In Short

Balance is a security feature built into BlackBerry that allows administrators to keep an end-user's personal and professional data separate. E-mail, apps, and other sensitive business information cannot be copied over to the personal side, and vice versa. Administrators can remotely wipe the business side of the device while leaving person data intact. In BlackBerry 10, Balance is summoned by swiping downwards when on any home screen. A tab along the top allows users to easily toggle between work and personal. Work apps are deployed through an enterprise-customized BlackBerry World. Ultimately, Balance allows end users to bring in their own personal BlackBerry devices, and walk away with them wholly intact. The PlayBook and older BlackBerry OS devices also support Balance for enterprises.