve but not the typing part. I find the screen keyboard much slower as I have to look every time I type a letter to make sure the letter lights up first. Also it is a slow learning curve to use the phone, etc. Even so until I can be like my friends who I envy and use an iPhone this will have to do.

who would choose a geo metro w sports trim (storm 2) to replace their cadillac (curve)? if you need help with this answer go buy a storm 2 so you have a reason to switch back.

This review is great, i purchased one a couple weeks ago and love it, actually borught my father over from the curve to this storm2 and he likes it also, good job guys look forward to any and all future reviews

I have to say that I was very skeptical before buying this phone...was the owner of the Droid for one day and absolutely hated it. The Storm2 is great for business purposes...I even downloaded an Iphone theme that makes the appearance of your phone similar to an Iphone - looks great. Very satisfied.

My first BB was an 8330 Curve, and I fell in love with it. I had a choice to get a Storm 1 when my upgrade was up, but decided for the 8330 instead, i had heard nothing but bad rap about the storm.well 2 years have gone by and Im up for renewal at years end and every time I go by Verizon to pay my bill I play with the Storm 2 in the display area, and I love the way it feels and responds, this article was very helpful,I think Im gonna give this touch screen feller a chance or should I say the Flagship one ?

The Storm 2 absolutely rocks! It's way better than the first one. The first one would always freeze up on me at least a couple of times a wk. The Storm 2 has never done it. I have tried the HTC Droid and didn't like. It was not as customizable as the Blackberry and the volume level was way too low. It did have other nice features but not as many as the Storm 2. I have not been disappointed yet with the Storm 2!

I need some advice from all you guys out there please! I live in South Africa (Johannesburg) and the new Blackberry Storm 2 was only introduced here in December 2009. But two versions are available on the South African consumer market - the 9550 and the 9520. We have three mobile phone networks here (Vodacom, MTN and Cell-C). It looks like all three mobile phone networks (and the local official blackberry Centre) are importing and supplying the 9520 only, while small scale/independent dealerships and suppliers are importing both the 9550 & 9520, and selling the 9550 at much lower prices. Also, the mobile networks and the Blackberry Centre are discouraging their subscribers from buying the 9550 (I was told by my network - Vodacom - that the 9550 is meant for the US & European markets, and that I need to buy the 9520). How different are these two phones in their technical and software features? Do I need to listen to my mobile network's advice and forget about the 9550? Any tips will be appreciated.

I am really fed up with people trying to give the Storm 2 a bad wrap. I am a blackberry addict for real! I've went from an 8800 to a curve 8320 to a Bold 9000 and now have a Storm 2 courtesy of Verizon. I am absolutely in love with this blackberry and the SureType on the Storm 2 kicks ass! I live typing on this huge lovely screen. I've had experience with using a friends original storm 1 and couldn't really get into it but when I read about all the new improvements I couldn't help but check it out. This phone has more memory than any other blackberry...operates swiftly and precise and is very reliable. If u know how to maintain your BB by closing apps when not in use and cleaning up web history u should never have a problem. I have installed up to 20 apps on my phone and it still operates with almost no lag and does everything I want it to. The screen is large and gorgeous...the speaker is loud as hell and the phone is just drop dead sexy! My concerns for a new Storm would be that it definitely still needs a new browser. Even with the addition of wifi my web experience should be a lot smoother but that's with all blackberries. Also I would work on the battery life. If your a heavy user like me your definitely gonna have to carry your charger with u everywhere. Oh another thing...I just wrote this entire post on my Storm 2. Flew through it too..lol. So all u physical keyboard users or capacitive touchscreen users stop hating cuz the Storm is here to stay! Can't wait to see the part 3!

Well after reading this review and others I'm getting the Storm 2 tomorrow......I'm trading in my Storm 1 and hopefully this will be what I want. I've had both versions of the iPhone and still have four lines with ATT. The BB is the ultimate for what I need and to be honest the only thing that beats the BB Storm and hopefully not the Storm 2 on the iPhone is the browser. I will let you all know how it works out. I just backed up my Storm getting ready for the transition. Wish me luck ....

I have upgraded from Storm to Storm 2 9550.
Some times the equipment does not respond to commands. For instance when using the bluetooth with my car, conversation ends but I can't end it with the red button. Not only that. Some times I can't even select the bottom menu's to make another call if not after waiting for a while. The previous version had less sensitivity in this respect and I must admit I prefer the old one as of now.

So i have the Tour for verizon and i want a touch screen.... is this better than the tour ? and should i just wait fo rthe iphone to come to the verizon world?? Im bias towards bb`s but if the iphones better the i phones better..

having used a samsung omnia, htc touch, g1 and a curve, the storm 2 is a great phone, the surepress is great if you know how to use ur phone. I like it because it keeps from making mistakes...also the predictive text gives several word choices with the top one showing first. those 2 things makes using this touch screen phone the absolute bomb. now you can't have long finger nails and use it but besides, that...also it is much faster with the recent updates...it is really becoming comparable to other smart phones...and blackberry is due for a major update probably by the end of the year its gonna be awesome...once the developing platform gets improved it will be unstoppable...

Imagine This phone with a 1ghz Snapdragon processor and the new Webkit Browser! That's all I have to say! I sure hope RIM gets on their job. These new Android phones are a problem!

Hi guys!

I hope you can help me out here. I purchased a blackberry storm 2 ans set up the wi fi. Everything is fine except that I can't browse using the fone. I followed the instructions for setting up a wifi, and still, no success. The phone can detect the wi fi signal and says connected but when I go to browser menu, a message is flashed and says "unable to connect to the internet, please contact your service provider"

Please help me guys!

chad

This phone has a whole lot of glitches. YOU DESERVE A BETTER PHONE, dont go for this
- Many of the apps dont work well, screen just freezes, screen rotation hangs
- Music starts to play on speaker without any user input...totally out of the blue...I was in a meeting and this piece of junk starts playing a song and the only way to stop it was to pull out the battery. you dont want to go through this...do you?
- None of the apps are updated for touch screen (this is not RIM fault but you end up paying for it though...)

I recently got the Storm 2 and can honestly say I love it. There is definitely no blackberry that my friends have that is better. You really cannot beat the storm 2. If you are holding out because of the first storm well I did too and I deeply regret holding out for so long, don't be afraid! Try new things and sometimes it might just work out! It worked out for me.

I bet everyone who says they don't like the storm hasn't tried the storm 2, I wouldn't have no other phone. I got a good deal on mine from a seller on ebay.

Pages